We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
16
38
20
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
38
20
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstv channelswater pressure isair conditioningstar hotelfacilitieshairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 82 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is very convenient and comfortable to stay. There are a lot of nyonya restaurant nearby and is about 15 minutes walk to dahtaran pahlawan.
The room is small but is definitely value for the money as the room has a cozy design and the bed is comfortable.
However, the hotel need to improve on their housekeeping because when we check-in to the room, the room is full of cigarette smell though the hotel indicate that this is a non-smoking room. Previous Customer I/C number was left on the comment sheet inside the room as well.
Overall, this is a very lovely budget hotel to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloverysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Clean, modern, fresh, comfortable. A very good nights sleep and for under 100 RM, an awesome bargain.
The one objection I had before checking in was the location, as the hotel is located a 15 minute walk from the city square and the main sights. Turned out that the walk was a very nice one, the whole way lined by shops, restaurants and shopping centres, with no stray dogs or other dodgy characters in sight.
A big extra plus goes to the staff, both the young woman in charge and the man at the reception desk were very friendly and most helpful, and even made sure a private car drove me to my bus to Kuala Lumpur when the taxi situation in town was chaotic.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StoffeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'm those type of person where i am extra particular bout where i stay, so i did extra research on the hotel via trip advisor when boyfriend and the parents decided to visit Malacca and all the reviews were bout how good was Sunshine Inn, so i thought, YES, this is it! and we bought it through agoda.com at real budget price and i was so glad that i actually booked the hotel=)
So, upon check in, we were required to pay rm50 deposit and rm4 (receptionist said it's some special malacca tax), sat at the lobby, Sunshine Inn provides candies and biscuits for sweet tooth and everyday newspaper, waited for 5 minutes for processing and there we go, a step nearer to our room, oh yes, there was a minor error, we requested for both rooms with windows, but the receptionist gave us a room with windows and another without, but we totally forgotten bout it till he called and asked whether we would like to change rooms, but we didn't as only ground floor rooms were available.
Initially i was worried that it might be stuffy as there aren't any window, but to my surprise, it wasn't as they actually have air purifier, how sweet.
The rooms are incredibly clean, no yellowish pillows nor dusty dressing table. And the design of the room itself was sooooooo cozy, like home. The toilet was clean and there again, we were given the 4 in1 happy pack with toothpaste,toothbrush, comb, shower cap and cotton buds. The best part is the shower system, wonderful draining system and powerful hairdryer that made bath a happy experience in the hotel.
Oh, talking bout the location, it's around 7 minutes drive to Jonker Streets, near enough to the crowd and far enough to have a peace of mind for rest. What more to ask for, definitely it's going to be my first choice place to stay in malacca next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yang24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was traveling as part of a group. We arrived at the Sunshine Inn after a very sad experience at another hotel(?) in a Persian area in JB. The rooms were gorgeous with comfy beds, good lighting and electronic locks on the doors. A very nice surpise at what we expected to be a substandard 2 star hotel. This hotel is NOT substandard for its rating at all. Although for the inexperienced, the in shower hot water system was a learning curve! he he. The staff our group met could not have been more helpful for us. In fact they arranged our charter bus back to JB for the next day at very short notice! Absolutely wonderful people!
P.S. If you speak chinese, there is an excellent restaurant down the adjacent alley and around the corner, but they do not speak english and the menu is in chinese as well. Great food but!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed one night with two friends, good wifi reception. Clean rooms and toilet. Looks recently renovated. I thought the room quite small. Its away from the crowd, but close to the attractions. Breakfast was some bread n banana, which I didn't take. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmtdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews