We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gus, and Knocknock Home are simply wonderful”
Review of Knocknock Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knocknock Home
Ranked #1 of 227 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is the first tripadvisor review I've written, appropriately dedicated to my experience with Gus at the Knocknock Home. His guesthouse is beautiful--spacious, impeccably decorated, and comfortable. We enjoyed Gus's company, his knowledge of the area, his sincere kindness, and his great taste in restaurants. I cannot imagine our experience in Melaka without Gus. If you want an incredible place to stay with an owner (and his great cousin) that will make you sad to leave, you must stay at Knocknock. Go on the guided bike tour with him. I am happy to have found a friend in Melaka and look forward to coming back in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lalena10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Lauren,

Thank you so much for your kind comments,I am very happy that you enjoyed the bicycle ride with me,there are few more nice eateries and cafe just set up here recently,I am sure you will like them. hope you will visit Malacca again soon ,take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 186 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Highly recommended if you have to stay in Melaka. Everything is just perfect: great situation, the size of the room is just amazing, the bathroom is really beautiful and so typical and Gus (the owner) is such a great host, everything you need or ask for, you will get it. Maybe a bit expensive but worth it. I definitely go back there for my next trip in Melaka

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rej965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Rej,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A Melaka trip would not be complete without a stay in this cultural homestay - knocknock home. Knocknock home is located near to the jonker street. It is spacious, clean, and has very interesting concept. Most importantly, it is affordable for budget travelers like us - definitely value for money. The owner, Augustine, is very friendly and would bring us around to show us whr are the nice food in Melaka. He wld also explain to us some of e history of Melaka. As we were travelling w an elderly, he was very attentive and shows extra care to her, something which we appreciate. We are extremely satisfied w the service and the standard of e rooms. I will definitely stay again the next time I visit Melaka. Thanks Augustine for your hospitality and making Melaka an enjoyable one for us. :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GermaineGermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Germaine,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to review us,I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our services,can't wait to welcome all of you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My friends and I spent a wonderful 3-day vacation in Knocknock Home, and MLK. The room is clean, cozy, and well decorated. It has extremely large space, and 5-star housing equipment. My experience with Knocknock Home is more than just a room, but about MLK food and culture. Augustine (the owner) is very friendly and helpful. He led us around the old town to find all kinds of delicious snacks. I love the Chinese food, Thai food, Malay food, and Nyonya food. While we were walking around the town, Augustine would tell some interesting stories about MLK history and culture, and local life. We had a wonderful night at Voyage cafe, enjoying Aki's music; we went into small shops to discover those interesting gadgets; we walked along the MLK river at dusk, and listening Muslims' prayer flying over the golden river surface...

Strongly recommend Knocknock Home, and Augustine.

Room Tip: If you love arts and literature, Knocknock is a room that you should never miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baoxing Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Baoxing,

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to write this review.Thank you so much for your kind words on Knocknock Home,glad you and the others enjoyed your stay with us.Can't wait to show you more nice eateries,places of interest and hidden gems in Malacca.We look forward to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

"You are a friend, not a guest", says Gus, owner of Knocknock as I apologised profusely after having embarassingly run out of money (because it is a small cosy set-up, Knocknock does not yet have credit card facilities). The owners' philosophy coupled with their clean, cozy rooms make their tripadvisor ranking a well-deserved one.

At Knocknock home, you basically get a huge room (an entire upper floor with minimal partitions) complete with a dining/lounging area. It's perfect for a families or a group of 4 friends.

But couples may find it helpful to know that Gus also runs "Tiny Knocknock" that will accomodate 2 perfectly. You basically get the keys to your own shophouse room - you head up the tiny stairs on the ground floor where you get a really cosy retro living area and you scoot up the loft ladder to your bed. The rooms are clean and bright. (I like the pillows) There's quite alot of climbing up and down tiny stairs in Tiny, but it adds to the the charm of the room.

Replies are swift. Wi-fi is available throughout the homes - water is complimentary and everywhere is within walking distance. Gus will happily take you around (with no charge) and show you his favourite parts of Malacca. As a solo traveller, I was delighted to find I did not have to miss out too much on malacca food because Gus gamely became my eating companion. (note: show up with him and you get fast-tracked at the coffeeshop queue for Malacca's best chicken rice balls) If you like your travels personal and real - go for it and book at Knocknock.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cerealkiller_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

" Come as a guest and leave as a friend " is my main objective in running Knocknock Home !
Thank you so much for taking your precious time reviewing Knocknock Home and our new place
-"tiny Knocknock". Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My friend Kamo organised a cycling trip to find the abandoned railway in Malacca last April and Knocknock Home was our lodging.

Firstly, I'd say that the owners Augustine and Augustus are very friendly and comfortable to be with. They like to travel around the world so there's a lot to share. Especially if you're always backpack traveling.

Augustine was happily being our guide to where good food are throughout our cycling trip and this made the trip more fun.

The cozy layout in Knocknock Home made everyone feel at home and easy. The decorations are nice. Facilities provided are good. You can buy a DVD from Jonker and watch it using the projector. It's so cool.

If you're going to Malacca in a group, this is the best place to sleep at!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanaTian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Oliver,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to review us and also the Polaroid photos.Glad you and others enjoyed your stay with us.FYI we have set up another smaller unit "tiny Knocknock" good for 1-4 person just nearby,hope you will have a stay here too in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Making reservation was a breeze with Gus's promptest reply. Gus and Augustus are indeed hospitable recommending the best places in Malacca; guiding us the directions to the accommodation, different cafes and attractions. Not only that, Gus waited for quite a while under the scorching sun for our arrival (was apologetic to have missed his email), brought us to a few places personally explaining the history and interesting parts of Malacca.

Knockknock Home is simply unique. There is only one level with a living room, a bedroom and a bathroom for the guests. It’s the most appropriate place for friends as 6 of us could chat and watch shows together in the living room unlike other places where we often have to stay in different rooms. The place is spacious and clean with authentic displays and great facilities (e.g. free WIFI, cable TV, safe deposit and etc. too bad the projector was spoilt during our stay). Water is FOC while other drinks are charged at an affordable cost. The location is still considered good although you don’t get to see the river and the street seems a little rundown and quiet. 5-10 mins walking distance to the old town. One thing to take note is that you have to walk with extra careful staying at the 2nd level. Don’t walk like an elephant!

Early check-in & late check-out are given to us whenever possible. Thanks for the great experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaslyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Jasyln.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review,glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Hope you will visit us again soon,oh yes,the projector is fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.4 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 169 in Melaka
1,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#8 of 169 in Melaka
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
1 mi away
Rosa Malacca
Rosa Malacca
#2 of 169 in Melaka
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 152 in Melaka
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knocknock Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knocknock Home

Address: 10E Jalan Taman Kota Laksamana | Jalan Laksamana 2, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $125 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Knocknock Home and "tiny Knocknock",cosy accommodation very close to the core zone of the Malacca UNESCO World Heritage Site and just a stone's throw away from all the city's major attraction. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing