We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Marvelux Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marvelux Hotel
Ranked #42 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Malacca, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

i am from melaka and i stayed at this hotel as my house was under renovation. the prices for rooms are really reasonable compared to other hotels in melaka. melaka has become such a famous touristy spot that hotels are blooming everywhere.
marvelux rooms although not fantastic are superbly clean and fresh. amenities are ample and a good value for the price you pay.
i got to know ms evon of reservations who is really kind and makes your stay extra special. breakfast is also good and ample to fill the stomach.
all in all a good value for convenient location which is accessible to all major attractions

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gunsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    48
    64
    8
    10
See reviews for
60
36
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Johore Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nice hotel with nice staff. won't forget their hospitality... check in and out was fast and easy. although was quite far from central malacca but wasn't really a problem since we travel by our own transport. stay in their family room with 2 adults, 3 kids (2-7 years old) and one baby. the room was cozy..... my kids love staying in the room. breakfast was good and staff service was excellent. hope to stay there again. thank you marvelux for the nice and efficient service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeklaSuhaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

First off, I'd like to say that I really like the spacious and comfortable rooms. It was perfect for my family (with baby in tow). Let me list out the pros and cons:

What's good:
1. Very clean, spacious, modern rooms with modern amenities.
2. Two TVs, so some get to rest while the others can watch TV without disturbing them.
3. Tight security with RFID tagged room card keys.
4. Value for money.
5. Great security for your car if you're driving

What's not so good:
1. I still can't believe the counter staff told me there's only ONE baby cot in the hotel. Were they expecting only one family to visit at any one time? Makes me wonder why they have more than one family room in this hotel. Our baby had to sleep in a couch leaned against the bed.
2. RFID tagged card keys meant only 1 key for the room. Not adequate for a family if a few should decide to go out late nights and come back without disturbing the rest. Or else those remaining in the room have to sleep without airconditioning?
3. Weird wardrobe design: They've got this panel in front of the hanging rack, presumably to conceal the clothing hung there, but it would be great if this could swivel to open and close. Else, it's very ergonomically challenging to even hang our clothing in the wardrobe.
4. A little far off from central Malacca but since we drove here, this was not an issue.
5. Lousy breakfast. Lots of flies in the cafe.

Room Tip: Near to the road, so try to opt for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanjtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent a day in Melaka at the Marvelux. The hotel was nowhere worth the amount charged (about 210 MYR).

a) For starters, the hotel is far away from the city center and tourist attractions.
b) The rooms are basic and do not even have basic amenities like a safe, wardrobe, not even a notepad.
c) The room was full of mosquitoes and cockroaches, and when we requested for a repellent, we were given a room freshner!!
d) There were noises at the hotel all through the night, over and above the traffic noises heard even on the 4th floor.

Overall, the service, amenities and location were more to the standard of a budget hotel, if at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suchetasundar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. The rate was reasonable, but not particularly good value for a budget hotel (about 300MYR). The rooms were very new and clean, but very sparsely equipped and simple. The hotel is in a newly developed area, so the location is quite far from central Melaka. There is a shuttle from the hotel to the central area, but it is still far better to drive. Free wi-fi and a simple breakfast is provided, which is nice. Overall a good stay for the night, but I wouldn't recommend staying more than 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Overnight stay at Marvelux Hotel . It's basically a 3 star hotel built about a year ago in 2011.Had a bit of problem locating the hotel as my Garmin GPS device could not seem to find the coordinates published on hotel web sites. A good marker is the Bai Zhan restaurant nearby (it's a white sign on a white building !!!) - when u see it at a traffic light on yr left turn right and Marvelux is right in front about 150m away.

We booked a large family suite for 4 pax which was very spacious with two double beds and two LCD tv sets . Rooms were clean and bed was comfy. There was a nice large shower which was a godsend after a hot day in Jonker street.

No restaurants within 50m so until the new shophouses across the road are completed likely in mid 2013. Jonker street is only a 10 min drive away so I suggest your fill your tummies before heading back hotel.

Room came with excellent wifi and surprisingly good spread of buffet breakfast. Downside is no pool just a small gym . I would recommend it for a short stay for family with teens.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June08ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Overall it's quick good at the price of SGD90 per room. It's a bit far from the centre, but not a problem for me since I've been driving there. Not much to be expected for breakfast, but the variety should be enough for you. It's near to the seashore as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelSui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Swan Garden Hotel
Swan Garden Hotel
#63 of 166 in Melaka
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#20 of 166 in Melaka
162 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#32 of 166 in Melaka
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Supreme Hotel Melaka
Supreme Hotel Melaka
#115 of 166 in Melaka
21 reviews
1.4 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#36 of 166 in Melaka
34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#33 of 166 in Melaka
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marvelux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marvelux Hotel

Property: Marvelux Hotel
Address: No. 6 Jalan KLU 1 | Taman Kota Laksamana Utama, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marvelux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marvelux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing