We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surreal”
Review of Knocknock Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knocknock Home
Ranked #1 of 211 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surreal”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

With the delays of our Sg-Melaka trip and the circumstances we encountered on the way, it was a frustrating anticipation when we arrived at Melaka. My Dad, being the more frequent traveller was wondering why we haven't booked at a hotel upon seeing the place. He was looking for the usual lobby, reception , cafe and the usual amenities of a hotel. However, we were welcomed warmly by Gus and Gus. It was a totally different experience. First, the beds were big. The bath was big and extraordinary. You would think that the dvd-projector was out-of-place. But you'd wonder how it fit just right. It was the highlight of our relaxed evening as we watched 'Music and Lyrics'. Personally, it was a feast of my (slightly) artistic side. I have repeatedly looked at reviews and photos for months. But it gave me a warmer feeling when I was there (aside from the lemongrass scent I loved so much when we entered the place). Being an architect, it felt like seeing the Petronas Towers in person for the first time. I don't know any other way to describe it. The best thing about it was that my whole family seemed to have the same emotions I had when we had to leave Knocknock for Singapore. And kinda amazed that my 15-year old nephew could appreciate such an accommodation. The two Guses were very warm hosts. From the heritage tour to the chicken rice balls, you won't feel like an ordinary tourist but a VIP guest. It was uplifting. Like an experience that you won't always have, but will be treasured for a lifetime. Even when we were back in Singapore, we can't help but talk about it and smile. And hope that one day, we can visit the place and our new friends again with more stories to talk about, and more loved-ones to take with us and experience the same feeling we had when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairemendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Claire,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Knocknock Home,very sorry that the taxi driver could't find us and refused to drop you at our place after I told him the direction because he have to drive another big circle.I am really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us despite all the frustrating anticipation you came across.The friendliness and warmness of you and your family made us felt you are our relatives and not guests,wish all of you will visit us again soon . Remember, you have a home in Malacca that welcome you any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
18
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having not been to Malacca in years, we wanted the ultimate Malaccan experience. We wanted to avoid tourist spots and prices but at the same time, see Malacca and experience its sights and sounds from the perspective of a local.

This is our first time staying in Knocknock Home and we weren't sure what to expect. Arriving on our first day, we were instantly greeted with the warm, cosy interior of the home and Gus, the owner. We had the entire upstairs to ourselves and the little knick knacks that decorated the place was extremely charming. The bedroom itself was neat, clean and tidy. It was easy to settle down for the night in preparation for the rest of our trip.

Gus was an excellent tourguide. He gave us valuable insight and backstories to certain shops and buildings and brought us for fantastic meals at many different places. Two of our favourites were AK-47 Cafe (for Thai food) and The Baboon House (for their pork burgers). When need be, he would let us roam certain shops in search of souvenirs. He would also recommend the best shops for certain items (such as pineapple tarts), knowledge that he has carefully gathered along the way, from being a tour guide. He really is an expert in his field!

Overall, it was lovely and interesting experience. Besides being able to relax and getaway from the hustle and bustle of city-life, we also got to savour good food (cendol!) and learn the many different stories behind the historical city.

Do visit Knocknock Home, it's really an unforgettable experience and a "Home" away from home :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettewerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review,glad to know that you enjoyed your short holidays in Melaka and the stay in Knocknock Home.For sure I will show you more hidden gems in Malacca
in your next visit,Happy 2013 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

For city dwellers, my girls (9/11/13) simply love the retro and original design of Knock Knock Home, which they will never experience back home in Singapore. They love everything from the clogs to the antique see-saw in the house. They simply had lots of fun in the house and almost tore it down.

Thanks Gus, for willing to leave your house in our hands during the Christmas break, as we were not able to get accomodation at such short notice. Thanks also for patiently waiting for us to arrive (we were caught in a bad traffic jam which took us 2 hours to reach from the Ayer Keroh toll) and for taking the time to highlight to us the various nice makan places around the area before you go off for your short break.

This is what homestay is all about - the warmth of the hosts!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Cheng Cheng,

Happy New Year and a blessed 2013 to you and your family ! Thank you so much for your kind review on Knocknock Home,we are very glad that your girls liked our place.Please don't feel bad that you checked in late due to the heavy traffic,instead the local council are the one who should
be blamed.Actually there are more hidden gems in Malacca to be discovered ,I wish I were there
to show you.Hope you and your family will visit Malacca again in the near future,can't wait to welcome all of you,till then ...take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

If you're looking for a posh hotel, you're at the wrong place. But if you are looking for warmth and homey guest house, look no further.

The owner
Augustine is a very friendly host, always willing to share and walked with us one morning to explain the history and heritage of Malacca. We don't feel like guests but more like friends staying over at his home. His cousin, Ausgustus, is just as friendly.

The room
"Room" is an understatement. You get the whole floor/unit/apartment (93 sq m - that is about the size of a 4 room HDB flat in Singapore!) all to yourself. Comes with 1 King and 1 Queen beds, suits my family of 2A3C perfectly. Most importantly, the beds are very comfortable, just like what we have back home. I usually have insomnia when I visit a new place but at Knocknock home, I slept like a log. Again, this is not a 5 star hotel so don't expect the house to be spick and span. It is a house with open windows (we kept the windows open in the day for ventilation), dust are inevitable. Don't worry though, the house is generally clean although there were some stain in the toilet bowl but we're fine with that. I love the spacious green bathroom and my kids love watching movies on the home movies projector.

Price
Though the price is slightly on the high side (RM400/night), you get the whole unit all to yourself. You pay for the space, and the experience staying in this guest house is something you'll never encounter in a hotel. Definitely worth it!

Location
Situated in Jalan Jawa, a quiet street but within mins walk to Jonker Street (Jalan Hang Jebat). If you are driving, do note that the GPS will land you in a one way road but you're in the wrong direction. If you are coming from Jalan Bendahara, after Tan Kim Hock, make a right turn, then right again to Jalan Bunga Raya. At this point, you will see Discovery Cafe, try to keep to your left. You will see a small lane a few blocks away from Discovery Cafe, that is a one way traffic (exit only) ie you can't turn in here. Turn left at the next small lane (also one way traffic). Be on the lookout for Knocknock's signage on your right. If you visit on a weekday, most of the shops along Jonker Street are closed at night. No worries if your hunger fang attacks as there are several food stalls within walking distance from Knocknock. We like the oyster omelette (long Q for this one, there were over 15 pax ahead of me) and wonton noodle recommended by Gus. The roti john Gus treated us was yummy too.

Car Park
Jalan Jawa is a very small lane with parallel street parking. Although Gus will try to reserve the lot in front of Knocknock Home, parking is still a challenge. I would have given this review a 5 star if not for parking.

Knocknock Home is a home away from home. We like this home so much so that we're going to visit again next week :-)

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BlessedHomemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Corina,

You guys set a new record in Knocknock Home by visiting Malacca twice in the same month and staying with us ! Thank you so much ! It 's truly an honour to have you and your family staying with us,Happy 2013 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in Knockknock home again. As usual, had a wonderful time with my family meeting up friends and spending time in cool cafes & Art galleries. Must watch the public karaoke session in the weekend nite market. Those seniors are serious! :D

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheonhoon_mak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Mak,

Thank you so much for staying with us again,glad you and your family enjoyed your holdays in Malacca and the stay with us,hope to see you again soon.Happy 2013 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great place to stay, you really do have a massive space to spread out.

Gus and Gus were great at taking care of us from:
reserving parking outside the knockknock home to
getting us umbrellas when it rained to
feeding us non-stop to
taking us out to listen to live music to
walking us all over town with entertaining and informative commentary to
showing us where to buy....well pretty much anything for a reasonable price!

This is all extra in addition to the comfortable beds, wine glasses, coffee cups, small refrigerator, cable television, projector to screen movies on the wall, and massive bath area.

And it's a straightforward easy drive back out to the north-south highway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTeller_848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments,i 'd have a great time showing all of you around.
It is such a pleasure when my guests enjoyed their stay ,do hope to see all of you again in Knocknock Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Thanks to Gus for the great times of sharing with me about Melaka. With a host like Gus you will enjoy more during your stay in Melaka, knowing places out of the book and internet. Never felt disappointed with the great recomemmedation from Gus for good food.Knock Knock home is a place where you definately will enjoy most when you travel with frens and family. Place for you to explore and bring back some of your childhood memory, great bonding times with each other after a long day, and it's just make you feel like a new home with your frens and family. Highly recommended to those who used to stay in hotel, why not make give it a try in Knock knock home, you will find a new style of hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EionWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Eion,thank you so much for your kind comment,there are more interesting places and nice food to be discovered in Malacca,hope I will have more time to show you around on your next visit,
till then ,take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
719 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knocknock Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knocknock Home

Property: Knocknock Home
Address: 10E Jalan Taman Kota Laksamana | Jalan Laksamana 2, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Knocknock Home and "tiny Knocknock",cosy accommodation very close to the core zone of the Malacca UNESCO World Heritage Site and just a stone's throw away from all the city's major attraction. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing