We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Nearby Hotels
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $56/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Melaka(Melaka)
$50
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
RC Hotel(Melaka)
$53
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$75
$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
$43
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wayfarer Guest House(Melaka)(Great Value!)
$31
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$143
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
$176
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveler rating
88
206
108
34
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
206
108
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle indiaoutdoor jacuzzicapitol satay celupjonker streetnice showerrain showerprivate parkingshower headspacious roomplus pointearly checkpleasant staydutch squareshort triptourist attractionsnight marketfacade
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 461 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Spacious and well lit lobby lends itself to a sense of grandeur without the freezing air-con (like in Hatten) or the stuffiness (like in Equatorial). Corridor to the room (at least the one where I stayed) are along the side of the building and therefore has a view to the green around the hotel.
The Leyton room was comfortable and clean. Enjoyed the multiple shower heads (yea, I am easy to pleased).
Located at the intersection of Little India district and the historical Dutch enclave, walking is easy (but then Melaka is not exactly a very big place). The view from the rooftop isn't that great but that is not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank commodorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

To be honest, I wanted to stay in a place with a balcony beside the Melaka River but they were all booked out. As a result I came across The Sterling.

The location is quite good as it's just a 2-3 minute walk to Christ Church Melaka and the beginning of Jonker Walk. The hotel is clean and reasonably modern inside. It has a nice heritage exterior as well. The room was really big and the bed was comfortable. The shower...was confusing - too many settings. The staff were quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Next_Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sterling Melaka for 1 night. The room was nice and jacuzzi was inside the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. We took a cab from Melaka Sentral for 20RM which we felt was quite expensive. A cheaper alternative would be Panorama Bus 17 from Melaka Sentral which takes about 20 minutes to the clock tower just opposite Jonker Street. From there it's about 7 minutes walk to the hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The major attractions in Melaka are within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amykanyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a nice hotel set in a colonial style building with large modern rooms, fairly minimalist style. Location is good and very central to Malacca's tourist attractions. Reception staff were very friendly and room was fine, although wifi was unreliable. Our only concern was that management of the restaurant seemed chaotic and breakfast was both very slow and poor quality. If you stay here I'd recommend not taking breakfast as there are plenty of cafes in Malacca which would be better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the hotel as the ones at the front might be rather noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Booked a 2-night stay over the Good Friday long weekend. Nice location to experience the charm of shophouses at Little India which is a little short street. It looks colonial but was only built 2 years ago. Parking is very safe within the hotel compound.

Excellent location, quiet and away from the crowd but yet all the nearby attractions just around the corner - Christ Church is 7 mins stroll, Jonker Street 9 mins, St Paul 10 mins, Dataran Pahlawan Mall around 12 mins.

The rooms are clean and new. Much better than most Malaysian hotels. Pretty small and basic hotel with no additional facilities like gym or pool. We absolutely love the staff there, very friendly and volunteered to take care of our needs (very rare in Malaysian hotels).

A minus would be the breakfast - it is a set main course (choice of Western, local or Healthy), with free flow of bread, croissant, tarts, juice and cereals. A simple buffet spread would perhaps be better.

Price-wise against the value returned, maybe a bit on the higher side.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watertay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews