We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Good amenities, Friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Ranked #28 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was on a road trip to Malacca with my family. Upon arrival, I learnt from the friendly and helpful staff that it opened Nov 2011. The hotel is situated near Little India and there was a fragrance of spices - pleasant and not overpowering. It's a 10-15min walk to almost all the sights in Malacca - Jonker Walk, Christ Church historical site and museums etc. Parking can be challenging in he narrow streets so better to leave the car at the hotel.

Stayed at the Brighton Room which had an outdoor jacuzzi. Great for couples or families with kids. The room is very spacious and clean. We had an additional bed for the kids and there was still room for them to run around. The beds were comfortable and basic toiletries were provided. The hotels rooms are situated on levels 1 & 2 with level 3 for the small but cozy restaurant called the Loft.

We had breakfast at the Loft, a typical American breakfast. There was some view of the city as most builds are low rise.

Recommended as it located in a good spot and the rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ackteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear ackteo,

Thank you for your review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor.

We are almost 1 year old now and we have lined up some promotions to celebrate our 1st anniversary.

This would not be possible if guests like yourself do not share your experience with others who do not know us at all.

Located within the Heritage Zone of Historical Heritage Melaka (our hotel is within the boundary and is restricted by height), The Sterling is well within walking distance to most historical sites.
We have also started a walking tour for our in-house guests should they choose to use this service for a minimal charge.

Recognising that there are different categories of visitors to Melaka, here we provide a selection of 5 different types of rooms to cater to the solo traveler, the loving couple or families. With 17 rooms having their own private jacuzzi, kicking back after a long day exploring Melaka becomes an option. For those with enough time, ask for our transport to go out for an hour or two of sun by the pool by the sea!

All in, The Sterling aims to make your visit a memorable one.

Sincerely,
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 430 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Checked-in and stayed 1 night at the Riley Room, a cosy, comfortable and elegant room. This room comes with a in-room private jacuzzi fit for 2 adults, huge space, cable TV, personal vault, on-request iron and iron board and basic necessities.

Bed: Comfortable bed and pillow. 4 stars out of 5

Room sound barrier: almost perfect. 5 stars out of 5

Toilet: Just nice. 3.5 stars out of 5

Jacuzzi cleanliness: clear stain appears, long hair found, have to clean myself :( 2 stars out of 5

Air-conditioning: almost perfect, adjustable and comfortable. 4.5 stars out of 5

Cable TV program: Just nice, no documentary / education / children channel. 3 stars out of 5

Internet / Wifi: Free & speed is good, great! 5 stars out of 5

Service: Check-in / out was perfect, special commendation to Mr. Keith Tan who has shown great professionalism, dedication and 101% customer-oriented service.

Overall: Slightly expensive / might return only if there are no more hotels available

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday_phreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear holiday_phreak

Thank you for sharing your views and experience here on Trip Advisor.

Our jacuzzi in room do have a number of water outlet as well as bubble jets and it is possible that from the water backflow some loose impediments may get entangled at the jet.

We have taken steps to remedy the situation by imposing mandatory cleaning and maintenance by our maintenance staff once a week, this in addition to the daily cleaning by housekeeping chamber personnel.

We would also like to thank you for singling out Mr.Keith Tan, our Management trainee who has shown impeccable customer service, based on the feedback we have received from you and other guests.

We will continue to lead our personnel in order to ensure that customers like yourself would have a pleasant experience when visting Melaka and staying here at The Sterling.

Sincerely,

Tony Yew
Resident Manager
The Sterling, Malacca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Family trip of 4 and staying at their family room of 2 queen beds. I love it away from the bustling centre of jonker street and yet walking distance to there. Allow the moments of peace and relax feel when back to the hotel. TOny, one of the hotel partners has gone extra miles to make our stay extremely pleasant and memorable. Directing us all good local foods around without any mentioning of trying out their food at the cafe - all at guest good will. Their inhouse transport service are cheap and bring us round to places we need so no issue on transportation if you don't drive there. Room is clean and bed is comfortable. Attention to details to make customer stay pleasant has been top priority. My niece complain of pillow soft for her, next moment we returned back to room, we have the foam pillow at the bed. It may not be the cheapest hotel in Malacca but their service are top notch. I will definitely be back and this would be my first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pheng2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Pheng2

One aspect of The Sterling, Malacca's focus is to provide our guest with a standard of service that is expected of such a luxury boutique hotel as far as possible.

As such, when the feedback from guests was that local transportation through street taxis took time to call, the hotel started its own transportation service to guests at local fares to provide the much needed timely service.

We also do recognise that one of the attractions was the gourmet appeal of local food culture, hence our rooftop diner (The Loft) focuses on east meets west fare and ultimately has its own followers for the packaged romantic rooftop dinners and other western appeals such as our Lamb Shank and signature Sterling Classic Caesar salad.

Having a senior team of management that have been exposed to 5 star service through varied exposure of top notch 5 star brands, we do inculcate a culture of 'going the extra mile' to meet guest's demands, and this cascades down to all our staff.

We are extremely happy that you cared to share your experience with readers of Trip Advisor, which has certainly contributed to our ranking of Malacca's 6th best hotel by readers of Trip Advisor, and wish that you will stay here again in your next trip.

Sincerely
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

my partner and I went to Malacca in June for a 3 night stays for attending conference and holiday at the same time. Its a new and modern design hotel in the middle of the heritage building. it was a comfortable and happy stay and the price is durable. the location is near to major tourist attraction by walking distance. The staff also give a good helping hand whereabouts to find food and direction to our conference as we reach there at midnight. the room is new and clean. What i like most is their courtesy and friendliness. What impressed me was the shower, interesting device, u will understand when u stay in the hotel and tried the shower . There was also room with Jacuzzi. Looking forward to go for next holiday stay in the hotel and to try the jacuzzi room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackson_kong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Jackson_Kong

Thank you indeed for sharing your thoughts of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are pleasantly surprised that you still have us in your mind despite staying with us in June.

We have had great feedback about our showers and our jacuzzis. These are just two of the reasons why our rooms are designed for those wishing to pamper themselves. Our modern living concept interiors were made with this in mind.

Our staff are reminded that service is of utmost importance to ensure that guests leave happy.

We thank you once again and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We found the hotel lacked ambience. The exterior looks elegant, but the interior lacks character. The room decor was 1970's stripes. Carpet was old and worn. Service in the restaurant was unfocused.

The hotel was difficult to get to because of the traffic and one way streets. By foot, the location was good.

Not good value for the high price charged.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Amar K,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel.

Our rooms are designed for those looking for comfort away from the many other themed
boutique hotels available in Melaka, hence the glass walled showers and also other modern amenities placed in the room.

Unfortunately, we acknowledge that our design may not suit everyone, but again, focus is on location and comfort, enabling our guests to explore the historical city of Melaka, yet returning to the comforts of their room.

Due to our location(within the Heritage zone), streets cannot accommodate the heavy traffic into the heritage zone of historical Melaka city more so on weekends. As such, with ample parking space in our hotel exploring the narrow streets of Jonker and Heeren (and the likes of it) becomes a natural choice. As for the street traffic, almost all streets in the Heritage Zone are one way.

We do however appreciate if you can advise on your exact meaning of 'unfocussed service' in the hotel, and do welcome feedback in order for us to overcome this.
You may email this directly to me tonyyew@thesterling.my

Thank you once again.

Sincerely
Tony Yew
Resident Manager
The Sterling, Malacca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Booked 2 Riley rooms and was very pleased with the spacious room which include a jacuzzi in the bathroom. The cleanliness of the room was excellent. The manager (Tony) and staff were very approachable and helpful. Private parking and wifi are also available for free. Will definitely be back very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear acytay,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your recent stay in Melaka.

Here at The Sterling, Malacca our managers are constantly on the floor ensuring that the best possible service is delivered to our guests and this is done by leadership through years of experience in the industry.

We are most happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay, and sharing this with the trip advisor community is certainly a pleasant surprise.

We do hope that you will return soon.

Sincerely,
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived early and expected just to leave our bag and go sightseeing. The Manager approached us and chatted for a few minutes about the town and thn organized an upgrade and our keys so that we coud refresh ourselves before setting out.
Our room was lovely and very spacious.
We were given a voucher for free welcome drinks and the hotel has unlimited free wifi.
The Manager could not have been more helpful, even offering me an umbrella to protect from the hot sun. He also arranged a te check out the next day so we could continue looking around without luggage and shower before leaving.
The location was excellent for Old Malacca Town just a 5 minute stroll away.
An excellent experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silversaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Silversaint,

Thank you for sharing your experience with those who have yet been to Melaka.

Like any other hotels, rooms are prepared only after check out hence our hotel practices a 3.00pm check in to allow adequate cleaning of each room. However, it is also a practise for our staff to allow early check in when rooms are available.

Our Manager merely thought that being first timers to Melaka, time should not be wasted simply by waiting for your room. We are most happy to extend check out times whenever rooms are available, as in your case.

All in all, we are most happy to have done our part to make your visit to Melaka, and ultimately to Malaysia a memorable one.

Sincerely,
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.5 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 168 in Melaka
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 168 in Melaka
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#20 of 168 in Melaka
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#39 of 168 in Melaka
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 43 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $45 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing