We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location, nice place to explore historical Melaka” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venus Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Venus Boutique Hotel
Ranked #49 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Kemi, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, nice place to explore historical Melaka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Walking distance to Jonker Street and shopping centers in Melaka. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Views do not thrill. Breakfast tasty and the staff very friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerttiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    82
    60
    15
    9
See reviews for
54
60
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel room stay was purchased from Groupon Malaysia. Only stayed a night with hubby and sis in law. Surprised at this little gem of a hotel in a corner of Malacca. The room layout and ambience is small but comfortable. The curtains are thick enough to shield out light that we slept in late without realizing - a good night's sleep. Only setback is that our room had a pillar between the single and double bed which made the room space look smaller. Recommendable hotel and will want to return someday.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Regina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The good:
1. Clean rooms
2. Competitive pricing
3. Breakfast decent considering price paid for room
4. Good location
5. Relatively Complete set of toiletries and room facilities

The bad:
1. Wall are very very thin
2. Rooms are very small

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshwongeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Only stayed for a night. Had some glitches when hotel pre-authorised my credit card for deposit prior to arrival. Created some discomfort for me. Overall room was to expectation, staff polite. Western dinner at the lounge in the hotel is recommended, great food!! Walking distance to Dataran Pahlawan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25A_LLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Only book this hotel a day before while staying at Jonker St. We decided to spend last day at Melaka shopping and want a hotel closer to shopping mall. This was the only hotel that has a room for 4 and within our budget.
Staff was friendly and though we arrive an hour early, was kind enough to let us check-in as room was ready.
Our room consist of a Queen, 2 single beds and a small desk which takes up all the space in the room, but that is fine with us as we just want a comfortable bed to sleep for the night. The air-conditioning was great, unlike the other hotel we stayed or maybe because it was bigger in space (we paid more for 'space' at the other hotel). From the bathroom, this place does not seem new to me at all thus I was very surprised to read 'Lisalovetravel' describing it "a new hotel" in her review.
Breakfast was included, if I had to pay I would prefer to eat out. Noodles fried with just onions & dark soy sauce was mushy and oily, beans, toast, some fruits and weak coffee was the breakfast spread.
We don't mind the 15 mins walk to shopping mall, park and restaurants passing a market on the way. Wifi available, though drop out a few times when using.
Overall, Good value for money hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank noRisktaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Location of the hotel is very good , most of the attractions at walk able distance including the shopping malls and night markets . The rooms are very small but clean and new . The breakfast is also decent . Overall value for money , good choice ..if you are staying for couple of days and intend to see the attractions and roam around rather than staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varun_vikram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stay in this hotel during my Chinese new year trip. I made a last minute booking so not much choices left except this hotel. Even though it is a new hotel, my room was not that clean at all.

The Pros
-Cheap and value for money if you just book the normal standard room.
-Breakfast was provided and the food was nice and has some variety
-Had the basic necessities like kettle, shampoo and soap etc.
-New hotel so their room are still looking new and well mantained in most area but dont know how it is going to be liked in 1 to 2 years time.
-Service was excellent
-Staff are friendly and helpful
-Wifi was not that terrible as most people describe
-Even though near the highway, but my room was not noisy at all

The Cons
-The housekeeping was terrible as my room was not throughly clean when I just check in.
-The towel had some stains on it so I would recommend to use your own towel instead.
-There is dead ants in the fridge.
-The water pressure for the shower is low but I do not mind.
-My room was on the second floor and I could see people walking downstairs so I close the curtain most of the time.
-The cupboard was open and has no door at all.
-The bathroom wall was dirty even though this is quite a new hotel.
-The location was poor as I hald to walk quite a distance to shopping centre and tourist attraction.
-There was hardly any taxi at the hotel area.

Overall, if you want cheap hotel you can choose this place.
For me, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont need to pay more for the deluxe standard room, it is not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisalovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear lisalovetravel,

Thank you for staying at Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your recent trip at Melaka. We are glad to have you to stay in.

First of all, I would like to apologize for the untidy room. It is due to the tiredness of our housekeepers during Chinese New Year Season. All housekeepers are rushing for the best availability for the guest to check in to avoid traffic in the lobby. But we never take it as granted, in the future, if you found your room is not clean upon check in, please notify our manager to settle the problem for you.

For your information, your room window does not face to any staircase, but the view of flyover with some distance. For privacy purpose, yes you have to close the curtain unless you need to see the view.

For verification purpose, our location is only 5 minutes walking distance to Mahkota Parade Shopping Center, then you may walk to Dataran Pahlawan Shopping center for another further 5 minutes. Behind Dataran Pahlawan is tourist A'Famosa is another 5 minutes walking distance, then from there to Malacca tourist information center at Jonker street is only another 5 minutes. If you want to straight down to Malacca tourist information center at Jonker street from the hotel is only 10 minutes walking distance. It is only depending the route that you choose. You may search this data from the google maps. We do provide some maps at the receptionist, you may request from them for free.

Thank you very much for your feedback and let us know our weakness, and we will improve for the comment that you have highlight.

Your sincerely,
Venus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#45 of 165 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Syaz Meridien Hotel
Syaz Meridien Hotel
#56 of 165 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#25 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ND Hotel
ND Hotel
#53 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.0 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#39 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.6 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#34 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Boutique Hotel

Property: Venus Boutique Hotel
Address: No. 18 Jalan Pm 6 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Venus Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing