We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An artistic Place with Nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Baboon House

The Baboon House
Ranked #2 of 594 Restaurants in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Hub of art & culture inspired by nature, kafe attached, located in the heart of the heritage. The Baboon House is = 1. An art gallery to provide the opportunities for artistes to discuss and showcase their works and ideas without any kind of prejudices or discrimination. 2. A long term and sustainable restoration project in creating a deeper understanding and appreciation towards cultures and traditions. 3. A community hub for continuous learning of like-minded individuals to create a better dining and environmental conditions and not only for profit making purposes. (includes creating a shelter & awareness for abandoned furry animals on the street) 4. And a "home" as what it is initial built for 250 years ago...... The Concept of Baboon House is to provide the best dining experience to all our beloved customers in regard of the ambiance, art, food or services. Every Customers do play a big part in helping us to create a peaceful and tranquil experience during your visit. Thank you for your never ending support. The Baboons. For Love, Peace & Harmony
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An artistic Place with Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

An artistic Place to relax and have a great burger! We ordered the baboon beef burger and a teriyaki chicken burger.. Very good!!

Helpful?
Thank Judithhazelzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    194
    33
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Hands Down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Quaint Cafe, impressive wall decors, arty and laid back atmosphere.
Time freezes there, it will lure you back in time to its old heritage aura while enjoying every bite of their signature baboon beef burger.

If you want to take a break from the busy jonker walk, this is the place to be. Have a quiet moment while you work on your laptop or simply reading a good book.

Remains to be my favourite chill out place in Melaka! Will keep coming back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lamy3rda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“below expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

perhaps it was near closing. the burger was overcooked and very peppery that masked the taste of the meat. felt i was just eating pepper. the saving grace was the homemade ginger beer that was refreshing. i might try again at another point in time. might just have been 'bad luck' during that visit. ambiance was relaxing though.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Went for a try yesterday after reading the great reviews in tripadvisor. We ordered aloha beef burger and the spicy lamb burger. The taste was good, we prefered the lamb burger. Meat was tender and juicy, however the burgers did not gave us the 'wow' effect. The side dishes were tasty, we hope they could have gave us a little bit more side dishes, not just one spoonfull of potato salad and 6 wedges... They served homemade ginger beer and home made orange beer, we ordered both and preferred the orange. The ambience in the restaurant was great, peace and quiet, they have signboard required guest to lower the noise. Fast service. The burger price RM15.90 - RM19.90 each and homemade beer RM7.90 each, the price is considered ok despite they are a well deco art cafe.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RuChiaJRLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksvaerk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best smoothies in asia...and great burgers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Visited The Baboon House with my daughter. The atmosphere is really nice! The smoothies the best we have ever tasted. I tried the Watermelon with mint., and my daughter tried the kiwi smoothie. They were the best! Returned the day after and tried the mango smoothie...excellent! The burgers have some really good buns, and were spiced really nice. This is definetely a place to visit if you want to tty the best smoothies in a really nice atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laur1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baboon House also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to The Baboon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing