We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Bistro Year 1673

Bistro Year 1673
Ranked #125 of 701 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were in search of somewhere to eat. Had seen this place mentioned on Trip advisor so headed in.

Really nice atmosphere and setting, yummy lime juice too, but from there downhill.

I'm finding it difficult to find good authentic food, if that's what you're after, steer clear of here.

We had Asam Laksa - bland.
Nasi Goreng - ok but wouldn't order it again
Stir fried chicken - meh!

Service was good though, there was one great guy there.
Food came too fast, that can sometimes be a warning...

Keep going and find somewhere else to eat!

Helpful?
1 Thank Becwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BistroYear1673, Manager at Bistro Year 1673, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Beckwells,

Thank you for dining at Bistro Year 1673 and your constructive feedback. We wish to express regret for the disappointment you had encountered during your visit, perhaps the local menu you had ordered did not suit your taste and not up to your expectations. We however thank you also for your compliment for our Staff that had served you.

We certainly hope that you would one day try out other items, not local (as you had mentioned) in our Menu, perhaps that might suit your palate.

We look forward to welcome you back to Bistro Year 1673, here’s wishing you a wonderful day ahead……
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    100
    50
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice environment”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Had drinks there around midnight. Atmosphere was great at the alfresco area. Crowd was mostly tourists. There was a live band too. Good place to have dinner too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank yanadira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“only a place catering turists”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Louzy food and atmosphere, seems ony catering tourists. It was one of the few places open during the evening (moday night) loud waiters, poor live music.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank maxgerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BistroYear1673, Manager at Bistro Year 1673, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir, thank you for your review and patron at Bistro Year 1673. It was indeed a pleasure that we were able to serve you but unfortunately we were not able to satisfy and meet up to your requirements. We take your feedback seriously and will use this to upgrade and improve on our services. We certainly hope you would come back to visit us again in the near future should you visit Melaka again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A good option”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went here twice. First times great the second average. Nice female wait staff. Nice big fans to keep u cool. Nice cold drinks & cocktails. Great laksa and central to Jonker St. Wifi provided.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank WessandCorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice environment and delicious food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I like the environment in the restaurant with the band performance. And the food there was delicious too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ssan_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Year 1673 also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Bistro Year 1673? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing