We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay while in Malacca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
Ranked #13 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place to stay while in Malacca”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Friendly owners, nice place, good location

This place is a little gem in Malacca. Well located right by the river. The rooms are simple but very comfortable. This place is spotless. The A/C works very well and is silent. You could use the kitchen if you want to. Mr. Asri and his wife are very very friendly, making it hard to leave. Mr. Asri will provide you with tons of information about Malacca.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    46
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
55
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We chose Oriental Riverside because of the great reviews and were not disappointed. The guesthouse is not luxurious, but very well kept, clean and just plain nice. The thing that makes the guesthouse extraordinary is the location (about 2 min walk to jonker street, 5-10 min to old town and 10-15 min to the megamall) and the owners who really did all they could to make our stay the most pleasant one.

The place is run by a couple who also stay at the house. There's no real breakfast,but crackers, coffee and tee is available all day. This was quite fine since there's a great little restaurant 1 min away (mama's) which served breakfast for 3.5RM - and the portions are quite big. There's also a small shop next door.

The moment we walked in we felt welcomed. When we got sick, the owner asked if he could drive us to the hospital and when we declined and found we didn't have money for the taxi he actually offered to loan us some! We were so well looked after and informed of the city it was amazing.

And Melaka? The most beautiful small city in Malesia we've been to. The riverside is just gorgeous, especially at night time.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs don't have windows; these are a bit cheaper. The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenCarrot_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Oriental Riverside Residence for two nights in December 2012 as part of our two month tour around SE Asia. We booked because it was the most reasonably priced accommodation we could find in Melaka that had good tripadvisor reviews - and at $24 a night we weren't disappointed.

The owners gave us a very warm welcome and showed us around the property, allowing us to choose our own room from two available. We opted for the double room at the very top of the hotel as we wanted to be away from the street incase of any noise at night.

The room itself was very large and spotlessly clean. There was a large double bed, a table and chairs and a small outside balcony with a sink.You couldn't see out due to it being walled in, but it was nice to have access to a bit of fresh air and our own sink.

There are two bathrooms in the property on the first floor shared between all the rooms, we were initially a bit concerned about not having an ensuite, but we didn't have to wait to use the bathroom at any point and they were both spotlessly clean so it really wasn't a problem.

The guesthouse is also in a lovely location right on the edge of the river and within easy walking distance to Jonker Street, where we had some of the best food of our entire trip.

The owners were also keen to share their local knowledge, which made a huge difference to our stay (as we probably wouldn't have been brave enough to try the places otherwise!)

Overall, we had a great time here and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to other travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We found our stay in Oriental deligtful. It is located in a gorgeous setting right by the river and is close to every sight in town. There also a small convience store next door which was really handy for all our snack and breakfast needs. The owners could not have been more friendly and we found the advice Asri gave us on places to eat absolutely brilliant - we had the best meals in Melaka thanks to him. The guesthouse is quiet and homey and we liked it there very much. Our room had windows towards the river which was awesome although we did not spend too much time in the room. Bathroom was just next to the room.

Would and probably will stay here again and I do recommend this place to everyone.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank allmillionpcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel in Melaka and had an overall pleasant experience.

Pro:
Good hotel location that is within walking distance to all the sights and restaurants within Chinatown. The river view right outside the back door was nice and shared kitchen offered a place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Free crackers and filtered water was also a nice touch.

Hotel staff offered a good map of the area with suggestions of restaurants and sights to visit.

Large and clean room with good AC.

Free wifi was helpful, but only works on the first floor.

Con:
We were on the third floor and the shared bathroom was on the second floor. There were no hand rails on the stairs, which can be quite hazardous for half-awake guests who need to walk down a steep flight of stairs in the middle of the night.

During the evening "rush hour" to use the 2 shared bathrooms, it can be unpleasant waiting for showering guests to finish while holding a full bladder.

The room can use a fresh coat of paint as there are quite a few visible stains on the walls.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor with the shared bathrooms will avoid a midnight walk up and down stairs.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alittlerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

i spent one night only in melaka and decided to stay at this guesthouse due to its good review in agoda. they gave me the big room facing the street. pretty noisy during the day due to the shops around, but fairly peaceful after 6pm. the room, sharing bathroom and the guest house is clean and comfortable. the location is only 5 minutes walk from jonker walk where all the shops are and 5 minutes to the malacca christ church or the red building. everything is actually in walking distance.
i came on a monday, so melaka is pretty quite after 6PM. but they say it is happening on weekends due to the weekends market.
at night or late afternoon, you can just sit at the back of the guesthouse by the riverside, enjoying the river view while taking the free coffee or tea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aya_suhastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
250 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place because it has dazzling reviews here and on other websites - and to be honest we were disappointed.

There's nothing wrong with this place as such - but it is only average and there are better places to stay down the same street.

We stayed for three nights and at the end of it we booked in for another three - but at a much better guesthouse down the street.

Our room was very large and the double bed was enormous and comfortable. It had just one thin blanket on it but the staff gave us a second one as it was cold.

There are only two bathrooms between eight rooms which was a bit of a nuisance at around 9am and 11pm. However, as long as you're aware of this it's really not a problem the rest of the time.

The wi-fi was poor in our top floor room. Also, although there is a communal area downstairs the owner was always sat there on her laptop. Although she was friendly, it kind of felt we were sat in her living room if we were sat there.

I'll hold my hands up and admit I've been nit picking in this review about minor and trivial things. This is a good hostel right in the centre of Melaka. If you book it you won't regret it. It's just there are better ones in the same road with roof terraces and better communal areas. And they cost the same.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnInspectorCalls_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House

Property: Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
Address: 78 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residence is a charming riverside guesthouse overlooking Melaka River set in an elegantly restored pre-war building built in 1933. Situated at the core of the "UNESCO World Heritage Zone" on the bustling narrow streets of Old Chinatown by the river, with tourist attractions, art galleries, antique shops, craftsmen and traders at its doorstep, it allows its guest to be close to the community yet manages to maintain and atmosphere of Peace and Tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing