We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly Disappointing food since last visit”

Bei Zhan Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 662 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tel: 062812684 famous food includes braised pork with steamed buns, bei zhan fried rice, deep fried prawns in salad sauce, yam paste
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointing food since last visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We had visited this famous Chinese restaurant in the past & found their food very tasty although a little bit expensive. This trip, we order fried rice & seaweed soup but found them to be too salty for our taste. We could hardly finish half of both these two dishes.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    87
    27
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't order the cod fish... it costs me RM96”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

With a group of 7 persons, we ordered cod fish, curry vegetable, braised pork bun, vegetable, mamee pork, fried noodles, and the whole meal cost us RM244. The food was good, but felt the cod fish is overprice at RM96. We went there on a Friday afternoon lunch time and the place was not crowded. The service staff was friendly and helpful in recommending the dishes. To be fair, the cod fish was not recommended by the service staff but we ordered it on our own accord.

So if you are eating there, be sure to check out the seafood price before ordering.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LT A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

can try order braised fish head with chinese herbs n fried celery with smoke duck very nice n special .

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 6585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AWESOME! MUST GO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Really good food with very reasonable price. Service was good and fast.
If you are a foodie, this is a MUST TRY restaurant.
However, bring cash as they do not accept cedit cards. Go early as the restaurant can get busy very quickly. Open for lunch from 12-2:30pm and Dinner from 5:30pm.
Very nice ambience with high ceiling, whole restaurant is painted white and looks very clean. :-) WIll definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JETSETDLDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place for Chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Been here a few times and enjoyed the food and service. The friendly staff always greet you cordially and is efficient and attentive.

Restaurant is big, pleasant, clean and spacious. Menu is extensive and yes, their fish curry is one of their signature dishes. We like their crabs too. They are generally good with most seafood dishes. I especially love the fried brinjal with meat sauce. The stewed pork belly with steamed buns is popular among their guests but personally I feel it can be better and more tender and savoury.

Another reason to dine here is the price. It is rather reasonable for a restaurant of this class. It is definitely good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ganadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bei Zhan Restaurant also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Bei Zhan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing