We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mods Cafe

Mods Cafe
Ranked #364 of 655 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Cafe, Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Chanced upon it and decided to patronize. As we were a group of 9 and not all of us wanted a coffee, we bought 2 to take away. Thinking that we were already patronizing, one of us wanted to go in to take a look and was rejected by the staff. He simply refused saying that the coffee will be ready very soon and that we have to wait outside. Throughout he was also blocking us from taking a good shot of the shop from outside.

The coffee was ordinary. Never going back despite the shop being unique.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank evisan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    17
    12
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Boring inside”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The half closed shutter and orange van inside the shop makes the cafe mysterious from the outside but upon settling inside the cafe...the excitement wears off quickly. The tables and seats are too low for comfort and the layout inside looks like a garage (cleverly hidden by the shutter).

The coffee menu is predicable and the coffee is average.

I would suggest anyone to check out the space inside before allowing the waiter to rush you with the order.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

After a long walk we finally found this cafe and it was a delight to be seated cozily away from sun.
Ordered two drinks as per customer is required to order a drink as displayed in every table.
Disappointingly upon my reach for the famous melacca biscuits we were interrupted from eating as the staff claimed outside weren't allowed despite no signage.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Door half closed?!?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Recommended by our local relative. When we were there,it took us a few minutes to figure out if it was operating as the door was half closed. After clarification, we understood that they just gotten air conditioning. By closing the door, it can save the air conditioned air from wasting?!?

Anyway, the theme and deco of the cafe was interesting. Quite appealing to modern cafe seekers. I cannot remembered what I ordered but the coffee was good and It's RM24 (What the staff mention when she recommended). A cup of black coffee that was not bitter yet full of the roasted aroma. The texture was smooth. Its everything you want from a coffee. The tiramisu was not to die for, it still lack some sparkle.

From our seat, I can see the barrister/owner careful roasting the coffee beans. He stopped me from talking picture of him. Anyway, His professionalism deserved my respect as he meticulously check the beans while it was roasting and records it on his computer. *clap clap*

FYI, they still pays for the road tax for the VW in the cafe!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee220288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice & cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Saw the Mods article but couldn’t find the place until my last trip in Mar 2013. We were jalan jalan and happen to bump into this place. A nice ambiance out from the hot sun. Customer service for us was okay. I mean what can go wrong ordering an ice latte and ice cappuccino. The coffee was not fantastic but was above average to our liking.

The deco and setup was fun, especially the VW that they used to serve the coffees. I think the VW is still working. Took a fews photos before we continue our walkabout in Jonker Street.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dino1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mods Cafe also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Mods Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing