We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value..........” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wana Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #100 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best value..........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed for one night....room price is reasonable with all the well accepted amenities. Coffee house is a bit small but the food spread for buffet breakfast was okay. Food was good. Staff friendly and very helpful. Out of all the only thing that this hotel need too have is.......SWIMMING POOL.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay with us recently.

We are looking into your positive comments for our improvement and look forward to welcoming you here agin soon

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    77
    86
    40
    34
See reviews for
87
82
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here one night. Good location. Able to step out into the the Riverside walk way directly from the hotel, which provides easy access to most of the places we wanted to visit. Room was good with all the needed accessories. Though we took a city view, we were able to have a view of the river and the "Eye Of Melaka".
Breakfast is good. Only negative point- the electricity was out for about 30-40mins as soon as we came back to hotel and they did not have an emergency generator to provide the electricity back soon.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have less street noise. Dont pay for river side view room. Not worth the extra p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anju_Pratim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us recently.
We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and apologise for the shortcoming in the electricity.

It is with comments like that that we are able to upgrade our services to serve our guests better in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you here again soon

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. Location is very great but we lost during first arrived at this hotel due to lack of signage. The room price is reasonable with breakfast and within walking distance to attractive area. Room scenery is very beautiful and overlooking the river. Service here is very satisfying. Staff very helpful all the time we are here. Just a little less satisfying when during breakfast we were informed that the time for breakfast almost out and asked us to take the food as fast as possible while still have 15 minutes left before 10.30 am. Cafe staff should have to wait if there are more customers who are eating even if the time is almost over. However we enjoyed our holiday with joy and unforgettable memories.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yati_azmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Puan Yati,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about your stay with us recently. I am pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay and have taken note on your comment about the breakfast time.

It is with comments like this that we are able to serve our guests better in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
248 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early December. I thought the hotel was brand new, but it turns out it is an older hotel which has been refurbished. Our room was fine with nice views of the river, but the bathroom seemed very dated with some black mould around the shower. However, it was clean and well located. The safe in our room was missing so we had to use the safety deposit box, and we had some problems with our door lock, but the friendly staff sorted it out for us. Its a pleasant 10 minute walk to Jonker Street - turn left along the river bank. We loved Melaka and enjoyed some fabulous food. I'd especially recommend Nancy's.

The hotel breakfast was fine, with my usual complaint about no fresh fruit juices at any of the hotels we stayed at in Malaysia and Thailand.

The hotel sorted us a taxi back to KL airport for 200 ringit.

Room Tip: River view rooms are pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilasWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Ms. Wheels,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on your stay with us recently.

We are ppleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and have taken note of the concerns that you have mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you here again on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This a newly launched hotel in Dec 2012. The price is reasonable with breakfast included and witihn working distance to the very heart of Melaka ie, Jonker Street. The service is good except that being new, a little delay is expected. The housekeeping staff was the most helpful when we were got into a little glitch with the key while trying to get into our room. Not much frills but clean and nice. Easy and sheltered free parking. Also, there is a mini musical fountain just a few steps from the hotel and our room is within sight of the Flyer. Nice hotel, indeed. I will be back there again. Cheers!

Room Tip: Both facing are good! No noticeable disturbance. Mine was facing road and flyer. No worries! Enjoy y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardtanyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for letting us know about your stay with us recently. I am pleased to note that you were served well by our staff and that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you here agin on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Chose the hotel at last minute as it was available.
No regrets as it was close to the Jonker area and rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast spread was good.
What is lacking is the carpark and the absence of facilities and swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuaEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Chua,

Thank you very much for staying with us on your recent visit to Melaka.

We are happy to note that you had an enoybale stay with us. We have taken note on your comments with regards to the lack of facilities and will look into it.

We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The place is run down, but so is the rest of Melaka. It smelled of dampness, the breakfast was not good. Lots of locals with small children visit this hotel, many of the kids running around in the lobby. The service at reception was friendly. It is a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diplomatBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us recently.

It is with comments like these that wera are able to improve to serve out guests better.

The time of your stay was during the school holidays as well as Christmas and New Year holidays which is why there were many children around.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments.

Best regards

Ravi Firdaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#28 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
#90 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#110 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bendahara Makmur Sdn Bhd
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#96 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#52 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wana Riverside Hotel

Property: Wana Riverside Hotel
Address: No.2, Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wana Riverside Hotel is centrally located by the Melaka River in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, a title bestowed in July 2008. Rich in history, culture and diverse cuisine, Melaka which dates back to the 1400's, is a melting pot of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European influences that reflects the essence of modern Malaysia. Melaka is truly unique in what it has to offer and whether it is for business or pleasure, the Wana Riverside Hotel is central to an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your Wana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing