We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Literally a hidden gem in Melaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Ranked #26 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed May 11, 2014

It's a shame that the main hotel facade is hidden from the main street, because it is quite grand by Melaka standards. It's my second time in this culinary paradise (I've been last year) but my first time staying at this hotel with my family.

There is free parking (uncovered and at your own risk), check-in was a breeze. The rooms that we were billeted 210-212 (adjoining) don't have any views and Rm 212 is larger than Rm 210. Breakfast wasn't as good and you have to choose between 4 different sets (Continental, Asian etc). It was quite simple, and I wished they had Melaka inspired breakfast. The service was pretty good and the staff very friendly, the room newish.

It's walking distance to Melaka's main attractions, 10-15 minutes walk to Portuguese and Dutch Quarters and a lesser distance to the Jonker Walk. Parking is difficult to find around these areas so it's much better to walk instead (bring an umbrella as Melaka is a notoriously warm and humid city).

Overall, The Sterling is quite a good place to stay overnight. The main drawback is the price which is I think a bit too much for Melaka. There are no swimming pools, and for 200USD a room/night with only basic amenities can sometimes be a deal breaker for most people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 416 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

Spacious and well lit lobby lends itself to a sense of grandeur without the freezing air-con (like in Hatten) or the stuffiness (like in Equatorial). Corridor to the room (at least the one where I stayed) are along the side of the building and therefore has a view to the green around the hotel.
The Leyton room was comfortable and clean. Enjoyed the multiple shower heads (yea, I am easy to pleased).
Located at the intersection of Little India district and the historical Dutch enclave, walking is easy (but then Melaka is not exactly a very big place). The view from the rooftop isn't that great but that is not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank commodorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

To be honest, I wanted to stay in a place with a balcony beside the Melaka River but they were all booked out. As a result I came across The Sterling.

The location is quite good as it's just a 2-3 minute walk to Christ Church Melaka and the beginning of Jonker Walk. The hotel is clean and reasonably modern inside. It has a nice heritage exterior as well. The room was really big and the bed was comfortable. The shower...was confusing - too many settings. The staff were quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Next_Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sterling Melaka for 1 night. The room was nice and jacuzzi was inside the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. We took a cab from Melaka Sentral for 20RM which we felt was quite expensive. A cheaper alternative would be Panorama Bus 17 from Melaka Sentral which takes about 20 minutes to the clock tower just opposite Jonker Street. From there it's about 7 minutes walk to the hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The major attractions in Melaka are within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amykanyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a nice hotel set in a colonial style building with large modern rooms, fairly minimalist style. Location is good and very central to Malacca's tourist attractions. Reception staff were very friendly and room was fine, although wifi was unreliable. Our only concern was that management of the restaurant seemed chaotic and breakfast was both very slow and poor quality. If you stay here I'd recommend not taking breakfast as there are plenty of cafes in Malacca which would be better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel as the ones at the front might be rather noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Booked a 2-night stay over the Good Friday long weekend. Nice location to experience the charm of shophouses at Little India which is a little short street. It looks colonial but was only built 2 years ago. Parking is very safe within the hotel compound.

Excellent location, quiet and away from the crowd but yet all the nearby attractions just around the corner - Christ Church is 7 mins stroll, Jonker Street 9 mins, St Paul 10 mins, Dataran Pahlawan Mall around 12 mins.

The rooms are clean and new. Much better than most Malaysian hotels. Pretty small and basic hotel with no additional facilities like gym or pool. We absolutely love the staff there, very friendly and volunteered to take care of our needs (very rare in Malaysian hotels).

A minus would be the breakfast - it is a set main course (choice of Western, local or Healthy), with free flow of bread, croissant, tarts, juice and cereals. A simple buffet spread would perhaps be better.

Price-wise against the value returned, maybe a bit on the higher side.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watertay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The staff at The Sterling is nice and attentive, no questions asked. They are the best of this hotel. It is over priced for what you get it terms of infrastructure. The location is great but there is no pool. Restaurant is so so, and the second room balcony would be nice if open to public (it is accesible but bar is closed and there is nothing else but dust and a nice view). You can get rooms as nice as this at the same price or cheaper with nice pool (which is a huge plus in hot Melaka) in nearby hotels . The rooms are OK, nothing very special. The breakfast is less than OK, poor choice of bread, fake fruit juice, bad coffee. Was expecting much more for the price. Overall, our stay here was not bad, but we will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maca222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#18 of 167 in Melaka
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 43 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $46 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing