We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Ranked #23 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Shanghai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel in convenient location”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Sterling is a fairly new hotel and this means there is a clean, modern feel to the place. We stayed in a Windsor room and were more than happy with the size. It was comfortable with all the amenities. The shower room is particularly nice, despite the fact that we couldn't work out how to work the overhead shower! Our stupidity rather than a problem probably!

The manager was particularly friendly, but a couple of the receptionists could do with a little training on customer relations. I know we Westerners can be annoying, but a few more genuine smiles would make us feel more at home.

The hotel advertises use of a pool in a neighbouring complex, but this entails booking the hotel minibus and the manager would have to accompany us to get us in on his membership apparently! To cap it all, the swimming pool was not available on the day we wanted to go because of a private function. Or so we were told. It's not worth advertising a pool that's actually too complicated to get to.

Hotel breakfasts were fine. Not wonderful, but better than adequate. The waiting staff were very attentive and pleasant. The location of the restaurant gives views of the city. Very nice.

The location of the hotel is excellent for all things touristy and also for food. Chinatown was closed, which was to be expected at Chinese New Year, but we were directed to a wonderful Indian cafe nearby. The food was so good and so cheap!

There were some annoying aspects of the hotel, but I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The Windsor has two double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    180
    83
    28
    18
See reviews for
146
140
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at room #115 last weekend. The room is decent, abit small and tight. The bed ok, also quite small. No balcony. But my biggest complaint is that there is NO hot water, which is a major turnoff. At night, i quickly showered, shivering and the next morning, we just checked out without taking shower.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HueyShen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at The Sterling with our teenage daughters in adjoining family rooms; the rooms aren't huge but perfect for a night or two. The hotel is conveniently located near the old town, but nicely tucked away from the street noise. We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful, with the hotel manager kindly providing us a lift to the bus station when our taxi cab failed to show.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ggcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The reception is humbly situated on the left end of the entrance. Nothing exciting on the ground floor. Good accessibility to other areas of the hotel such as the Rooftop Breakfast place and the Balcony Bar. The layout of the hotel is quite pleasant and organised except for the long corridor and distance to your room if you are given the last few rooms towards the end of each wings of the hotel. They serve decent breakfast but if you are expecting continental buffet style then it is not the place for you. I would say the highlight would be the bathroom with a nice shower, the balcony (unique view of the street below), proper lighting and the security system (you are required to tag your keycard in order to gain access to different areas of the hotel).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The family room (Windsor Room) is very narrow and the 2 queens size beds taken up mostly the whole room space.

We complain to the hotel lady manager (Ms Faizura) and requested for an upgrade to a bigger room. She told us that they have many bigger rooms (Riley Room) with a king size bed and 2 single beds but she reluctant to upgrade for us. This is the WORST manage service hotel in Malacca and it does NOT FIT to be rate number 6 out of the overall hotels in Malacca as the main hospitality services by the manager also does not exist at ALL!!!

Triadvisor customer are advise NOT to choose this hotel and rate this the WORST customer hotel management service as they do not have a simple hospitality even from the lady MANAGER!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WTW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear WTW8

Thank you for highlighting your experience through Trip Advisor, which we take very seriously.

Here at The Sterling, our management is fully aware of the importance of service, and this in turn is passed on to all our colleagues to ensure service delivery is at its optimum.

From your description, I have ascertained that our Ms.Faizura (whom you have named in your complaint) did attend to your request when you checked into our Windsor room. The Windsor is a family sized room with 2 Queen beds and a separate walled bathroom and shower stall.

Incidentally, the weekend of your stay saw a high occupancy at our hotel, which is a norm on weekends. This coupled with our active promotion in this 'low seasonal' period of our 1st Anniversary promotion vouchers has seen a good pick up of our rooms.

In line with best practises of hotels in the industry, we also do practice complimentary upgrades whenever possible, understandably this is normally only possible on low occupancy periods.

Although we were running high, there was still a Riley Room (indoor jacuzzi) and a Brighton Room (outdoor Jacuzzi) available and I believe this was offered to you with the relevant surcharge but refused by your goodself.

I do hope you can understand that as a hotel with limited luxury rooms, these rooms become a much sought after premium especially on weekends.

The difference of a Riley room with indoor Jacuzzi and the Windsor on a weekend is only RM150 nett with our promotional offer, and I do hope you can return again and take advantage of this offer.

Sincerely
Tony Yew
Resident Manager
The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Imposing hotel centrally situated in Melaka.beautifully clean and very airy.Staff were very courteous and helpful.Nice size rooms. Unfortunately no swimming pool which would have been nice to cool off.Pleasant bar on the balcony.Breakfast was disappointing,no Nasi lemak available and I found it strange to have a Spanish omelette and sweet pancakes with cream on the same plate!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karate27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Karate27

Located within the heritage boundary zone do give us that edge as far as accessibility to the high visibility tourist sites such as the Dutch Square, Stadhuys, Christ Church, St.Paul's Hill and Jonker street (just to name a few).

The local eateries within china town is only a stone's throw away (with one very famous queue stretching experience too, that satay celup place!)

Being a small luxury boutique hotel, we try to be careful to ensure that we meet our guests expectations. Our set breakfast ensures that our guests get the hot served breakfast we promise as well as keeping wastage to a minimum.

Though small, we do not compromise on security and this is evident in the access card required for movement of guests in and out of the hotel. Our secured car park is locked at night, and access is available through our security personnel, all this in our effort to provide comfort and security to our guests.

Thank you for sharing your experience here in Trip Advisor, and we do hope that you will be able to visit us again sometime in the future.

Sincerely,
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Great service, nice room and clean place. We have made a short trip to Malacca over the weekend, what a lovely hotel we got! I like the hotel location, just 5 mins walking to Jonker Street! And the Capital Satay Celup, just next to the street!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khang Kai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Kai82,

Thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We can't thank our guest enough for sharing their experience, and we are glad that it all came very
nicely to you and your partner during your stay here!

Yes! Capitol satay Celup (the very famous one) is indeed round the corner, we just hope that you did not have to queue for 1 hour!!

Hope to see you again!

Sincerely
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#15 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Property: The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 43 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing