We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Lol.travel
SuperTravel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
94
48
13
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
94
48
13
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 162 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We (2 people) stayed 1 night in the triple room at Oriental Riverside and got more than what we bargained for. The room was so comfortable, clean and very spacious. Towels were provided and there are 2 toilets available on the 2nd floor. The guesthouse itself was very homey, cozy and super clean. When you walk out the back, you will be greeted to an amazing view of the river (a very nice thing to wake up to in the morning) where there is a pathway to walk and just take in the relaxing scenery. Located strategically near Jonker street, everything was within walking distance (great food) and Asri and his wife, the owners of the place, were so nice and helpful that they would answer any questions you have (where to eat, how to go etc...). I would truly recommend this place to all who is looking for a nice little getaway, who don't wanna worry bout driving and just wanna enjoy a lovely nostalgic place (I especially recommend this place for couples or single travelers). However, there are some small setbacks that you should take note of if you want to visit this place and not be disappointed so here is a breakdown:
Pros
-Romantic
-Warm and cozy environment
-Nice and informative owners
-Walking distance from town and entertainments
-Next to a lovely view and walkway
-Very clean (home, room and toilets)
-home biscuits available for snacking :)
-Right next to an equally friendly convenience store that has anything you need last minute

Cons
-We had trouble finding the guesthouse as it was very un-guesthouse looking like from the front outside (we thought it looked like a cyber cafe ;P). So we counted the shop numbers instead until we got to 78.
-It was also a 1-way road so it was quite jam leading in and going out so quite a hassle if you miss the guesthouse. Which is another why it is a great thing that it is located so near to jonker street and we did not have to drive anywhere.
-There are only 2 toilets and both on the second floor.. so to those of us who are lazy after just woken up :) and not staying on that floor, it was a con.
- The guesthouse itself is quite cramped so I would not recommend children or large families. (Couples and single travelers or groups of max 4)
- At night it gets quite cold and the blanket was qui

Room tip: Get the triple room!! Just because it was awesome!
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6Michelle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at Oriental Riverside. It was great for us cost-wise, being that we were students on a tight budget. The room and common bathroom was clean. Room was quiet. Owner was willing to let us check in at 5am. Location was quite safe as well. The owner is very friendly, accomodating and extremely helpful with planning where to visit. There's a bicycle rental too nearby (Sayang Sayang Guest House I think). Pretty near Jonker street (Jalan Hang Jebat) and lots of other places of attraction such as the museums and A'Famosa.

The only downside to this I could recall is that most nearby eateries are non-halal (except one Indian coffeeshop down the road. We *are* at Kampung Cina after all.), you'd have to go a little further to find halal places. Last thing about Malacca is that eateries tend to close early on weekdays. We went to Pantai Klebang and everything was closed (except one or two shops -- one place selling Asam Pedas has a really cute waiter haha)! Apparently they closed at 4pm. Fridays and weekends are when they open till late.

Other than the halal diet consideration, this was a fantastic place for us to stay.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed one night but from the moment we got there we were made to feel really welcome by the owners. We had a quick chat about our backgrounds and plans, what the owner would recommend as places to visit on our travels before going through the local map with their recommendations for what to see and where to eat.

Given we only had one day these tips made the visit to Melaka that much better.

The accommodation is very clean and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The back door also opens onto the river side which, as we were leaving the next morning, we noticed provides a beautiful view in the morning sun and would be great for a walk.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenEwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This Guest house is family run and well kept. The husband and wife team are extremely friendly and always happy to help. We had a clean and very large room over looking the river. The bathrooms were clean and the location is perfect for exploring Melaka. You get a great feel for the real Malaysian way of life. Would definately recommend :)

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river, you might be lucky enough to see the giant monitor lizard venturing out of the river to a nearby garden :)
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our stay in Melaka. The owners, Asri and Lin-Lin, are adorable, just like their guesthouse. Conveniently situated with a view on the river, easy to reach and close to China Town. Our room (we stayed in room 8 on the top floor) was spacious, clean with A/C and view on the river. Very clean shared bathroom on a lower floor. Definately a place to stay during your next stay in Melaka. We will definately come back (hopefully soon). Asri and Lin-Lin, thanks for everything!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tine_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews