We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy the great ambience”
Review of The Baboon House

The Baboon House
Ranked #3 of 671 Restaurants in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Hub of art & culture inspired by nature, kafe attached, located in the heart of the heritage. The Baboon House is = 1. An art gallery to provide the opportunities for artistes to discuss and showcase their works and ideas without any kind of prejudices or discrimination. 2. A long term and sustainable restoration project in creating a deeper understanding and appreciation towards cultures and traditions. 3. A community hub for continuous learning of like-minded individuals to create a better dining and environmental conditions and not only for profit making purposes. (includes creating a shelter & awareness for abandoned furry animals on the street) 4. And a "home" as what it is initial built for 250 years ago...... The Concept of Baboon House is to provide the best dining experience to all our beloved customers in regard of the ambiance, art, food or services. Every Customers do play a big part in helping us to create a peaceful and tranquil experience during your visit. Thank you for your never ending support. The Baboons. For Love, Peace & Harmony
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy the great ambience”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

A place that you should not miss. Serve great pork burgers, beautiful music & ambience and home made ginger beer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry_Mimosa2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    221
    39
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The burger I tried was great (Aloha burger), and would actually consider making a trip from Singapore to Melaka for a holiday to get more of the same. The ginger beer is an acquired taste.
The place is a find, and the decor is really cool! An arty hangout!

Remember to go early though, as the place closes by late afternoon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niviane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good burgers + ambience = great!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I don't quite understand the rule of no photos inside the restaurant, but the food was good, the ambience was good, and the overall experience was great! We arrived early at 11am plus on a Monday and no crowds. We didn't plan to eat there as it was western, we wanted to try local stuffs, but it was good that we eventually ate there!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Very cliche, I know, but there's no other word for it!

I came in on a Monday, lunch-time and there was no crowd. I walked right in even though there is a sign saying to wait for staff to seat you. No point since there are hardly any customers. I was greeted by a nice guy covered in cool tattoos and piercings and seated in the middle courtyard among the jungle-like plants and the well.

My order consisted of a Lamb Aloha Cheeseburger and a ginger beer. I wasn't expecting that burst of flavor from the patty! And the sauce was some type of mustard mixture that complemented the burger perfectly. The ginger beer is homemade, the taste also went with the burger very well, not to mention, it is very refreshing as well!

There is free wifi (just ask the staff for the password, and the decor and ambiance were really cool and cozy. Just remember, no photography of the interiors allowed! Well, it is really better experienced in person anyways. So if you are ever in Malacca, please don't forget to drop by! It's really close to the Baba Nyonya Heritage House too, so you can have lunch after visiting the museum.

Helpful?
1 Thank imeecong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

this place is like a hidden gem. we had to go so many rounds to actually find the place. closed on tuesdays. could do some changes to the sign board.

but the burgers are by far the best i have eaten. :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChanZhiChao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baboon House also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to The Baboon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing