We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A dissapointment.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #45 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A dissapointment.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Checking in was easy. What really ruined this hotel for me was the room. They assigned me to a room on the 1st floor. It was dirty! There were even ants on the mattress, the sheets were stained by god knows what. I requested for another room and they did so.
The rooms was really small, but what do you expect from a budget hotel. Parking is provided , and there's a cafe next door and i got a 10% discount. So, that was nice.
To conclude, i would not stay at this hotel if i were you. Sorry...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ar14arshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
29
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

It was clean, comfortable and within ealking distance of all amenities. Considering the price range, this was brilliant. I would have no qualms recomending the place or staying here again. Like the title said, this was great.

Helpful?
1 Thank ArvinDulku
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

My family and I spend a night at their new home stay, which accommodate for 6 pax at a budget price. Upon check in, a staff directed us to the home stay. The location of the home stay is within 10 minutes drive from Jonker Street.

The home stay is newly furbished and fully air-conditioning . It have 2 bedrooms, a living hall + dining hall, a kitchen and a bathroom. The apartment is equipped with a queen size bed (master bedroom), two single beds (2nd bedroom) and a sofa bed at living hall. The kitchen is also equipped with the cooking utensils, fridge, water filter, bowls, plates & cups. The bathroom is quite small and equipped with water heater,shower gel and shampoo.


Overall the apartment is clean and cozy. We really enjoyed our stay at the apartment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annagansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

They have above average services. Clean tiny rooms. For budget price. Pretty decent. But under no circumstance should anyone stay there. The ktvs next door are extremely loud. The low base penetrates the thin walls. You can even hear the reception phone rings.

No matter how decent is it. A room is for sleeping and when none of that can be achieve any amount no matter how low is thrown down the drain

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniellovestodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Subang Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

A budget-friendly hotel, this hotel is definitely worth it. Rooms are clean and fast wifi access is available.

I must commend on our receptionist, Siti Hawa. We have forgotten to redeem the deposit we made upon check-in (we paid in cash), but alas hours after we already checked out, Siti still contacted us to ensure we will still get the deposit. Excelllent customer service, I must say.

Overall it was really a nice stay, we will definitely consider coming back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to Singapore. We ended up at the wrong hotel but were directed to the right one by the staff. Rooms are small but clean. We had no hot water during our stay, we contacted reception twice who sent someone to check it and on both occasions said it was working. The rooms were quite noisy too. We asked the hotel to book a taxi for us at 7am but when we went down in the morning, the night staff were sleeping in reception and no taxi had been booked. We ended up walking to the top of the road and flagging one down. The hotel is located well out of the centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bouzylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Booked Superior Queen room online. Reach the hotel late and they upgrade my room to Deluxe Triple as the Superior queen were fully occupied. Very friendly staff and full of smiles while stay there. Clean room and bathroom. Just that the wall not soundproof. Quite noisy if you stay beside youngsters. Make sure you have a car if you stay in this hotel. That some time to reach The shopping centres and attractions. You can see Sunshine Inn Plus from the hotel but don't mistakenly check in to the wrong hotel. Overall the hotel is worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny87ngu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#17 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.9 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#48 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#39 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#25 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.2 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#35 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Property: Sunshine Inn
Address: No. 33 Jalan Melaka Raya 21, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Inn was established to create a hotel which provides a "home away from home" experience in Malacca. Be it business or pleasure that brings you to Malacca, the Sunshine Inn is the perfect destination for you. Located in the heart of Malaccan business, shopping and entertainment district at the prestigious Melaka Raya, Sunshine Inn offers you warm hospitality with impeccable services Sunshine Inn is designed as a lifestyle hotel, with uniquely designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sunshine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing