We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #107 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Decent value for money”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a relatively new hotel, so it was rather clean when we visited. In general the cleaning staff did a pretty good job around the hotel and in the rooms, except that we got in our room a "welcome gift" that was left behind by the previous guests--a partially-consumed plate of jelly, honeydew flavoured, in the fridge. I wonder if the guests who took over our room also got the same "welcome gift".

Furnishings were basic, but functional. Rooms were more spacious than I had expected. However, some of the materials used in the doing up of the hotel were probably the cheaper stuff, as we did spot little signs of wear and tear in the rooms despite it being new, and there was leakage in the bathroom.

Overall service standards were pretty good. Most staff were pleasant and had a smile ready for guests. They were also in general pretty helpful with little requests here and there.

Location wise, the hotel is about 15 minutes' walk from the busiest part of the town. It is therefore pretty much a matter of individual preferences. For us, we liked the fact that although it was a little bit of a walk away, which may not be exactly pleasant in the afternoon heat, we were spared the congestion and noise in the town.

Breakfast was also a pleasant surprise, as the spread and quality were above our expectations, considering this is somewhat of a budget hotel.

We will likely consider staying here again if we come to Melaka again in the near future. However, we are not sure if the place will feel run-down a few years later, when the signs of wear and tear from the lower-quality fittings and furniture start to show more obviously.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying more for the river-facing rooms. We went in a group and had both types of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelvinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay with us recently.

My humble apologies on the 'welcome gift' that was left for you in your room upon check - in. It was the oversight of our clening staff and for this I apologise again.

I am pleased to note that in general, you had a pleasant stay with us and look forward to welcoming you here again on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    78
    92
    41
    35
See reviews for
88
85
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We visited Melaka for 1 day and stayed at this hotel. Got a good offer through online booking. The room was neat, clean and tidy. The hotel was located besides the river and had a good view. The amenities were all very nice and there was nothing to complain about during the stay. Staff was courteous and friendly. Breakfast was good and even as vegetarians we did not have much problem. All in all, stay was very comfortable and definitely worth the MR 370 for 2 nights. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get room with Riverside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about your stay with us recently.

I am pleased to note that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is well situated being next to the river and not far from some of the main attractions. It's very easy to step onto one of the river boats for a 40 minute ride along the river (BEST AT NIGHT). The staff are excellent being friendly and helpful. The facilities are limited so no swimming pool, no bar, and no shops etc. The rooms are of a good size and the beds are good too and the bathroom has shampoo and soap and the water was hot. On the not so good side is the noise from the riverside which goes on until about 11pm, the carpets are stained and need replacing and plates and dishes are left next to lifts and outside of rooms. Breakfast was limited for western tastes and the same could be said of evening meals. I felt as though this hotel catered mainly for Malaysians or bordering countries. On the whole I had a positive experience although next time I would look at the small guest houses that are new and on the riverside. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments with regards to your stay with us recently.

I have noted on the points that we need to look at regarding the dishes at the lift.

With regards to the menu, we would like to give our guests the experience of the local flavour in food which Malaysia has to offer through its diverse cultures and ethnic groups. This is why our Western selection is limited.

Should you make another visit to Melaka soon, i do hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temerloh, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Strategic location in city centre, beside melaka river whereby can hop on to melaka river cruise,city and river view, room was clean and spacious, bed linen clean, toilet big and clean, food is awesome,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KhaiZ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear En. Khai,

Thank you for your great review of BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel, Melaka.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again for your next holiday.

Best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a new Hotel and good value.

It is a typical Best Western no frills clean and basic. Basic can be the description for everything!
Rooms are big and clean .Bathroom is fine with basic shampoo etc.
Location is good as it is right on the river and walking distance to most attractions.
Breakfast is a combination of local and western . Yogurts cerial eggs etc. Again good but basic !
It is located 500 yards form the 4* renaissance so I would suggest staying here and eating there that way you get the best of both worlds !

Room Tip: Go for the river view better that the building site on the other side !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schalcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us recently.

We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel, Melaka soon

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel, for its low prices, is actually really good. It seems rather new and bright. The room is spacious and there's a space to put luggage under the window. Bed is large, firm but comfy. Staff are friendly and helpful , Wi-fi a bit slow (don't expect to watch YouTube videos). Staying on higher floors does cancel out the music from the fountain beside the hotel, which plays till 11pm+. There's a river cruise station beside the hotel, so it's convenient. It's a 15-20mins walk to Jonker Street and Stadthuys. However, only one bus route run near the hotel to Melaka Sentral station. 2 blocks away there's a better bus stop, with services to Mahkota Parade/Dataran Pahlawan, the two larger malls in Melaka.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river as there's a nicer view. It may be more expensive however. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trinketthekitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Trinket The Kitten,

Thank you very much for your very positive comments of BEST WESTERN Wana Rierside Hotel Melaka.

We are pleased to know that we have exceeded your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus, Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

For the price I paid, I expected a lesser hotel but was pleasantly surprised that it was more than what I had expected. I'm not sure if it's newly refurbished but the lobby gave me that impression. However, in the rooms I could see stains on the walls and mirrors. Not sure if they're going to fix that. It's a 15 minute walk along the riverside to Jonker street, so the location is good as well. It does get noisy at night with some restaurants blasting music until 2am but that is beyond the hotels control. Rooms are quite big and airy as well. Small TV and furniture are a bit old but it's not a big issue. Overall, definitely value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbitter04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mr. John Bitter,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on your stay with us.

I am glad that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for your kind understanding that the outside noise is beyond our control however we do let them know to turn it down when our guests comment about it.

We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus, Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#49 of 166 in Melaka
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
#74 of 166 in Melaka
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#35 of 166 in Melaka
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka
0.2 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#36 of 166 in Melaka
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#98 of 166 in Melaka
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wana Riverside Hotel

Property: Wana Riverside Hotel
Address: No. 2 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wana Riverside Hotel is centrally located by the Melaka River in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, a title bestowed in July 2008. Rich in history, culture and diverse cuisine, Melaka which dates back to the 1400's, is a melting pot of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European influences that reflects the essence of modern Malaysia. Melaka is truly unique in what it has to offer and whether it is for business or pleasure, the Wana Riverside Hotel is central to an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing