We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
Review of Knocknock Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knocknock Home
Ranked #1 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Hats off to Gus, the host. We stayed at Knock Knock with 3 adults and a toddler in Dec 2011. First Gus moved furniture, made everything safe for the toddler. The place is spacious and perfect for a large family or two families. The location is excellent considering the proximity to all attractions and eateries. The decor maintains the ethnicity and culture - yet it feels modern and clean.
Gus helped us to settle in, took us around, suggested a restaurant to have dinner. The next day, he accompanied us for brunch and his recommendations were great.
It truly felt like home and my kid really loved the projector in the room! We forgot some stuff and Gus rode his vintage Yamaha motorbike and found us to return it. Overall, it was just a perfect stay and would love to go back there again to the lovely place and the warm hospitality.

Room Tip: The place is perfect for a large family or two families. There is ample sleeping space - but dont ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review,it is our duty to ansure the safety of our guests,especially toddler.Thank you for staying with us,hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
17
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Travel to Malacca last week and stayed in Knock Knock Home. Spent the days going around looking for little known places with Gus (our host) and after dinner his friends would come by and we would have a bit of relax drinking and chit chat. Is wonderful to meet so many interesting people from all over that have choose Malacca as their home. My advise is if you just want to sight seeing go stay in the hotel, but if you want to have a taste of Malacca life then stay in Knock knock Home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheonhoon_mak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your review,will sure introduce you to more interesting people and places in Malacca,there are still many hidden gems to discover.Can;t wait to see you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I have stayed at this place twice. Once with a couple of friends and another time with my girlfriend. Found the place to be in the perfect location.. Its only a few minutes walk to Jonker Street and yet still maintain a quiet and peaceful surrounding.. The place provides for a very comfortable stay while still maintaining many of its rustic charm....Excellent job by its owner , Mr.Augustine... Gus as he likes to be called is also a very good host... ever willing to provide suggestions and help whenever required.... Kudos to you Gus..... excellent job..... Will definitely recommend this place to other travelers .... Looking forward to my next stay there.....Cheers

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boon0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review,glad you like our place.Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

One Word- "Comfortable" this is the Home we should look for during holiday... either with Family or Group of Friends....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razőr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you so much ,glad you and your family like our place.Hope to see you again soon.Happy New Year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

A perfect place to stay for a laidback and relax weekend with family. We get to occupy the whole of the upstairs floor, with a huge bathroom and living hall. Situated in a good location where we can easily venture out by foot and enjoy all the sights around the place. The owner, Gus was also a tour-guide for us, showing us around Malacca, bringing us to unique bistros and cafes. Will definitely come back and stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review,It is my pleasure showing all my guests Malacca's fun & nice place.Hope to see you & your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Knocknock is one of the best home stays we have been to till date.. Friendly and helpful hosts who are so passionate about Melaka and more than happy to share their home with you.. An entire floor of about 1000 Sqft is all yours for a very reasonable price and 4 people can stay there without stepping on each others toes..

Shower areas with natural light and bamboo blinds as partitions is much appreciated and very different to the brick walls we generally shower within.. All modern facilities including wi-fi, projectors, DVD players, fridge and dining table..

Truly to the significance of the heritage town of Melaka, knocknock makes you feel you are right there with a lot of antiques placed within your living area.. This place is just a minute's walk to the river and maybe about 5 minutes walk to the old town.. or maybe it actually is part of the old town..

With clean bathrooms, and well done bedrooms, there is nothing to really complain about this place.. In fact, i'm trying hard to think of something that was out of place, but there is none that I can pin down to pen down..

We were there for only 2 nights, and Gus wanted us to try so much of the food there that he used to go out and buy some awesome pre breakfast for us.. This apart from taking us around and showing us the best places in Melaka to have breakfast, lunch and dinner.. In fact, he wanted us to try the oyster omlette there that when he realized that we didn't have sufficient time to try that, he went out while we were out, bought it and hung it in a packet outside our door, to welcome us when we returned later that night.. :)

Thanks Gus for the wonderful time and the hospitality shown to us while we were there.. A special word of thanks to Augustus as well..

Room Tip: The entire level is yours, so you can choose which ever room u wish to.. Be it the shower, dining, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshwinGBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your compliments, we're looking forward to see you again in Knocknock Home...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My family and me stayed here for a night. Although we been away from home but we still feel homely because of the delightful design and homely atmosphere. The bedroom, bathroom and living area was perfectly clean, tidy and neat. The extraordinary bathroom and "mid-night show" was the best experience ever. Knocknock home located just few minutes walk to the famous heritage area and jonker walk. With the kind guidance from the host, Gus, you be able to explore more about this heritage town especially about the history and foods. A perfect place for your holiday~ 11 out of 10!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estherhym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind compliment,It is our pleasure to shown all our guests the beauty of Malacca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knocknock Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knocknock Home

Property: Knocknock Home
Address: 10E Jalan Taman Kota Laksamana | Jalan Laksamana 2, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Knocknock Home and "tiny Knocknock",cosy accommodation very close to the core zone of the Malacca UNESCO World Heritage Site and just a stone's throw away from all the city's major attraction. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing