We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”
Review of Sunshine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #53 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed March 9, 2014

There are two of these hotels in close proximity to each other. We ended up getting a taxi to the wrong one but a member of staff happily drove us to the correct hotel which was opposite the square. The location is fairly good and we were able to walk to the heritage sites within about 10-15 minutes, if you are finding the heat too much you can make a quick stop in the new mall which is on the way.

The rooms aren't huge but sufficiently sized if you are traveling light. Good facilities and staff were very friendly. We were given a discount voucher for breakfast at 'eggs+' which is close by and had some nice food. Overall nice rooms, friendly staff and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beadsbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Sunshine Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 77 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a very cute hotel with great rooms (comfortable, clean and modern). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The value was exceptional. I wished I could have stayed longer!

The only fault about this place is the location. I strongly recommend staying here only if you have a car (which can be said generally about any hotel outside of the main centre).They have a dedicated hotel patron parking area which is a big help. It definitely isn't the easiest place to find even with the local help, so you should research carefully before you arrive. Also, do not get it confused with "Sunshine Inn +", which belongs to the same hotel chain but is definitely not the same hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

+++ Friendly staff, good rooms, clean. Bike rental available.

--- Locations is very difficult to find. Don´t try to go there by yourself after taking a bus into Melaka, you will spend at least 30mins walking. And be sure to rent a bike after that, by bike all the main sights are only 10mins away.

No breakfast included.

Room without window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wife_of_fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Walking distance to Mahkota Parade, Dataran Pahlawan, Menara Taming Sari (not exactly near but still walkable), there may be some dodgy hotels around the corner but overall Melaka Raya is not a bad place to stay if B&Bs and guest houses around jonker street are fully booked.
What more can I say? RM160+ for triple share, comes with hot shower, light breakfast and friendly staff. There are 24 hours restaurants around the corner so don't worry about getting hungry in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WeiLiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Hotel is clean and comfortable. Food places are within walking distance. If you need entertainment there are several pubs within walking distance. If you want to go sightseeing you would need transport, Walking to Dataran Pahlawan would take at least 25 minutes. The hotel has free parking available to all hotel guest. This is a plus point as most hotel in Melaka Raya area has no free parking spots.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is clean, comfortable and good value. The highlight though was the receptionist, Siti Hewa. We probably passed her 5 or 6 times a day, and she always greeted us with a massive beaming smile. No request was too difficult and she was always happy to help. When we left she came out and waved us off.

The only real downside here is the location. It's a fair walk into town. Although you do have the exceptional Veggie Planet restaurant just around the corner...

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I booked Sunshine Inn because I read all the good reviews on Tripadvisor.. and I wasn't disappointed at all! The place is still relatively new - bright paint on the outside of the building, and nicely decorated rooms - small like budget hotels - but includes everything you need while travelling - bath towels, face towels, toothbrush+paste+comb set, coffee+tea+electric kettle, hair dryer. And there's space to put stuff! clothes rack, drawers.

I stayed in a standard twin room - it was very clean, no "after smell of smoke" (you get that a lot in budget hotels!). The shower was a rain shower connected to a water heater. everything worked well - no leaks, no sound of dripping, quiet air conditioner. The beds are comfortable, clean sheets, firm pillows.

The hotel was fully booked, but I couldn't hear a single sound from the rooms next to me. Only gripes were... I could hear some faint music coming from the disco nearby. And, the location of the hotel is not around the Jonker Street vicinity. Better for those who are driving (there's free parking for hotel guests in front of the inn).

I stayed during a public holiday - so the price paid was higher than the low-peak rate, it was more expensive that what I'd usually pay for a budget hotel. Still, it was worth it! Do give it a shot, if you are as wary of dodgy budget hotels as I am.. Sunshine Inn is a really good place!

Another plus point.. There's a bakery in the next building that sells really delicious jam tarts!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank milvoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
2.0 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#39 of 167 in Melaka
66 reviews
1.8 mi away
AL33 Leisure Hotel
AL33 Leisure Hotel
#79 of 167 in Melaka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#61 of 167 in Melaka
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coastal Park Hotel
Coastal Park Hotel
#41 of 167 in Melaka
7 reviews
1.2 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#63 of 167 in Melaka
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: No. 33 Jalan Melaka Raya 21, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $20 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Inn was established to create a hotel which provides a "home away from home" experience in Malacca. Be it business or pleasure that brings you to Malacca, the Sunshine Inn is the perfect destination for you. Located in the heart of Malaccan business, shopping and entertainment district at the prestigious Melaka Raya, Sunshine Inn offers you warm hospitality with impeccable services Sunshine Inn is designed as a lifestyle hotel, with uniquely designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunshine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing