We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel is somewhat hidden from the main road and you're able to avoid the jam that lead to Stadthuys and Jonker street. Ample of parking spaces for guests within the hotel compound. The downside of the car park is not shaded and not so convenient if raining. The room we had was spacious for 2 of us and the Internet speed is considerable good as the 3G services in Melaka is terrible. My room package included the breakfast, and you have the option to choose what you want to have from the menu.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanzhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    161
    66
    22
    12
See reviews for
126
122
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

It's a shame that the main hotel facade is hidden from the main street, because it is quite grand by Melaka standards. It's my second time in this culinary paradise (I've been last year) but my first time staying at this hotel with my family.

There is free parking (uncovered and at your own risk), check-in was a breeze. The rooms that we were billeted 210-212 (adjoining) don't have any views and Rm 212 is larger than Rm 210. Breakfast wasn't as good and you have to choose between 4 different sets (Continental, Asian etc). It was quite simple, and I wished they had Melaka inspired breakfast. The service was pretty good and the staff very friendly, the room newish.

It's walking distance to Melaka's main attractions, 10-15 minutes walk to Portuguese and Dutch Quarters and a lesser distance to the Jonker Walk. Parking is difficult to find around these areas so it's much better to walk instead (bring an umbrella as Melaka is a notoriously warm and humid city).

Overall, The Sterling is quite a good place to stay overnight. The main drawback is the price which is I think a bit too much for Melaka. There are no swimming pools, and for 200USD a room/night with only basic amenities can sometimes be a deal breaker for most people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Spacious and well lit lobby lends itself to a sense of grandeur without the freezing air-con (like in Hatten) or the stuffiness (like in Equatorial). Corridor to the room (at least the one where I stayed) are along the side of the building and therefore has a view to the green around the hotel.
The Leyton room was comfortable and clean. Enjoyed the multiple shower heads (yea, I am easy to pleased).
Located at the intersection of Little India district and the historical Dutch enclave, walking is easy (but then Melaka is not exactly a very big place). The view from the rooftop isn't that great but that is not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank commodorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

To be honest, I wanted to stay in a place with a balcony beside the Melaka River but they were all booked out. As a result I came across The Sterling.

The location is quite good as it's just a 2-3 minute walk to Christ Church Melaka and the beginning of Jonker Walk. The hotel is clean and reasonably modern inside. It has a nice heritage exterior as well. The room was really big and the bed was comfortable. The shower...was confusing - too many settings. The staff were quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Next_Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sterling Melaka for 1 night. The room was nice and jacuzzi was inside the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. We took a cab from Melaka Sentral for 20RM which we felt was quite expensive. A cheaper alternative would be Panorama Bus 17 from Melaka Sentral which takes about 20 minutes to the clock tower just opposite Jonker Street. From there it's about 7 minutes walk to the hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The major attractions in Melaka are within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amykanyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a nice hotel set in a colonial style building with large modern rooms, fairly minimalist style. Location is good and very central to Malacca's tourist attractions. Reception staff were very friendly and room was fine, although wifi was unreliable. Our only concern was that management of the restaurant seemed chaotic and breakfast was both very slow and poor quality. If you stay here I'd recommend not taking breakfast as there are plenty of cafes in Malacca which would be better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel as the ones at the front might be rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Booked a 2-night stay over the Good Friday long weekend. Nice location to experience the charm of shophouses at Little India which is a little short street. It looks colonial but was only built 2 years ago. Parking is very safe within the hotel compound.

Excellent location, quiet and away from the crowd but yet all the nearby attractions just around the corner - Christ Church is 7 mins stroll, Jonker Street 9 mins, St Paul 10 mins, Dataran Pahlawan Mall around 12 mins.

The rooms are clean and new. Much better than most Malaysian hotels. Pretty small and basic hotel with no additional facilities like gym or pool. We absolutely love the staff there, very friendly and volunteered to take care of our needs (very rare in Malaysian hotels).

A minus would be the breakfast - it is a set main course (choice of Western, local or Healthy), with free flow of bread, croissant, tarts, juice and cereals. A simple buffet spread would perhaps be better.

Price-wise against the value returned, maybe a bit on the higher side.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watertay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.3 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,910 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Property: The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 43 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing