We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wana Riverside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$88
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$70
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$39
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Majestic Malacca(Melaka)
$136
$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
$73
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
$176
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
20
79
93
41
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
79
93
41
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalacca riverwithin walking distancefront officejettytoiletries
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 268 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

It's a very new hotel so everything is quite new and fresh.

The wonderful view from our hotel room at Best Western Wana Riverside Hotel was simply amazing. Don't the scenic view of the Melaka River just blew me away!

For the sake of the view and the convenience of the hotel location, it kind of compensated for my room's phone which didn't work and how awful the air-con sounded when we checked in, but the hotel sent in its staff and had it fix right away.

There was just one more thing, the buffet breakfast was really overcrowded. We had to waited for 15 minutes to literally grab a table.

The surrounding of the hotel is fantastic, there is the Melaka River and a musical fountain (operating from 8pm- 12am) right beside the hotel which is free for everyone to enjoy. Many cafes and restaurants are also nearby.

You could also get tickets for the river taxi from the hotel and the boarding of the river taxi is just a few meters away from the hotel.

It isn't the best hotel in Malacca, but definitely one that's good value for money and convenience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Ms. Myokiki,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to note that generally you had a good stay except for the few concerns that you had. During your stay was our peak season as it was between the Christmas and New Year holidays. However, we are looking at ways to better the seating capacity for breakfast.

I am pleased to note that my staff responded fast to your complaints and rectified it immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you again here on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel, so it was rather clean when we visited. In general the cleaning staff did a pretty good job around the hotel and in the rooms, except that we got in our room a "welcome gift" that was left behind by the previous guests--a partially-consumed plate of jelly, honeydew flavoured, in the fridge. I wonder if the guests who took over our room also got the same "welcome gift".

Furnishings were basic, but functional. Rooms were more spacious than I had expected. However, some of the materials used in the doing up of the hotel were probably the cheaper stuff, as we did spot little signs of wear and tear in the rooms despite it being new, and there was leakage in the bathroom.

Overall service standards were pretty good. Most staff were pleasant and had a smile ready for guests. They were also in general pretty helpful with little requests here and there.

Location wise, the hotel is about 15 minutes' walk from the busiest part of the town. It is therefore pretty much a matter of individual preferences. For us, we liked the fact that although it was a little bit of a walk away, which may not be exactly pleasant in the afternoon heat, we were spared the congestion and noise in the town.

Breakfast was also a pleasant surprise, as the spread and quality were above our expectations, considering this is somewhat of a budget hotel.

We will likely consider staying here again if we come to Melaka again in the near future. However, we are not sure if the place will feel run-down a few years later, when the signs of wear and tear from the lower-quality fittings and furniture start to show more obviously.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying more for the river-facing rooms. We went in a group and had both types of rooms. They all feel the same to us.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelvinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay with us recently.

My humble apologies on the 'welcome gift' that was left for you in your room upon check - in. It was the oversight of our clening staff and for this I apologise again.

I am pleased to note that in general, you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you here again on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We visited Melaka for 1 day and stayed at this hotel. Got a good offer through online booking. The room was neat, clean and tidy. The hotel was located besides the river and had a good view. The amenities were all very nice and there was nothing to complain about during the stay. Staff was courteous and friendly. Breakfast was good and even as vegetarians we did not have much problem. All in all, stay was very comfortable and definitely worth the MR 370 for 2 nights. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get room with Riverside view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about your stay with us recently.

I am pleased to note that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is well situated being next to the river and not far from some of the main attractions. It's very easy to step onto one of the river boats for a 40 minute ride along the river (BEST AT NIGHT). The staff are excellent being friendly and helpful. The facilities are limited so no swimming pool, no bar, and no shops etc. The rooms are of a good size and the beds are good too and the bathroom has shampoo and soap and the water was hot. On the not so good side is the noise from the riverside which goes on until about 11pm, the carpets are stained and need replacing and plates and dishes are left next to lifts and outside of rooms. Breakfast was limited for western tastes and the same could be said of evening meals. I felt as though this hotel catered mainly for Malaysians or bordering countries. On the whole I had a positive experience although next time I would look at the small guest houses that are new and on the riverside. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments with regards to your stay with us recently.

I have noted on the points that we need to look at regarding the dishes at the lift.

With regards to the menu, we would like to give our guests the experience of the local flavour in food which Malaysia has to offer through its diverse cultures and ethnic groups. This is why our Western selection is limited.

Should you make another visit to Melaka soon, i do hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Strategic location in city centre, beside melaka river whereby can hop on to melaka river cruise,city and river view, room was clean and spacious, bed linen clean, toilet big and clean, food is awesome,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KhaiZ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear En. Khai,

Thank you for your great review of BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel, Melaka.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again for your next holiday.

Best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews