We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
6
15
21
8
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6
15
21
8
12
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 62 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great location with friendly staff ,everything is amazing. We 5 ppl stayed there for 2nights. really comfort. The location of the hostel was great and good value for money. Only 5mins to Jonker steet, and the night view of melakka river is great.

Room tip: 2nd floor get A/C
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarya l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have come across so far. It is a loft room, so you have an area to store your items at the bottom and then has about 8 steps to the loft which has a nice thick mattress. Close to all the attractions and 5 minute walk to the bus stop. The owner is rarely at the hostel. When I was there, there was a lot of noisy people of asian descent, running around and yelling. There is free filtered drinking water. As previous reviewers have mentioned the shower is with the toilet. So just imagine a normal toilet with a shower attached to the wall. So you have to stand beside the toilet to have your shower. The free wifi internet access is extremely slow, don't bother. There is an internet place next door that has separate for foreigners and locals. Foreigners are charged 5 rm = $1.50 AUD per hour. The shower and toilets on the floor I was on were leaking and the toilet seat wasn't even attached properly so used the ones on the next level. I had a room with no window which was not a problem and the air conditioning was really good. Hangers are provided. Agoda rates are cheaper.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twobigfeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for three nights in the girls dorm. The staff were very helpful and friendly (although not always around). The location of the hostel was great and good value for money but the rooms definitely didn't look like they did on the hostel website and could do with a few improvements. We also found evidence of mice (including fresh droppings) upstairs in the dorm. Overall it was OK.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieW550
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have stayed there with 3 of my girlfriends from 27-29 Aug 2012. Double room for two girls.
Pros:
Very close to the historical attractions in Malacca. Walking distance.
Home taxi available to fetch you from Malacca Central to the hotel. RM15 per trip.
Clean cooling air-cond, comfortable mattress and nice blanket
Hanger available for hanging clothes and towels.
Laundry service too. RM4 for 1kg.
Bicycle rent

Cons:
Shared bathroom. For rich spoilt girls, they may not like it. Could have done something to make the bathroom a bit bigger and wider.
Slippers for bathroom use should be considered.

PS: It's a youth hostel, however, you can't expect much...:)

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hostel has everything good that mentioned by previous reviewers. And also everything bad that they mentioned too. Many and many little things that they missed out, which they will definitely find out if they do stay one night there by themselves.

Uncovered toilet tissues, which I can't even find one in the bathroom I used as it is taken by the bathroom next to it because their tissue roll has wet.
Leaking water from the bathroom and at the top floor, raining water splash-in to the washing/bathroom area as it's open air style. I appreciate the sun light but simple slipper will solve the problem.

Most unacceptable is the staff smoking at ground floor near kitchen/reception area. Although ground floor is kind of open air with windows and doors open, but gosh, smoker doesn't realize the smoke will spread all over the ground floor common area? No offense, but I think this is not a way to welcome your guest.

All in all, I just love the room, with comfortable bed and a little space to read and chit-chat with friend.

Room tip: Sacrifice the sun light from the room with window nearest to the street, noisy at night as you can heard the music from the bar till 1-2am.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johandy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews