We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Venus Boutique Hotel
Ranked #56 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is well located with in walking distance to all major attractions and malls. The rooms are small but cannot complain for what I paid. The air-con and bed were nice to ensure comfortable sleep. The bathroom facilities are quite nice and no problem with the shower as mentioned in other older reviews.The main problem is that the rooms are not sound proof, at least to the acceptable level. All the tap sound, TV sound, kid's noise and chatting from the next room are clearly audible. So your peaceful sleep is very much dependent on your neighbour and their behaviour. Also some renovation work is ongoing and staying in the room during day time is difficult. The front desk staff could be more friendly and the there was no smile or greeting during check-in and definitely they should improve on this. Overall comfortable stay and value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mksenthil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Mksenthil,

Thank your for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your recent visit in Melaka. For your information, we have solve the bathroom problems mentioned from the past. I'm glad that you clarify our efforts to our sincere guests. Thank you very much.

For sound proof complaint, we will investigate the root cause. We will be appreciate if you can provide the room number to info@venushotel.com.my so we can found the problem as soon as possible.

We are improving our services by extend the number of rooms and the size of room. We recieve a lot of comment about our hotel room is small. Therefore, we try to improve this by adding some bigger room to our sincere guests. Hope they can enjoy the new rooms in the next couple of months.

I'm sorry that you do not have a warm welcome upon check in. I'll take note on this and re-train our front office. Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 193 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

My stay at Venus Boutique Hotel was amazing. The beds are soft and comfortable, air-con works perfectly well. Every room even comes with a flat screen tv. The location is perfect as it is very near to the shopping malls and the heritage areas. Worth paying every penny! Bicycle rental was a plus - my friends and I went cycling around the Malacca city in the evening after a whole day of indulging excellent food. Size of the room was perfectly fine with me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle_f520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Michelle,

Goood Morning to Michelle! I would like to thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your last visit in Melaka. I'm glad to know that you have such wonderful experience in Venus Boutique Hotel & Melaka Historical City. We will maintain and keep improving our service again to make more guests experience the same happiness as you did. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. With all the compliments from you, giving me a lot of enthusiasm to move on with better, better and better services. We hope to serve you in the nearly future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

About 7mths old boutique hotel facing opposite the highway where Hotel Inn is located but at half the price. Double Room and Twin Room is small but sufficient, they're just next door to one another though no connecting room. There are 2 rooms at each 4 corners (each corner have an fire exit). Heard that plans for have bigger rooms and install shower curtain in progress.
Rooms are clean though toilet seat will get wet after bathing but its no issue to me to just wipe it dry. Free parking opposite toilet under the bridge, just get the free parking coupon after the reception and display it on the car. Heard that weekend is abit troublesome as some road are closed for pasar malam. About 10channels on TV to watch like HBO, National Geograhic, Astro, ESPN and 2 Malay channels. Free drinking water from dispenser machine near the lift.
The Newton Place for eating hawker food is about 5min away. It is less than 10min walk to Mahkota Parade Shopping Complex where Najadee's (muti-layered crepe cake and shops like Popular, Giant, Cartoon world, etc are located). Its also 10min walk to Christ Church and another 10min down to Jonker street. Do note that shops at Jonker street closed by 6pm on weekday. Do standby hat/sunglasses as weather is about 34degrees during May-Aug.
Hotel great for short stay as its value for money. Will stay again next time if they can maintain the standard of cleaniness.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenlkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Jenklj,

A very good morning to you! I'm suprising that you know our hotel under your fingertips. Thank you so much to describe our hotel as precise as possible. I'm glad to know that you understand your host so well, and nevertheless these has giving us a spiritual supports to serve our guests even better! For your information, as I promised to our sincere guests, the shower curtain has been installed by the end of June. This has reduce the wetness at the toilet seat. We hope the deluxe rooms will be established by end of this year. The latest will be early of next year. Again Jenklj, thank you so much for your write up. It is an wonderful article for me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Cheap lovely hotel with clean and tastefully designed interiors. Rooms were spacious enough and comfortable. Its located relatively near to the shopping centers and there is a 'pasar malam' which opens nearby the hotel at night on weekends. Lots of eateries nearby as well (within walking distance). Staffs were not very friendly though. There was no 'good afternoon' or a smile when we checked in. Everyone was so cold - something the management should work on. Apart from that, I think it is a worthwhile place to stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Christine W,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your last visit at Melaka. We are proud to have you as our guests and we promise to continue putting our best effort to make this hotel more lovey! Thank you for your support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The hotel is situated in close walking distance to the centre of Melaka and the large shopping centres. Near to the hotel is an array of good places to eat and the food was always good.
The room was to say the least rather small and a little cramped for two people. It would be better suited to single occupancy. The room was very clean and modern but the toilet/ wet room being small do present problems when you want to re-enter after someone has a had a shower because everything is wet.
The reception staff were friendly but they had no tourist information or basic maps.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Kevspain,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. For 2 person occupancy room size, we are sorry to heard that it is very crowd for you and your roommate. We try very hard to adjust the room size and put in the most needed amenities to our valuable guests. To payback our sincere guests, we plan to add on few deluxe standard room for 2 occupancy (with bigger room and shower room size) at this year end. Currently the management is planning for the new room design. Please do send us your valuable suggestion at your upmost convinience. For currently toilet/showeroom, we will install the shower curtain around July 2012. Please bear with us, we would like to hear good comment from our guests. We had put the tourism information at our reception counter, please request from our receptionist. It is honorable to be your host. Thank you very much.Hope to serve you better at your next visit. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The room maybe small, but utimally I got no complain paying for SGD50 per night... the interior design is stylish and bed is comfortable. The only complain is the shower, there heater is not strong enough... location is just next to the shopping mall, just 5 mins away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivian_Chua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear Vivian,

Thanks for your feedback. We had improved our water pressure by adding the water pump. So far, we only heard our guests complaint at the reception counter of low water, we manage to encounter this problem by advice our guests to pull up the water knob, not left and right.
For your information, we put the tips at the shower corner lately (20.04.2012) to inform our guests of the usage of the water knob. Hope you can get your strong water at your next visit. If you do find any unfavourable matter, kindly proceed at our reception. We will try to solve the problem and let you enjoy our facilities while you still in house.
Thanks you for your valuable feedback, we hope to serve you again in nearly future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This hotel is located at Melaka Raya also known as Plaza Mahkota (nearby UOB Bank). For those guest who drive to this hotel, parking is available upon check-in under the bridge just across the hotel. Please take note, parking in front of hotel required parking coupon as it is public parking bay and you might get parking ticket if you leave your car unattended.

Once you have check-in, you may just walk around 10-15minutes to few shopping complex such as Pahlawan Square, Hattan Square and Mahkota Parade. Tourist attraction spot such as A'Famosa, Jonker Street and many more is also within walking distance. There is weekend night market (Fri, Sat & Sun) nearby hotel too.

Back to hotel room, it had nice decoration and clean which make me feel comfortable esp the bed (pillows & blanket) is soft, just the way i like it. Kettle is provided in room with coffee and tea. Breakfast is not provided but nearby hotel got variety of restaurants so i don't think there's any problem with it. Water dispenser is also provided just outside the room. Free WiFi for hotel guest. Would recommend this hotel as the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artic128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#61 of 168 in Melaka
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Explorer Hotel
The Explorer Hotel
#45 of 168 in Melaka
154 reviews
1.4 mi away
Angsana Hotel Melaka
Angsana Hotel Melaka
#76 of 168 in Melaka
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ND Hotel
ND Hotel
#53 of 168 in Melaka
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arissa
Hotel Arissa
#19 of 168 in Melaka
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Boutique Hotel

Address: No. 18 Jalan Pm 6 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $23 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Venus Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing