We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Palace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Ranked #19 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I read about this hotel from Tripadvisor with good comment and decided to spend a night at Malacca in order to get a way to go back KL.

I had driving with guide of Google Map and finally found the place... Suprise... the outlook of hotel is granted and like Palace (my own feeling la...). This already attractive me to further explore what another suprise for me in next.

After checked in, I have booked with Superior Room with MYR510 total, Yes expensive cause this is only Bontique categories but we were travelling during School Holiday. So, no choice. Ok, another suprise for me! The Room is BIG and CLEAN, bed is comfortable (King Bed) +++ Toilet floor and wall are made by pepple wash, it is really nice looks and feeling... some more there is Jacuzzi available. Overall, the room facility is match with the money I paid during the school holiday, satisfy!

Breakfast, you cannot compare with HOTEL quality since this is bontique category. However, the price we paid seems not match and this is what I complaint for myself. They provided not much choices for us and I just took a bit noodle & eggs. Some more the coffee not taste. I have checked back with the price if during NON Peak Days, there is about MYR260++... I just feel this is not consider worth also if compare with Hotel breakfast...

Conclusion, I will go back this hotel with my family, nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ivanchan_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    166
    72
    24
    16
See reviews for
134
128
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hotel is about 5-10min walk from Jonker Street. The famous Capitol Satay Celup is just a stone throw away.
Excellent service they have there. Staff is friendly and helpful. More importantly, they never fail to put on a smile. Two thumbs up! Keep it up!

Room is a bit pricely but nice and clean!
Need to improve on the breakfast though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janisheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our friends had booked us at this newly opened boutique hotel. It has a very colonial outlook. Rooms were decent. I had one twin room and a double room. Unfortunately the aircondition in the twin room was very poor. But the service from the staff made up for the bad experience. They put a powerful cooler in the room which helps. Breakfast was good too for a boutique hotel. Nice environment and smiling staff. It's situated near to Malacca's little India and about 5 to 8 mins walk to the famous Jonker street. If you have a family of 5 they do have a family room that' fits but it's limited so need to reserve earlier or call to check.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysian
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Honestly, we plan to stay at Hotel which have facilities and sea facing but end up we decided to give a try at this boutique hotel which open in Year 2011 and hidden at Little India.

We love the peaceful atmosphere of this hotel, clean room and strategic location. Short distance to Jonker Street / famous Capital Satay Celup and fried oyster along Jalan Bunga Raya

Overall, thumbs up for the awesome service provided by the hotel staff. (they were always friendly and prepared to give us time and attention. I wish to thanks: Dal & Singh by gave us a wealth of travel information of this Historical Town)

Room Tip: Choose room not facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ailee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel is somewhat hidden from the main road and you're able to avoid the jam that lead to Stadthuys and Jonker street. Ample of parking spaces for guests within the hotel compound. The downside of the car park is not shaded and not so convenient if raining. The room we had was spacious for 2 of us and the Internet speed is considerable good as the 3G services in Melaka is terrible. My room package included the breakfast, and you have the option to choose what you want to have from the menu.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanzhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

It's a shame that the main hotel facade is hidden from the main street, because it is quite grand by Melaka standards. It's my second time in this culinary paradise (I've been last year) but my first time staying at this hotel with my family.

There is free parking (uncovered and at your own risk), check-in was a breeze. The rooms that we were billeted 210-212 (adjoining) don't have any views and Rm 212 is larger than Rm 210. Breakfast wasn't as good and you have to choose between 4 different sets (Continental, Asian etc). It was quite simple, and I wished they had Melaka inspired breakfast. The service was pretty good and the staff very friendly, the room newish.

It's walking distance to Melaka's main attractions, 10-15 minutes walk to Portuguese and Dutch Quarters and a lesser distance to the Jonker Walk. Parking is difficult to find around these areas so it's much better to walk instead (bring an umbrella as Melaka is a notoriously warm and humid city).

Overall, The Sterling is quite a good place to stay overnight. The main drawback is the price which is I think a bit too much for Melaka. There are no swimming pools, and for 200USD a room/night with only basic amenities can sometimes be a deal breaker for most people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Spacious and well lit lobby lends itself to a sense of grandeur without the freezing air-con (like in Hatten) or the stuffiness (like in Equatorial). Corridor to the room (at least the one where I stayed) are along the side of the building and therefore has a view to the green around the hotel.
The Leyton room was comfortable and clean. Enjoyed the multiple shower heads (yea, I am easy to pleased).
Located at the intersection of Little India district and the historical Dutch enclave, walking is easy (but then Melaka is not exactly a very big place). The view from the rooftop isn't that great but that is not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank commodorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.3 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#8 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Property: The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 43 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing