We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"KNOCK KNOCK"... "Whose there??".. "HOME".. "Home who??".. "HOME AWAY FROM HOME"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Knocknock Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knocknock Home
Ranked #1 of 208 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“"KNOCK KNOCK"... "Whose there??".. "HOME".. "Home who??".. "HOME AWAY FROM HOME"”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Knocknock is one of the best home stays we have been to till date.. Friendly and helpful hosts who are so passionate about Melaka and more than happy to share their home with you.. An entire floor of about 1000 Sqft is all yours for a very reasonable price and 4 people can stay there without stepping on each others toes..

Shower areas with natural light and bamboo blinds as partitions is much appreciated and very different to the brick walls we generally shower within.. All modern facilities including wi-fi, projectors, DVD players, fridge and dining table..

Truly to the significance of the heritage town of Melaka, knocknock makes you feel you are right there with a lot of antiques placed within your living area.. This place is just a minute's walk to the river and maybe about 5 minutes walk to the old town.. or maybe it actually is part of the old town..

With clean bathrooms, and well done bedrooms, there is nothing to really complain about this place.. In fact, i'm trying hard to think of something that was out of place, but there is none that I can pin down to pen down..

We were there for only 2 nights, and Gus wanted us to try so much of the food there that he used to go out and buy some awesome pre breakfast for us.. This apart from taking us around and showing us the best places in Melaka to have breakfast, lunch and dinner.. In fact, he wanted us to try the oyster omlette there that when he realized that we didn't have sufficient time to try that, he went out while we were out, bought it and hung it in a packet outside our door, to welcome us when we returned later that night.. :)

Thanks Gus for the wonderful time and the hospitality shown to us while we were there.. A special word of thanks to Augustus as well..

Room Tip: The entire level is yours, so you can choose which ever room u wish to.. Be it the shower, dining, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshwinGBenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your compliments, we're looking forward to see you again in Knocknock Home...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
17
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My family and me stayed here for a night. Although we been away from home but we still feel homely because of the delightful design and homely atmosphere. The bedroom, bathroom and living area was perfectly clean, tidy and neat. The extraordinary bathroom and "mid-night show" was the best experience ever. Knocknock home located just few minutes walk to the famous heritage area and jonker walk. With the kind guidance from the host, Gus, you be able to explore more about this heritage town especially about the history and foods. A perfect place for your holiday~ 11 out of 10!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estherhym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind compliment,It is our pleasure to shown all our guests the beauty of Malacca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I were looking for a getaway from the city hustle, and we decided to stay in Melacca in Malaysia, which is a UNESCO heritage. We found out about Knocknock Home and was first impressed by its unique and attractive website. Having contacted the owner, Gus, we zealously set out from Hong Kong, anticipating a completely unusual trip for both of us only to be proven true. We stayed there for nearly 2 weeks, and I have to say this is the best break we've ever had. Melacca itself is a small town which can be covered basically in 3-4 days, I'm saying only the major tourist sites one will possibly find in guide books and brochures. However, we managed to discover some really authentic, hidden gems of the city with the guidance and recommendations of Gus, which we are always grateful for. Most importantly, I'm glad we've made a right choice by choosing Knocknock Home as we really feel a sense of comfort and cosiness of a true home during the long week we spent there. It's clean, buzz-free, and quiet. We will totally go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesuislafille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Very glad you have a wonderful time during your stay with us,it is such a great pleasure to us when our guests enjoyed and feel at home .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seremban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

were the early bird that had stayed knock knock home, definitely,coming back again this year for X'mas gathering with my siblings, situated in a good location, across the street is the church of St Francis Xaxier and within the vicinity is the oldest church of St Peter, to attend masses is not an issue. Behind knock knock home is the main street of bunga raya, where you still find good shopping variety of "nyonya suite" and sarong kebaya that truly the traditional of the peranakan costumes. Dont be surprise, u get to have good choice of varieties of roasted meat, cendol store to quench your thirst after a short walk at noon. Another stone throw away is the busy jonker walk , u get to pass thru those a row of heritage building, u get to smell good oyster egg omelette,delicious fried lobak cake, to fill your tummy before reaching jonker walk..isn't it appetising!.. Can't wait need to go now.....mem. Knock knock home will be my choice for Melaka trip..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wongfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Really grateful for your wonderful review,Yes,Malacca is still a nice old town to shop for all kind of unique traditions stuff,will shown you more on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Highly recommended by word of mouth, I didn't have much expectations about the place. The location is great, just a stone's throw from the famous Jonker's Walk. What's charming about the location is that walking from Knocknock to Jonker's Walk takes you through why Malacca earned Unesco World Heritage status. Jonker's is to me really cheesy with the tacky shops selling souvenirs and most tourists will not be able to see the genuine old world Malacca if you didn't stay at Knocknock. The walk takes you through living old world trade shops such as ironsmiths, wholesalers, godowns, gold jewellery makers, shoemakers and dusty old shops which, judging from the age of the people have been there for decades and before that, their forefathers. It's the sound of the ironsmith hammering away which is truly
charming. Knocknock in itself is truly charming, with the owners executing minimal renovations to maintain the dignity of the building, The entire second floor of an old terrace house/shophouse is converted into living quarters for guests. There you will find a huge space with a truly unique bathroom (this you have to see to believe) with seating area, TV viewing area and a room partitioned off with aircond. The room is large enough to accomodate a small family and up to 4 adults. The downside of staying here though is that in the wee hours of the morning, it can get quite noisy as people living around there will be pushing their carts out to begin the day's trade.This in itself can be quite charming if one is looking for a genuine old world city experience. Who knows, you may just be tempted to take an early morning stroll down to follow the traders and see where they are peddling their wares.

Room Tip: No room to choose, the entire upstairs is all yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review.Yes,the entire upper floor with one Spacious family room is all yours when you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2011

An unforgettable place to stay with a Huge Bathroom with no doors and walls. Only blinds as doors. Stayed here with my family and we have the whole floor to ourselves. So doing anything is very convenient and made us feel closer to each other. They have wi-fi, TV, DVD player and projector to have a great Movie night with family and friends.

It's just 5-10 minutes walking distance to Jonker-Street. So walking to Jonker is more convenient than to hunt for parking during heavy traffic and you can even enjoy and appreciate the historical streets and building.

The owner of Knocknock, Gus and Augustus are very easy-going and friendly. Unlike other guesthouse owners, they will bring you to nice places to eat instead of recommending verbally. So going around in Melaka is very much enjoyable with them.

This place is very much now my 2nd Home in Melaka. You WON'T REGRET staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelynaSiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
It is truly an honor for us that our place made you felt like your 2nd home,hope to see you & your family again soon.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Knocknock is right in the middle of Malacca heritage area, a few metres from the riverbank and set in an old Chinese shophouse in a narrow back street. It is a true homestay. The owner, Augustine, lives downstairs and guests stay in a huge room upstairs, newly furnished but maintaining the original Chinese style. If you are into shower parties, this is the place for it - you could accomodate a football team in the shower room! Augustine and his partner are really friendly people and showed me where to get soft shell crab - yummy - for dinner. Note for Westerners - the more scruffy the restaurant, the better the food. Chinese do not waste too much time on cleaning and paint is unheard of, but you will not get an upset stomach because all food is fresh and freshly cooked. Knocknock itself is spotless clean and very quiet at night so I had a good night's sleep ready for exploring the quaint back lanes and miniature shops the next day. Bring a big backpack because this is great place for buying strange curios and weird Chinese foodstuffs and spices. An excellent place for an interesting weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliandhatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review,we will try to find more good eatery for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
702 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
588 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#3 of 167 in Melaka
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knocknock Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knocknock Home

Property: Knocknock Home
Address: 10E Jalan Taman Kota Laksamana | Jalan Laksamana 2, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Knocknock Home and "tiny Knocknock",cosy accommodation very close to the core zone of the Malacca UNESCO World Heritage Site and just a stone's throw away from all the city's major attraction. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing