We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Year 1673

Bistro Year 1673
Ranked #100 of 655 Restaurants in Melaka
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hobart
Level Contributor
146 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A good option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went here twice. First times great the second average. Nice female wait staff. Nice big fans to keep u cool. Nice cold drinks & cocktails. Great laksa and central to Jonker St. Wifi provided.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank WessandCorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    94
    45
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice environment and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I like the environment in the restaurant with the band performance. And the food there was delicious too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ssan_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great service, made to feel very special!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

On our recent weekend break in Melaka we visited this restaurant not only once but twice! The first time we really enjoyed the atmosphere and entertainment. Also the fact that they had 'normal' toilets helped! We mistakenly ordered pizza, which was nice but not thin based like we like but we were in Malaysia and should of ordered more local food. Which we did on our second visit. And the food was superb!
They were very good at recommending wines - we told them what sort of wine we liked and then tried their recommendations and were very satisfied.
We went as a couple and there was a real mix of families, groups, and couples. It is actually quite a romantic place to dine as it looks like an old street and is dimly lit and with a duo singing.
Prices were very reasonable. I will definitely go back when we are next in Melaka!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esch-sur-Sure, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent food, atmosphere, service at good price AND friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I highly recommend this restaurant for singles, couples and families alike. Everyone would feel right at home. I spend two nights here (April 22nd and 23rd 2013) eating, chatting, singing with the live band and just enjoying with the friendly staff and also patrons. The manager Albert and this staff run a very professional establishment. I ate very well and enjoyed for a very reasonable price. I will be back and I highly recommend this restuarant.

Peter :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter_R_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely to sit out in the evenings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our family of 7 aged 8 to 75 enjoyed the helpful staff and reasonable food. The menu is huge and well priced.In fact it was so good we went twice on our two night stay in Meleka - far better than Hard Rock Cafe 50 metres down the road that was without doubt a real let down.

There was a couple singing middle of the road songs - everything from The Carpenters to Norah Jones - all done really really well - and we joined in a few times which seemed the right thing to do.

Well done to the staff - keep it up!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Modest-Stout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Year 1673 also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Bistro Year 1673? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing