We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, clean and modern rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunshine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #56 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, clean and modern rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a very cute hotel with great rooms (comfortable, clean and modern). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The value was exceptional. I wished I could have stayed longer!

The only fault about this place is the location. I strongly recommend staying here only if you have a car (which can be said generally about any hotel outside of the main centre).They have a dedicated hotel patron parking area which is a big help. It definitely isn't the easiest place to find even with the local help, so you should research carefully before you arrive. Also, do not get it confused with "Sunshine Inn +", which belongs to the same hotel chain but is definitely not the same hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
29
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

+++ Friendly staff, good rooms, clean. Bike rental available.

--- Locations is very difficult to find. Don´t try to go there by yourself after taking a bus into Melaka, you will spend at least 30mins walking. And be sure to rent a bike after that, by bike all the main sights are only 10mins away.

No breakfast included.

Room without window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wife_of_fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Walking distance to Mahkota Parade, Dataran Pahlawan, Menara Taming Sari (not exactly near but still walkable), there may be some dodgy hotels around the corner but overall Melaka Raya is not a bad place to stay if B&Bs and guest houses around jonker street are fully booked.
What more can I say? RM160+ for triple share, comes with hot shower, light breakfast and friendly staff. There are 24 hours restaurants around the corner so don't worry about getting hungry in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WeiLiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Hotel is clean and comfortable. Food places are within walking distance. If you need entertainment there are several pubs within walking distance. If you want to go sightseeing you would need transport, Walking to Dataran Pahlawan would take at least 25 minutes. The hotel has free parking available to all hotel guest. This is a plus point as most hotel in Melaka Raya area has no free parking spots.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is clean, comfortable and good value. The highlight though was the receptionist, Siti Hewa. We probably passed her 5 or 6 times a day, and she always greeted us with a massive beaming smile. No request was too difficult and she was always happy to help. When we left she came out and waved us off.

The only real downside here is the location. It's a fair walk into town. Although you do have the exceptional Veggie Planet restaurant just around the corner...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I booked Sunshine Inn because I read all the good reviews on Tripadvisor.. and I wasn't disappointed at all! The place is still relatively new - bright paint on the outside of the building, and nicely decorated rooms - small like budget hotels - but includes everything you need while travelling - bath towels, face towels, toothbrush+paste+comb set, coffee+tea+electric kettle, hair dryer. And there's space to put stuff! clothes rack, drawers.

I stayed in a standard twin room - it was very clean, no "after smell of smoke" (you get that a lot in budget hotels!). The shower was a rain shower connected to a water heater. everything worked well - no leaks, no sound of dripping, quiet air conditioner. The beds are comfortable, clean sheets, firm pillows.

The hotel was fully booked, but I couldn't hear a single sound from the rooms next to me. Only gripes were... I could hear some faint music coming from the disco nearby. And, the location of the hotel is not around the Jonker Street vicinity. Better for those who are driving (there's free parking for hotel guests in front of the inn).

I stayed during a public holiday - so the price paid was higher than the low-peak rate, it was more expensive that what I'd usually pay for a budget hotel. Still, it was worth it! Do give it a shot, if you are as wary of dodgy budget hotels as I am.. Sunshine Inn is a really good place!

Another plus point.. There's a bakery in the next building that sells really delicious jam tarts!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank milvoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked through Agoda and stayed at the Triple Deluxe room. There is also a Sunshine Inn + just opposite the field, so be careful when you are looking for the hotel. The room looks really new, bathroom tiles are spanking new and clean. Shower water pressure is ok.

Hotel does provide ample parking space at the empty field just facing the hotel. Located very close to Mahkota Parade mall, probably about 8-10mins drive. Other near locations you might want to visit are Capitol satay celup (10mins drive), Nadeje crepe cake (10mins) and Jonker Street (chicken rice ball, 10mins). Good thing about the hotel is it's near to famous landmarks while not at the busy main street, so you'd get a peaceful rest.

Internet speed is so so. Didn't try their breakfast so can't comment. Only gripe I had was the electrical box had a irritating buzzing sound, but they offered to change room. Next day the new room also had the same buzzing sound, but went away after I turned off and on the electrical supply.

Overall if you need a super clean hotel on a budget, I'd highly recommend this one.

on a side note, Sunshine Inn + which is located opposite is essentially the same, just with "more colors" according to one of the staff. Pricing wise still the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atty26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#30 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.0 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#42 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#19 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#55 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#48 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coastal Park Hotel
Coastal Park Hotel
#40 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Property: Sunshine Inn
Address: No. 33 Jalan Melaka Raya 21, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Inn was established to create a hotel which provides a "home away from home" experience in Malacca. Be it business or pleasure that brings you to Malacca, the Sunshine Inn is the perfect destination for you. Located in the heart of Malaccan business, shopping and entertainment district at the prestigious Melaka Raya, Sunshine Inn offers you warm hospitality with impeccable services Sunshine Inn is designed as a lifestyle hotel, with uniquely designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing