We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big disapointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kocik Kitchen

Kocik Kitchen
Ranked #31 of 655 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Big disapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Went there as the shop opposite was full, the portions were ok, the atmosphere was actually great but the food fell flat, nothing nice, maybe the cooks are not Nyonya people?
It just wasnt right

A big let down, will be back in a few years time for more. Price was not bad for Malaysian standards.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AshtonLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    85
    41
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent Cendol!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped at this cafe for cendol after having lunch at the Peranakan restaurant across the road. We were willing to queue for the cendol after reading rave reviews about it. It was worth the wait. Never thought cendol could taste this good! Even my son who initially didn't want any changed his mind after seeing it.

The ice shavings was so fine it melted instantly in my mouth. The coconut milk was just the right creaminess and last but not least the pure thick gula melaka drizzled over it. Would have had two bowls if I wasn't rushed for time...

A small and clean restaurant, Kocik Kitchen certainly has it's cendol to be proud of.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ms328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

being a Penang Nyonya, my standard for nyonya fare may be higher. the Sambal prawns served was probably a previously frozen affair. The spring roll (ngoh hiang) and chendol was pretty good though. Buah keluak and paku a bit too oily

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sharewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good Nonya food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Wide range of lunchtime soups/ noodles/ fried rice plus more substantial meals available. Excellent value with good food, in particular Nonya Laksa [noodle with fish balls, prawn and tofu in a spicy coconut base soup].

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dfghj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Taken for a ride! Served us not really Nyonya food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife is a Nyonya from Melaka and she knows what is authentic Nyonya food! We had 2guests
from Switzerland and we were recommended to try Kocik Restaurant. When we arrived in the
evening for dinner, the Manager did not tell us that the Restaurant will be closed within 30 minutes. We ordered a full package meal consisting of 6 dishes. When the food was served, it
did not seemed that the portion was even not enough 4 people when they told us that the package meal was for 5 people! It was obvious that the food served was leftover! Small bits of
meat and a small fried dry fish for 4 persons! Food was also cold. My wife and I were very
embarassed and will never take any of our guests to this Restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Zingg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kocik Kitchen also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Kocik Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing