We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pointless”
Review of Sunshine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #58 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed April 18, 2014

They have above average services. Clean tiny rooms. For budget price. Pretty decent. But under no circumstance should anyone stay there. The ktvs next door are extremely loud. The low base penetrates the thin walls. You can even hear the reception phone rings.

No matter how decent is it. A room is for sleeping and when none of that can be achieve any amount no matter how low is thrown down the drain

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Daniellovestodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 77 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

A budget-friendly hotel, this hotel is definitely worth it. Rooms are clean and fast wifi access is available.

I must commend on our receptionist, Siti Hawa. We have forgotten to redeem the deposit we made upon check-in (we paid in cash), but alas hours after we already checked out, Siti still contacted us to ensure we will still get the deposit. Excelllent customer service, I must say.

Overall it was really a nice stay, we will definitely consider coming back.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Rhea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to Singapore. We ended up at the wrong hotel but were directed to the right one by the staff. Rooms are small but clean. We had no hot water during our stay, we contacted reception twice who sent someone to check it and on both occasions said it was working. The rooms were quite noisy too. We asked the hotel to book a taxi for us at 7am but when we went down in the morning, the night staff were sleeping in reception and no taxi had been booked. We ended up walking to the top of the road and flagging one down. The hotel is located well out of the centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bouzylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Booked Superior Queen room online. Reach the hotel late and they upgrade my room to Deluxe Triple as the Superior queen were fully occupied. Very friendly staff and full of smiles while stay there. Clean room and bathroom. Just that the wall not soundproof. Quite noisy if you stay beside youngsters. Make sure you have a car if you stay in this hotel. That some time to reach The shopping centres and attractions. You can see Sunshine Inn Plus from the hotel but don't mistakenly check in to the wrong hotel. Overall the hotel is worth the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danny87ngu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

There are two of these hotels in close proximity to each other. We ended up getting a taxi to the wrong one but a member of staff happily drove us to the correct hotel which was opposite the square. The location is fairly good and we were able to walk to the heritage sites within about 10-15 minutes, if you are finding the heat too much you can make a quick stop in the new mall which is on the way.

The rooms aren't huge but sufficiently sized if you are traveling light. Good facilities and staff were very friendly. We were given a discount voucher for breakfast at 'eggs+' which is close by and had some nice food. Overall nice rooms, friendly staff and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beadsbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a very cute hotel with great rooms (comfortable, clean and modern). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The value was exceptional. I wished I could have stayed longer!

The only fault about this place is the location. I strongly recommend staying here only if you have a car (which can be said generally about any hotel outside of the main centre).They have a dedicated hotel patron parking area which is a big help. It definitely isn't the easiest place to find even with the local help, so you should research carefully before you arrive. Also, do not get it confused with "Sunshine Inn +", which belongs to the same hotel chain but is definitely not the same hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

+++ Friendly staff, good rooms, clean. Bike rental available.

--- Locations is very difficult to find. Don´t try to go there by yourself after taking a bus into Melaka, you will spend at least 30mins walking. And be sure to rent a bike after that, by bike all the main sights are only 10mins away.

No breakfast included.

Room without window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wife_of_fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
1.8 mi away
AL33 Leisure Hotel
AL33 Leisure Hotel
#81 of 167 in Melaka
68 reviews
1.4 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#61 of 167 in Melaka
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#41 of 167 in Melaka
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Midcity Hotel Melaka
#100 of 167 in Melaka
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coastal Park Hotel
Coastal Park Hotel
#42 of 167 in Melaka
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: No. 33 Jalan Melaka Raya 21, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $19 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Inn was established to create a hotel which provides a "home away from home" experience in Malacca. Be it business or pleasure that brings you to Malacca, the Sunshine Inn is the perfect destination for you. Located in the heart of Malaccan business, shopping and entertainment district at the prestigious Melaka Raya, Sunshine Inn offers you warm hospitality with impeccable services Sunshine Inn is designed as a lifestyle hotel, with uniquely designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sunshine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing