We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and homey.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
Ranked #14 of 227 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed for one night in single room. It’s on 3rd floor and don’t expect elevator. Bathroom is in 2nd floor, there are 2 bathrooms for all room. Liquid soap provided. Booked through email with Asri, and paid 35RM upon check in. Single room comes with one single bed, fan, dressing table, one chair, no hanger. No breakfast, but they do provide hot/cold water, coffee, tea, sugar, some cookies.

To get here from Malaka Sentral: here’s the bus picture (Panorama bus), with specific red & white color, paid 1RM inside the bus, approx 20 minute journey, and there you are right away in the Dutch Square (local language “Bangunan Merah”). Just follow the instruction Asri gave it

To be honest it’s quite far from Dutch Square (20 minutes walking distance), but due to beautiful panoramic along the way and the river, you’ll forget the distance. Overall, great!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menicr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 157 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

we loved this nice place, on board of the canal. Rooms are very very very clean, Asri and his wife are SO friendly and helpfull.
Good location, very close to Chinatown and the centre of the city. Nice to sit outside at night, talking with the other guests and with the owners.
Bathroom is shared but there again : very very clean. We had a room with aircon and fan, overlooking the canal. There is a kitchen where you can take free coffee/tea/biscuits all day and where you even can make your own little breakfast. There is a small shop just 2 houses away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stekelkop62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A great place with very reasonable price: Oriental Riverside Residence Guesthouse provides all you need for a short stay at Melaka. Had a night there and was greeted by a friendly man name Asri, did a simple registration, and he took out a simple map showing me some great places for food and visit around the town area. Although I'm a Malaysian but this act of hospitality does enhance my walkabout in the Melaka town, having some pointers on where to have coffee, laksa, cendol, dim sum, scenery, shopping mall, etc.

For the price I paid, I think this place is absolutely worth the money, and its strategic location is five to ten minutes walk to Jonker Street, Christ Church, St Paul's Hill, and other Melaka attractions.

Single Room is clean and simple, shared bathroom with heater, kitchen with free drinking water, coffee and tea is free for you. The back of the guesthouse is the river with great view, and ice cream stall next door open until midnight.

All I need for a short stay in Melaka is complete is well met.
I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room facing the street is noisier with vehicles passing by even past midnight. Single room is witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hOcmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

It is my first foreign tour, this ORRG is also the first foreign hotel for me. In the beginning, i am a little affaid, but when i came into the guest house, Asri recognized me and called my name, seems we are friend for long time~~~ this makes me feel so warm~~~. Asri introduce the melaka to me and told me how to visit this fatastic town. That is so helpful~~
This guesthouse is the most clean hotel i've ever seen. I chose the single room, just one little bed with fan, but worth the cost, if your buget is enough, do choose the river view room, that is amazing.
Anyway, this guest house is a wonderful start of my 1st foreign tour. Thank you Asri, thank you tripadviser~~~

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnysjlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

So I've been to Malacca twice before, but this was the first time that I stayed in the old quarter. That in itself was fantastic; much nice walks to be had along the riverside and to Jonkers Street, Hereen Street and the rest of the conservation area.

The guest-house had your usual friendly backpacker vibe that you get in this part of the world, but minus the overly obnoxious backpackers, so we were treated to quiet sleep, for one. For another, the staff (or was it the owners?) were very nice.

Word to the wise: there are quite a few guest-houses along the street there. We went in to the wrong guest-house before realizing our mistake.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metamutator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great location, a pleasant walk along the river to all the attractions in town, and to local bus stop that will get you to long distance bus if heading out of town. The guest house feels very secure, is very good value and is kept spotless, with large comfortable beds (suggestion:a larger top sheet would be nice). Asri is a warm, friendly and helpful host and his children (visiting from KL for the school hols) were charming.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems the stairs are a bit of a challenge. Ask for a room on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tastrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Upon entering, the host warmly welcomed us and immediately helped us on what to visit in Melaka. He also gave us a highlighted map which was very useful in navigating Melaka.

The hostel is situated just by the river so you can have great view of the Melaka river at night. The location is also superb, being near to Jonker street, Harmony Walk and Dutch square. We didn't have trouble going to any attraction we want to visit in Melaka. At Around 20USD for a twin-sharing room, the hotel offers superb value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerict87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.1 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#39 of 168 in Melaka
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hong
Hotel Hong
#3 of 227 in Melaka
252 reviews
0 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
0.7 mi away
Emily Travellers' Home
Emily Travellers' Home
#4 of 227 in Melaka
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House

Address: 78 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $13 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residence is a charming riverside guesthouse overlooking Melaka River set in an elegantly restored pre-war building built in 1933. Situated at the core of the "UNESCO World Heritage Zone" on the bustling narrow streets of Old Chinatown by the river, with tourist attractions, art galleries, antique shops, craftsmen and traders at its doorstep, it allows its guest to be close to the community yet manages to maintain and atmosphere of Peace and Tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing