We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvellous, calm, friendly experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
Ranked #13 of 211 Melaka B&B and Inns
Byron Bay
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A marvellous, calm, friendly experience”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights on a friend's recommendation. Everything was really lovely - hosts very gentle and caring, room spacious, very clean and comfortable, location right on the river and just far enough - 5 minute walk - to the bustle of Jonker St. I had a room facing the street, but no issues with noise either outside or inside. I really liked the calm atmosphere that pervades this guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnyZucchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    47
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
56
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Upon arrival we got a warm welcome, with explanation of everything in the beautiful house. The hostess had printed little maps off the city and had marked the highlights and good food stalks. The place is located at a quiet part of the river, so we got some tea from the kitchen and set near the river. So nice and peaceful.
The bathrooms are a bit older and therefore look not always 100% clean although I guess it actually is clean, but just looks a bit filthy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fjanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Incredible hostel - full of character, nice single room with marble floor and full size desk. They even bothered to hang a picture! No aircon which was a drawback, but at £6 a night (35 RM I think?) I wasn't expecting everything. Owner was friendly and helpful - lots of tips on the best restaurants in town. Location was central and scenic - the back of the guest house faced onto the Malacca river. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here - wish it had been longer. Breakfast was included but I didn't partake.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markoconnor1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This guest house was great! We were greeted by the owner who was very friendly. He gave us a map and pointed out all the sights to see and the best places to eat.
When he showed us to our room, I was pleasantly surprised. It overlooked the river, had air conditioning and a fan. We shared the shower room with other guests however it was always very clean.
We were only in Melaka for one night but wished we were able to stay for longer. I'd definitely return to this guest house!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VesperLynd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hostel is in a good location and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Room was very basic however for the price was very nice. Our room didn't have a window and the AC was broken with only a fan and so it was very hot but the communal areas were fine. There is a convenience store next door and it was nice to sit by the river at night and see the boats go by. Overall a good base to explore Melaka.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Clean and very value for money...it's like staying in one of our family's house...the owner are very friendly and helpful...
The hostel is in the central of city, only 3 minutes walking to Jonker Street Nite market (only from Fri-Sun), you can reach many attraction spots easily.
Melacca river is in the back of the hotel, you can sit while chatting with friends there, enjoying the romantic nite or the morning breeze...for sure I will stay in the hostel again when I visit Melacca again :)

Room Tip: I suggest to take room in the second floor with river view or city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkomala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If theres anything id notice 1st is the warm personality of the owner Mr Asri. Altough being a Malaysian myself, he is equally as accomodating and friendly towards locals and tourists. If you are not expecting much but just a place to put up for the night, this would be the place. The room i stayed faces the river and is quite comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TKYonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,192 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#28 of 166 in Melaka
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House

Property: Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
Address: 78 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residence is a charming riverside guesthouse overlooking Melaka River set in an elegantly restored pre-war building built in 1933. Situated at the core of the "UNESCO World Heritage Zone" on the bustling narrow streets of Old Chinatown by the river, with tourist attractions, art galleries, antique shops, craftsmen and traders at its doorstep, it allows its guest to be close to the community yet manages to maintain and atmosphere of Peace and Tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing