We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”
Review of Knocknock Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knocknock Home
Ranked #1 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Augustine and Augustus were very hospitable during our visit. Augustine briefly showed us around Malacca and recommended places that we could go. Knockknock home is spacious and the bedroom has its own air-con, separated from the main area by a sliding door. While we were out, they were helpful to help to close the windows before sunset and switched on the mosquito repellent to prevent mosquitoes from coming in. There were no mosquitoes at all. They also have pets - a dog and a cat next to the house. The bathing area is unique as it uses old-fashioned drawn-down curtains, and so it feels like you are bathing in olden times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Poh,
Thank you so much for taking your time to review us,glad you like our place especially the bath area, do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
17
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We would say that we had made the right decision staying at Knocknock Home! It was our gathering trip down at Malacca, it took a while for us to search for a place to spend a night at when planning for the trip, as it was a packed weekend before Christmas. Thanks to Gus & Augustus for your kindness, accepted our reservation!

We had a great time spent at Malacca and our trip was delighted with your warm welcome and hospitality! A cozy, simple but well decorated homely Knocknock provided us a comfortable stay. If ever visit Malacca again, without hesitation Knocknock Home will be our choice for accommodation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myTraveljourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review,can't wait to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

On our recent trip to Melaka we stayed at Knocknock Home, a boutique guest house in Java Lane, close to historic heart of this UNESCO World Heritage city.

Java Lane (Jalan Jawa) is part of Kampung Jawa named after the Javanese community who settled this area from the 1600s onwards. The original kampung was redeveloped in the 1880s in what was probably the first planned housing project in Malacca. Today it comprises a few narrow lanes of plain whitewashed residential houses and shophouses, close to the iron pedestrian bridge crossing the Melaka River (Jambatan Kampung Jawa).

Like much of Melaka, the area was in decline for many decades but now the buildings are protected and are slowly being gentrified.

Knocknock Home is in one of these old two-storey buildings. The entrance foyer and owner’s apartment are on the ground floor while upstairs is one huge room for the guests.

The original exterior of the building has not been changed and the owners have done a good job of retaining many of the architectural period features while providing guests with a contemporary and stylish interior which is visually appealing and homely.

One word comes to mind regarding this place and that is ‘generous’. Firstly the space is generous. The room is 1000 sq.ft. (bigger than many homes in this part of the world!). The owner could easily have divided the space into two or more rooms but decided to retain the whole floor for single occupancy. The sleeping area is at the far end on a raised wooden platform behind sliding glass doors and air-conditioned. The sleeping configuration is one king-size mattress and one queen size mattress. Since we are 5 in our family we had an extra single mattress between the two doubles. Obviously with such cosy sleeping arrangements, this place is only suitable for families, couples or very close friends.

The cavernous shower area is at the other end of the room. Those bamboo blinds above unroll to provide privacy. There is a rain shower head or, if preferred, guests can bathe Japanese style sitting on a wooden stool in front of the ornate water jar with a hand-held shower tap. The toilet is in a separate cubicle.

Also generous are the room amenities such as the home movie system which projects onto the wall. A stock of Chinese and Western DVDs are provided. There is also cable TV for those who cannot be without the news or Cartoon Network. There is a fridge with beers and soft drinks sold almost at cost price (RM7 and RM2 respectively). We were also given six large bottles of mineral water free of charge during our 2 night stay. Complementary bicycles are available as well as more typical facilities such as tea and coffee making facilities in the room, a safe deposit box, hair dryer and WiFi.

Lastly, the owner Gus was most generous with his time and attention. He took us for a guided night walk to Jonker Street, pointing out interesting shops along the way. He even bought us a delicious late-night oyster omelette from one of Malacca’s most famous street food vendors.

Knocknock does not provide breakfast but Gus suggested various places we could try such as Dutch House Cafe, Limau-Limau Cafe, Baboon House and various dim-sum shops.

The second night we ended up having a nightcap with Gus at The Bridge Street Cafe which is run by a friend of his in Lorong Jambatan, the dark alleyway leading to the iron bridge.

We got the impression that for Gus, running Knocknock Home is not about making money but more a labour of love. He certainly makes his guests feel at home and we enjoyed listening to his old records on the vintage Australian radio/gramophone player.

He charges RM400 per night which for our family size is reasonable as we would have to pay for 2 rooms if we were staying in a hotel. The extra mattress costs RM50.

You can see the photos that go along with this review on my blog;
http://thriftytraveller.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/knocknock-home-kampung-jawa-melaka/

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheThriftyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to review us,we are really delighted to read your kind and detailed review on Knocknock home and other interesting places in Malacca .We are also very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us,can't wait to welcome all of you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent one night with my family of 6 (grand parents, parents and children) at the Knockknock Home in Melaka. We had a great time there. Gus and his cousin were kind enough to point us to the best places to visit, eat, discover in Melaka on top a very comfortable stay. We really felt at home!

Room Tip: It's one flat so there is no choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Rym,

Happy New Year and wishing you and your family a blessed 2013 year ! Thank you so much for all the kind words in your review on Knocknock Home.Glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us,can't wait to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

With the delays of our Sg-Melaka trip and the circumstances we encountered on the way, it was a frustrating anticipation when we arrived at Melaka. My Dad, being the more frequent traveller was wondering why we haven't booked at a hotel upon seeing the place. He was looking for the usual lobby, reception , cafe and the usual amenities of a hotel. However, we were welcomed warmly by Gus and Gus. It was a totally different experience. First, the beds were big. The bath was big and extraordinary. You would think that the dvd-projector was out-of-place. But you'd wonder how it fit just right. It was the highlight of our relaxed evening as we watched 'Music and Lyrics'. Personally, it was a feast of my (slightly) artistic side. I have repeatedly looked at reviews and photos for months. But it gave me a warmer feeling when I was there (aside from the lemongrass scent I loved so much when we entered the place). Being an architect, it felt like seeing the Petronas Towers in person for the first time. I don't know any other way to describe it. The best thing about it was that my whole family seemed to have the same emotions I had when we had to leave Knocknock for Singapore. And kinda amazed that my 15-year old nephew could appreciate such an accommodation. The two Guses were very warm hosts. From the heritage tour to the chicken rice balls, you won't feel like an ordinary tourist but a VIP guest. It was uplifting. Like an experience that you won't always have, but will be treasured for a lifetime. Even when we were back in Singapore, we can't help but talk about it and smile. And hope that one day, we can visit the place and our new friends again with more stories to talk about, and more loved-ones to take with us and experience the same feeling we had when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairemendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Claire,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Knocknock Home,very sorry that the taxi driver could't find us and refused to drop you at our place after I told him the direction because he have to drive another big circle.I am really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us despite all the frustrating anticipation you came across.The friendliness and warmness of you and your family made us felt you are our relatives and not guests,wish all of you will visit us again soon . Remember, you have a home in Malacca that welcome you any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having not been to Malacca in years, we wanted the ultimate Malaccan experience. We wanted to avoid tourist spots and prices but at the same time, see Malacca and experience its sights and sounds from the perspective of a local.

This is our first time staying in Knocknock Home and we weren't sure what to expect. Arriving on our first day, we were instantly greeted with the warm, cosy interior of the home and Gus, the owner. We had the entire upstairs to ourselves and the little knick knacks that decorated the place was extremely charming. The bedroom itself was neat, clean and tidy. It was easy to settle down for the night in preparation for the rest of our trip.

Gus was an excellent tourguide. He gave us valuable insight and backstories to certain shops and buildings and brought us for fantastic meals at many different places. Two of our favourites were AK-47 Cafe (for Thai food) and The Baboon House (for their pork burgers). When need be, he would let us roam certain shops in search of souvenirs. He would also recommend the best shops for certain items (such as pineapple tarts), knowledge that he has carefully gathered along the way, from being a tour guide. He really is an expert in his field!

Overall, it was lovely and interesting experience. Besides being able to relax and getaway from the hustle and bustle of city-life, we also got to savour good food (cendol!) and learn the many different stories behind the historical city.

Do visit Knocknock Home, it's really an unforgettable experience and a "Home" away from home :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettewerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review,glad to know that you enjoyed your short holidays in Melaka and the stay in Knocknock Home.For sure I will show you more hidden gems in Malacca
in your next visit,Happy 2013 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

For city dwellers, my girls (9/11/13) simply love the retro and original design of Knock Knock Home, which they will never experience back home in Singapore. They love everything from the clogs to the antique see-saw in the house. They simply had lots of fun in the house and almost tore it down.

Thanks Gus, for willing to leave your house in our hands during the Christmas break, as we were not able to get accomodation at such short notice. Thanks also for patiently waiting for us to arrive (we were caught in a bad traffic jam which took us 2 hours to reach from the Ayer Keroh toll) and for taking the time to highlight to us the various nice makan places around the area before you go off for your short break.

This is what homestay is all about - the warmth of the hosts!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Cheng Cheng,

Happy New Year and a blessed 2013 to you and your family ! Thank you so much for your kind review on Knocknock Home,we are very glad that your girls liked our place.Please don't feel bad that you checked in late due to the heavy traffic,instead the local council are the one who should
be blamed.Actually there are more hidden gems in Malacca to be discovered ,I wish I were there
to show you.Hope you and your family will visit Malacca again in the near future,can't wait to welcome all of you,till then ...take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knocknock Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knocknock Home

Property: Knocknock Home
Address: 10E Jalan Taman Kota Laksamana | Jalan Laksamana 2, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Knocknock Home and "tiny Knocknock",cosy accommodation very close to the core zone of the Malacca UNESCO World Heritage Site and just a stone's throw away from all the city's major attraction. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing