We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #43 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to Singapore. We ended up at the wrong hotel but were directed to the right one by the staff. Rooms are small but clean. We had no hot water during our stay, we contacted reception twice who sent someone to check it and on both occasions said it was working. The rooms were quite noisy too. We asked the hotel to book a taxi for us at 7am but when we went down in the morning, the night staff were sleeping in reception and no taxi had been booked. We ended up walking to the top of the road and flagging one down. The hotel is located well out of the centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bouzylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
28
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Booked Superior Queen room online. Reach the hotel late and they upgrade my room to Deluxe Triple as the Superior queen were fully occupied. Very friendly staff and full of smiles while stay there. Clean room and bathroom. Just that the wall not soundproof. Quite noisy if you stay beside youngsters. Make sure you have a car if you stay in this hotel. That some time to reach The shopping centres and attractions. You can see Sunshine Inn Plus from the hotel but don't mistakenly check in to the wrong hotel. Overall the hotel is worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny87ngu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

There are two of these hotels in close proximity to each other. We ended up getting a taxi to the wrong one but a member of staff happily drove us to the correct hotel which was opposite the square. The location is fairly good and we were able to walk to the heritage sites within about 10-15 minutes, if you are finding the heat too much you can make a quick stop in the new mall which is on the way.

The rooms aren't huge but sufficiently sized if you are traveling light. Good facilities and staff were very friendly. We were given a discount voucher for breakfast at 'eggs+' which is close by and had some nice food. Overall nice rooms, friendly staff and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beadsbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a very cute hotel with great rooms (comfortable, clean and modern). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The value was exceptional. I wished I could have stayed longer!

The only fault about this place is the location. I strongly recommend staying here only if you have a car (which can be said generally about any hotel outside of the main centre).They have a dedicated hotel patron parking area which is a big help. It definitely isn't the easiest place to find even with the local help, so you should research carefully before you arrive. Also, do not get it confused with "Sunshine Inn +", which belongs to the same hotel chain but is definitely not the same hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

+++ Friendly staff, good rooms, clean. Bike rental available.

--- Locations is very difficult to find. Don´t try to go there by yourself after taking a bus into Melaka, you will spend at least 30mins walking. And be sure to rent a bike after that, by bike all the main sights are only 10mins away.

No breakfast included.

Room without window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wife_of_fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Walking distance to Mahkota Parade, Dataran Pahlawan, Menara Taming Sari (not exactly near but still walkable), there may be some dodgy hotels around the corner but overall Melaka Raya is not a bad place to stay if B&Bs and guest houses around jonker street are fully booked.
What more can I say? RM160+ for triple share, comes with hot shower, light breakfast and friendly staff. There are 24 hours restaurants around the corner so don't worry about getting hungry in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WeiLiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Hotel is clean and comfortable. Food places are within walking distance. If you need entertainment there are several pubs within walking distance. If you want to go sightseeing you would need transport, Walking to Dataran Pahlawan would take at least 25 minutes. The hotel has free parking available to all hotel guest. This is a plus point as most hotel in Melaka Raya area has no free parking spots.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.2 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#31 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
1.4 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#38 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#30 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#24 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#46 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Property: Sunshine Inn
Address: No. 33 Jalan Melaka Raya 21, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Inn was established to create a hotel which provides a "home away from home" experience in Malacca. Be it business or pleasure that brings you to Malacca, the Sunshine Inn is the perfect destination for you. Located in the heart of Malaccan business, shopping and entertainment district at the prestigious Melaka Raya, Sunshine Inn offers you warm hospitality with impeccable services Sunshine Inn is designed as a lifestyle hotel, with uniquely designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sunshine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing