We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet nook, tucked away in Little India”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Ranked #22 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A quiet nook, tucked away in Little India”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We love the fact that it's just a few hundred yards from the city centre (Jonker Street) and that it's tucked away from the main road. We were delighted to find a parking bay reserved for us when we arrived. The hotel is fairly new and amazing to know that it was previously a car park! The exterior is done up in a vaguely Georgian style, but the rooms are modern with a lot of black and dark colours used. I think the rooms are only on two floors (the first and second), so there was no issue with noise. Amazing shower with lots of dials. The staff were attentive and friendly, and the breakfast was good.

Because of the white used for the exterior (and it is difficult to maintain the white in the tropics), it probably needs another lick of paint now. (There were bits yellowing on the front façade.)

Room Tip: Because of the busy city centre location, there won't be much of a view. I think all rooms are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natkretep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    183
    84
    29
    18
See reviews for
151
141
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stumbled upon this boutique hotel while looking for a hotel for a short 2-nights getaway with the family. Based on the pictures on their website, I thought it was located in a restored colonial building (and I was expecting that). It turns out that this is a brand new building built in late 2011.

Finding the hotel was not too difficult with the GPS and the location is actually really good being so close to Jonker street.

Check in
Fuss-free process. Since it was rather quiet at the hotel, we didn't have to wait and the entire process took less than 10 minutes. We were give vouchers for 2 complimentary drinks and rooms came with breakfast for 2.

Carpark
We drove and fortunately ample parking was available for all guests. There is a security post overlooking the carpark and so, safety was not an issue.

WiFi
Free wifi was available throughout the hotel. Speed was reasonably good and we had no trouble with their network.

Room
We chose The Leyton room. Room size was just OK as I was expecting a larger room base on the photos on the website. I was a little disappointed but it was still OK. Bathroom has frosted glass and was a tad too small - you couldn't leave the bathroom door open while using the washbasin. Shower stall is good and equipped with rain shower. The glass screen is rather transparent and occupants in the room can actually make out more than your silhouette. So beware if you are sharing rooms with someone "not too close".

Breakfast
Breakfast is at their restaurant on the roof (3rd floor). We went for breakfast at around 10am and there was only one other table occupied. There is no crowd (which is good) and the place was quiet (which is really nice). There is no buffet but just 4 set meal options for you to chose from. Choices are pretty OK - two kinds of continental breakfast sets (eggs, toast, bread, cereal), chinese porridge set and a local "nasi lemak" (fragrant rice with spicy curried chicken) set. The portion was pretty decent.

Overall
Service staff were all very helpful and nice. The only thing that is missing is a swimming pool. Then again, this is a boutique hotel. Definitely a hotel that I will visit again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttChet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed for a second weekend getaway and we were happy we chose the Sterling again. The Riley suites are lovely and as usual the service was impeccable. The breakfast menu has improved, and the location is very good - just far enough away from the mess.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bushmanparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala d'Or, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We loved the rooms, which were spacious. The staff was very courteous and helpful in providing directions. The service was impeccable. One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. Thank you so much for making our vacation wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Location : Finding this place was quite a breeze. A 10-min walk to the mall and a 5-min stroll to Jonker Walk (though we took the wrong turning and ended walking the long way).

Room: We took the Brighton suite with an outdoor jacuzzi. Room is spacious, however, note that the privacy screen in the bathroom could be a tad too sheer, you could see more than the outline of the person having a shower.
Bathroom amenities were from Etro and provided a luxurious touch. Free wifi which was great and the speed of the wifi was pretty good as well.

Pity the sundeck was more than partially sheltered, if not it will be a perfect place to get a tan there. However, no complaints about that as it rained the next day.

Breakfast: Good selection of breakfast choices. Amazing how one guy could run the show at the restaurant.

Overall, a good place to indulge in. Love the secure parking lots available. However, I've read reviews mentioning about the personalized service etc, much as I have no complaints about the service but it just felt like good standard of service but not so much of a WOW factor which I've expected. Nevertheless, a lovely place near but yet away from the bustling crowd.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillie_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed for one night with my family of 4. 2 adults and 2 young children.
We stayed in the leyton room which had one king bed. The room was clean and beds comfortable. The hotel is in a great location very close to Jonker Street and the historic part of Malacca. Breakfast was good, you have a choice of 5 set menu. Staff were helpful and friendly. The welcome drink was a nice touch.
The only thing that would of made it better would be a pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a beautiful, well kept, clean, and comfy hotel, in a fantastic location right next to Jonker Walk. The rooms are nicely done, and quite spacious. My only complaint is that I really don't think that the amount I paid for 2 nights warrants it.
One great thing about the place though is the restaurant on the roof, and the amazing breakfast. Great service, and the food was yum.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teedot00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#17 of 166 in Melaka
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Property: The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 43 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing