We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice with its price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
Ranked #14 of 206 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice with its price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

excellent location, very convenient, 3 min walk to the night market at jocker street.
beautiful view next to the river, can hv beer at night with friends to chill out.
clean room and comfy bed.
and nice staff, very helpful...
Best of budget guesthouse .....

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tongtong_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    46
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
55
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

It is nice & clean guest house. Located just beside the malacca river, so it is easy to visit everywhere. Owners are very helpful & friendly. Price is reasonable.
マラッカの中心地のマラッカリバー沿いにあり、場所がいいです。共同キッチンから川沿いにも出れ、そこで寛ぐことも出来ます。オーナーのワンとヤンは、親切ですね。掃除も何度もしているようで常に清潔ということを保っているようです。僕はやや長居をして12泊(1泊は満室だったので他のGHを予約してくれた)しました。ほぼ自宅感覚になってきましたね。とにかく気楽でいいです。場所も中心地なので歩いて何処にでも行けます。オランダ広場からも近く便利。一人でもカップルでもOKですよ。お勧めです。

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 旅人ゆき
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This guesthouse for the backpacker who wants to get the best view in cheap price.
Back of the guesthouse in riverside. and then has bench you can chilled sit and drink at here.

If I have chanceม I will go back to this guesthouse
This Time I sleep in Single room which is quite good.

Room Tip: This Time I sleep in Single room which is quite good. Single room has window that can't see riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahyshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The guy running it , wan, is really friendly and helpful.
But sorry to say the accom is not that great. It may but just because of our late booking, but the rooms at the front door are not worth RM50.
In hindsight it was not worth staying in chinatown. I think we could have got better value with a private bathroom in the jalan merdeka raya area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hodgo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 5, a double room on the second floor.

Paying only £12 a night we had no major complaints.

The owner is helpful and friendly. He helped us with our backpacks up the stairs, pin pointed sights on a map he provided and even offered to get our breakfast in for a small charge.

The room was situated right next to the bathroom so at times there was noise from other users. The bed was comfortable but the bed sheet was "scratchy" and a bit on the small side.

The bathroom is pretty clean but the colour scheme in there and in the bedrooms is a little old and unpleasant. Because the toilet and bathroom is together in one room, the floor, toilet and usually everything else including the toilet paper is wet.

Minor quibbles aside this is a good choice. The guesthouse is well located. You can sit outside and relax by the river and there is even a large kitchen area which you can use and a fridge for keeping your drinks cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booked a 2night stay at this guesthouse over the weekend for a short escapade to celebrate my partner's bday. As we were both working on Fri, we could only take the evening bus frm Spore. Guesthouse owner called me to confirm on my stay and I told him I will be reaching past midnight. When we reach the guesthouse, it was locked (for security purposes). The owner came and check us in. He is polite and extremely helpful! I told him I was hungry, and he purposely go to 7-11 to buy me noodles! Bear in mind, it is past midnight. I am extremely surprised at such good & personalized service (even better then a hotel).

We paid him extra RM5 for two packs of nasi lemak for our bfast. Rented a bike from him that costs us RM8 for whole day. The guesthouse is clean and tidy, the bathroom is ok and the kitchen has the basic utensils that you would need. We got the third floor room and I am thankful for it cos it's less noisy (as both bathrooms are at level 2). The bed is comfortable and clean, aircon is good.

We went to another guesthouse to rent another bicycle (as this guesthouse only have one for rent, sadly). I saw how the other guesthouse looks like, and I'm glad I chose this as the owner asked all guests to lock the main door especially at night. I feel very safe and secured, and at ease with the whole design of the guesthouse.

Location wise, its just two streets away from Jonker Street. Its fairly near to Dutch Square and Mahkota Parade/ Pahlawan Mall. We cycle to both places and had a great time exploring Malacca on our bikes!

It's definitely a great place to stay! If I were to go Malacca again, I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet rooms, choose third floor. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank limelemonyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

As soon as I walked into the Oriental, I fell in love with it, and my fours nights there were nothing short of superb.

I had originally booked two nights, but after the first night, I decided to extend based on the good experience I had. The owner (Lin) and her friend (Hilde) were both incredibly friendly and welcoming and were more than happy to answer some questions I had about the local area and sights to see.

The room that I was in was very spacious, especially compared to the size of single rooms in other places (eg. KL) and included a bed, desk, chair, hat rack, and the pedestal fan.

I stayed during the week (Mon-Fri), and it was incredibly quiet and peaceful, I was unable to hear noise from either the street or the river, this, coupled with the calm and gentle nature of the staff, and the peaceful atmosphere of the guest house, made this by far the best place I've stayed at in my travels.

I am planning to revisit Malacca and will definitely stay at the Oriental on my return.

Room Tip: Single rooms have a fan only. This is sufficient as the (pedestal) fans are quite powerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingGriffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House

Property: Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
Address: 78 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residence is a charming riverside guesthouse overlooking Melaka River set in an elegantly restored pre-war building built in 1933. Situated at the core of the "UNESCO World Heritage Zone" on the bustling narrow streets of Old Chinatown by the river, with tourist attractions, art galleries, antique shops, craftsmen and traders at its doorstep, it allows its guest to be close to the community yet manages to maintain and atmosphere of Peace and Tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing