We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable!”
Review of Sunshine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #55 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I booked Sunshine Inn because I read all the good reviews on Tripadvisor.. and I wasn't disappointed at all! The place is still relatively new - bright paint on the outside of the building, and nicely decorated rooms - small like budget hotels - but includes everything you need while travelling - bath towels, face towels, toothbrush+paste+comb set, coffee+tea+electric kettle, hair dryer. And there's space to put stuff! clothes rack, drawers.

I stayed in a standard twin room - it was very clean, no "after smell of smoke" (you get that a lot in budget hotels!). The shower was a rain shower connected to a water heater. everything worked well - no leaks, no sound of dripping, quiet air conditioner. The beds are comfortable, clean sheets, firm pillows.

The hotel was fully booked, but I couldn't hear a single sound from the rooms next to me. Only gripes were... I could hear some faint music coming from the disco nearby. And, the location of the hotel is not around the Jonker Street vicinity. Better for those who are driving (there's free parking for hotel guests in front of the inn).

I stayed during a public holiday - so the price paid was higher than the low-peak rate, it was more expensive that what I'd usually pay for a budget hotel. Still, it was worth it! Do give it a shot, if you are as wary of dodgy budget hotels as I am.. Sunshine Inn is a really good place!

Another plus point.. There's a bakery in the next building that sells really delicious jam tarts!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank milvoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
29
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked through Agoda and stayed at the Triple Deluxe room. There is also a Sunshine Inn + just opposite the field, so be careful when you are looking for the hotel. The room looks really new, bathroom tiles are spanking new and clean. Shower water pressure is ok.

Hotel does provide ample parking space at the empty field just facing the hotel. Located very close to Mahkota Parade mall, probably about 8-10mins drive. Other near locations you might want to visit are Capitol satay celup (10mins drive), Nadeje crepe cake (10mins) and Jonker Street (chicken rice ball, 10mins). Good thing about the hotel is it's near to famous landmarks while not at the busy main street, so you'd get a peaceful rest.

Internet speed is so so. Didn't try their breakfast so can't comment. Only gripe I had was the electrical box had a irritating buzzing sound, but they offered to change room. Next day the new room also had the same buzzing sound, but went away after I turned off and on the electrical supply.

Overall if you need a super clean hotel on a budget, I'd highly recommend this one.

on a side note, Sunshine Inn + which is located opposite is essentially the same, just with "more colors" according to one of the staff. Pricing wise still the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atty26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The room is clean & tidy.
It's not spacious but cozy enough to fit two adults.
The bathroom fixtures & fittings are good & adequate.
The only part which I am disappointed with is that I've waited two hours to check in.
I only managed to check in around 4pm but the staff is very polite, apologetic & friendly.

Room Tip: There's two building lot, do NOT choose the new lot as alot of guests complained about noise com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YukieLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights with my friends. Everything were nice and great. Clean, superb service. Definitely coming again in the future. Recommended for those travel with car coz the distance from the main city is about 10 minutes driving.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayaqis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nothing bad about the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean room. Value for your money.

Just one thing about its location. It takes around at least 30 mins to walk to the center. Very few restaurants or service in nearby area. If you are lucky, you can take a bus (number 17) to Jonker Street and walk from there to the riverside and some tourist landscapes.

Even this is a good hotel, but I will choose another which is close to the town center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nguyễn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at sunshine inn for 1 night for weekend getaway. We do not have high expectation while booking this hotel. Our check in was smooth, the receptionist even recognized us without having to give our personal ID card to her. Though it was a hotel built from a shophouses lot, we were impressed with how spotless-clean the room is. Yes, it was a small room, but we were satisfied with all the facilites and the bed was very comfy. Will be back soon!

Room Tip: Since this is a budget hotel, all room has same views. No worries. They are all clean~
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pearl_lynely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a small, clean, 2 storeys hotel, it does not have catering facility but has a kettle in the room for making tea and coffee, more tea bags and coffee sachets can be obtained on the ground floor. We stayed here twice now, on both occassions the room was cleaned and was provided with cleaned towels, tooth brushes and grooming kit daily. If you have big suitecases request for a 1st floor room in advance, otherwies you might have to struggle up the long stair case. The daytime staff was very helpful, unless you want to leave the hotel before 7am, than you would have to wake the night staff up!!!

The hotel is located a good 10 mins+ walk from the Mahkota centre along a busy street with plenty of coffee and cake shops and restaurants. I would rather walk it than paying the extortionate default RM15 for the 2 mins ride by the non metered taxis, or you can use the air conditioned bus, once you know the timetable.

For the price this is a very reasonable place to stay for 3-4 days, I would have rated excellent but I don't want you guys to overwhelme it!!

Room Tip: Read the review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#27 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.0 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#40 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#54 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#51 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coastal Park Hotel
Coastal Park Hotel
#41 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Property: Sunshine Inn
Address: No. 33 Jalan Melaka Raya 21, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Inn was established to create a hotel which provides a "home away from home" experience in Malacca. Be it business or pleasure that brings you to Malacca, the Sunshine Inn is the perfect destination for you. Located in the heart of Malaccan business, shopping and entertainment district at the prestigious Melaka Raya, Sunshine Inn offers you warm hospitality with impeccable services Sunshine Inn is designed as a lifestyle hotel, with uniquely designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunshine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing