We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #105 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean Hotel”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Checkin was smooth (booked through Agoda). Nice, clean rooms, and the hotel is located just outside Chinatown and Jonker Street (about 10 minute walk). Breakfast was good, so was the free wifi.No shuttle to and from Melaka Central, but the folks in the reception helped arrange a metered cab. There is a "Heritage Tax" in addition to what you've already paid, which you are made aware of on check out :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Sanjay,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us recently.

I am pleased to note that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again to BEST WESTERn Wana Riverside Hotel, Melaka soon.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    78
    91
    41
    35
See reviews for
87
85
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Well priced, large rooms with a view. Utilitarian, but what one would expect for the price. Has everything needed. On the river so you can walk along peacefully and not overwhelmed by traffic noise and unrelenting heat.

Room Tip: Facing east is best, but 1/2 rooms do. So you might be challenged. Definitely choose a higher room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelW49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you ver much for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay with us recently.

My team and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please do come back soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel Melaka

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus, Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The room is clean and big enough . Staffs are friendly and the breakfast was ok . Good wifi speed . Recommend !
The air-cond is abit noisy as it needs to warm up . That's the weirdest thing I've seen in a hotel .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samuelang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Ang,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback on your stay with us recently.

I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us except for the noisy air - con.

We will look into this and see that it is rectified. It is with positive feedback like that that we are able to imporve our services to serve you better.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus, Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is good, generally it is clean, and very easy to walk to jonker. It has nice view of the city and next to the river. Breakfast and free wifi is excellent. We got our request to have double bed for each room, and it is next to each other. However when we checked in, one of the room has strong smoke smell, it seems like the previous stayer smoke alot, eventhough it is a Non-Smoking floor. I don't have time to make a complain as it was late night, and thus just open the window to get fresh air, it helps a bit only. During that time, there was also loud music from outside, which only stops after midnight. It disrupts my family's sleep time. For the price that was paid, i think this is a not so great deal after all.

Room Tip: Choose room with River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ferry_mulyadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Mulyadi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us recently.

My apologies on the cigarette smell in your room as though we have designated Non - Smoking floors but sometimes we do have cases of guests smoking in their rooms. As for the external music, we have been informing the operator to lower down the volume of the misuc but as it is not in the premises of the hotel, we cannot force them to stop the music.

I do sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us on your next visit to Melaka and we will do our best to allocate you a room far away from the external music.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The room was clean and spacious unlike most hotels. The view of the Malacca river with its cruising boats was pleasant to the eye. The "Malacca Eye" was within walking distance. One could take a boat ride easily as well. The air conditioning in the room functioned well. Beds were comfortable. Tv worked well. Room had a clock radio with alarm built in. Coffee and tea facilities were nice. The bath tub was a bit too high so one had to watch out that one does not trip and fall on the floor while getting in or out. The slippery floor made it all the more hazardous to get out of the bath tub. You have to use the tub because the shower is in there. Water pressure was good but it was very difficult to get the balance correct between hot and cold! Either you got cooked or chilled! Breakfast was about the same every day and was adequate but not sumptuous or extravagant. The coffee was devoid of taste - every day. Car parking lots are not too many - only at the basement - and slightly difficult to negotiate the bends. Despite all that I would still recommend it. Quiet location. You could walk to most of the nearby places without having to get a taxi. Reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Get a room that is higher up but faces the river. You can spend hours looking at the boats and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palani47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Palani,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us recently.

We have noted your points on the coffee and breakfast and will do our best to improve and your comments will assist us to note the areas that we are lacking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to to BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel Melaka

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have a wonderful 3 days 2 night stay with excellent service and wonderful staff and good buffet breakfast. Room was good with very good bed, amenities plus good selection of TV channels. Nice hotel, indeed. I will be back there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefferi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Jefferi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to note that my team exceeded your expectations and provided with excellent service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you again to BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night and were really pleased with the great value for money that this hotel represents. The location is excellent - overlooking the river, and just 10 minutes walk from Jonker Street. The rooms are huge, generally well maintained and the bed was comfortable. It's hard to find faults at this price level - a nice find and I'd definitely be very happy to stay at this hotel again in the future.

The breakfast was really good - a large buffet selection and they even arranged a huge plate of vegetarian fried rice for us on request when we mentioned that we were all vegetarians. This was a really nice gesture.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be of a good size - would recommend the standard rooms, they represent excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmadhvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Madvhani,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on your stay here with us recently.

I am most pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay and that my staff went the extra mile to provide you with a vegetarian dish upon request.

I look forward to welcoming you here again soon

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus, Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#34 of 166 in Melaka
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
#61 of 166 in Melaka
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#96 of 166 in Melaka
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#33 of 166 in Melaka
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#89 of 166 in Melaka
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wana Riverside Hotel

Property: Wana Riverside Hotel
Address: No. 2 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wana Riverside Hotel is centrally located by the Melaka River in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, a title bestowed in July 2008. Rich in history, culture and diverse cuisine, Melaka which dates back to the 1400's, is a melting pot of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European influences that reflects the essence of modern Malaysia. Melaka is truly unique in what it has to offer and whether it is for business or pleasure, the Wana Riverside Hotel is central to an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing