We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“For a budget hotel, it has fulfilled its function” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Boss Hotel, Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Boss Hotel, Melaka
Ranked #136 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“For a budget hotel, it has fulfilled its function”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at La Boss over the weekend. The stay was pretty decent. As a budget hotel, it has fulfilled its function.

I had a room on the 5th floor and the room was quite huge for a budget hotel. It was clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Some of the issues which made my stay less than perfect were:

(1) no slippers;
(2) no toiletries or mug to use in the washroom;
(3) the toilet, although clean, had a strong sewer smell emanating from somewhere in the toilet. I did not sight any leakage or whatsoever though.

The disco noise was not as bad as I thought. Overall, I had a pretty good night rest.

The breakfast selection was nothing to shout about but whatever they served was quite decent (bearing in mind it is a budget hotel).

Finally, I have to commend the staff for having the good sense to separate certain tour group who was having breakfast from the rest of the guests which I guess was to maintain order.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TayCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The rooms are new and clean, location is OK but that's about it. WIFI was not working, remote control for TV missing and have to be ordered and the worst was the attitude of the staff. We ordered a taxi at 9am the night before because we had to catch a bus at the terminal. But when we got a bit shaky after it was still not there at 9.15am the receptionist just told "it's not my responsibility, I can't help it"... I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank porka5p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

we stay 2day in 18/8-20/8 hari raya . hotel is new n clean all inside room like bed , toliet and tv ok oso have give coffee n 2 bottle water just noisy at night have disco sound . car park try park within hotel if not need parking ticket . tax ard 1 night we pay rm229.70

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in La Boss (Malacca) during the Hari Raya holiday.We had to pay RM2 dollars for the TV remote controller while the channels were really limited which made the money paid totally not worth it. Lastly, there was no fridge, which means after a hot day out in Jonker street, you dont get that cold icy drink in your room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im_ships
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor D.E
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

stayed for 2d/1n on 21-22/7 Late check in . Simple , clean & new hotel . Great rain shower . Clean room . Bed is a little bit too hard while bed sheet is a lil bit itchy after our slept for a night.
Only one staff while we check in ,in good manner . Met with a group of china's tourist & their sound can even heard when we in our room . adequate breakfast with little choice as it's budget.
The worst part is , during the night we can hear the night club/disco sound beeping in the room during the WHOLE night from the nearby shop. And guess the disco sound only stop @ 5am in the morning . Hope they should improve this . As i only slept for 3hrs after the disco sound stop. That's killing.

this definitely for budget boutique stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 112 and can heard the disco beeping sound so clear & loud. avoid it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maegenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

It was the international dragon boat festival last weekend, we have a hard time getting hotels all over melaka. Even smaller ones like Marvelux, Syaz Meridian have all shouted full house. Thank god for my cousin who reccomended this new hotel but it was nothing to shout about.

claims to be 550m away from the two main malls in Bandar Hilir Melaka, but seems to be its a stone throw of less than 200m that's the + side i guess. Lots of renovation going on there, once into the hotel reception, there wasn't even any air-conditon switched on from concierge to the aisles along your rooms and mind you i was stung my mozzies. Reception was fast extremely fast, within 5mins i was in my room. The downside was i got a key and only one key card, we have 4 travellers and air condition is not centralised and the key card acts as a main supply to electricity and we were facing the west sun and the room took 4hours to cool down despite air con running at 16degrees celsius but view was alright you get to see partial seaview. Ask for room 528 1 king and 1 super single, room was humongous for a 114SGD price tag.

Toilet facilities includes rain shower but it was extremely dirty when we walked in, water hose beside W.C was spoiled. No mini fridge but generous space. Location-wise full of massage parlors both sleazy and orthodox ones. Food choices limited, you need a walk towards the other end of the road facing holiday inn for both day and night. There's a bar call the ANT bar nearby with Live Pole dance performance and mind you try to park within hotel compound if you are driving, my cousin's boyfriend got a parking ticket parking at the opposite hotel when they came for breakfast at the Herbal pork rib soup stall next door.

Room Tip: Get Room 528 if you are ok with West Sun. Very good views i guess, see photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Average hotel but clean, that's the only reason why we stayed here. Toilet needs more lighting. Breakfast is minimal. Plus point is few eateries around.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryantze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Midcity Hotel Melaka
#86 of 165 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Syaz Meridien Hotel
Syaz Meridien Hotel
#64 of 165 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.8 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#35 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#32 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Temasek Hotel
Temasek Hotel
#71 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balik Pulau Hotel
Balik Pulau Hotel
#65 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Boss Hotel, Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boss Hotel, Melaka

Property: La Boss Hotel, Melaka
Address: 363-1, Jalan Melaka Raya 4, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Boss Hotel, Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Boss Hotel showcases the emotion with distinctive hue and atmosphere on every corner in the hotel. From vivid to subdued for business and leisure, our unique boutique hotel perfectly suits your savvy style and sense beyond imagination. La Boss Hotel provides an excellent starting point for all the city’s going on. From the design perspective, La Boss Hotel is built with modern French art on an exceptional use of contrast; a white canvas provides clean space for saturated colors to pop. The all new boutique hotel in the heart of The Historical City of Malacca, furnished and designed with modern spaces and practically combined comfort to form a warm and relaxing masterpiece. La Boss Hotel embodies the spirit of the city. A beautiful 5-story building built with modern glassy outlook in the heart of the Malacca City Center. The hotel offers a sense of fun and escape from the ordinary, while symbolizing everything of French monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Boss Hotel, Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing