We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"New family in Malaysia"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
Ranked #14 of 227 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We spent 15 days in the city, and we had time to compare many places. So for those who want a place well located, good value for money and excellent people this is the place.
Asri and Lin Lin the kind owners will welcome you, giving all the tip about what to do, where to go and have a nice talk about life.
Live like a local in Melaka!

Room Tip: Try to see the room before you choose, because they are very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 157 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

You could not ask for a better place. The location is fantastic, really clean, nice rooms, beautiful building, great people. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed here in March for four nights and did not want to leave. The room (room 8) was on the top floor, looking out onto the river. The room was large and clean with shared bathroom. The owners, Asri and his wife, are so friendly and helpful. They provide you with a map and give you tips on where to visit/eat etc. The guest house is perfectly located and within easy walking distance of Jonker Street and the main sights. I will definitely stay here again if I go back to Melaka.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DXCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Good price, good location (just by the river, few minutes away from Jonker street), very friendly staff. When we arrived, our room wasn't ready, so in the meantime they gave us a map and told us all about places to visit. The room was in the first floor, clean and with the street view. And AC, which worked great.

Room Tip: Room nr. 5 on the first floor has a river view, it's a lovely room, recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nara77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Fantastic hosts full of very good info (like where to eat, what museums are worthwhile etc.), spotless rooms in a very good location. On the river, it is a few minutes walk to all the sites, but off busy streets. The even is a shop next door that sells cold beer! There are a variety of rooms, some on the street and some on the river. Room 8 is prime-3rd floor looking down on the river. All shared bathrooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kikoenmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was the perfect place for us to stay.. right on the riverside... middle of Chinatown and walking distance to just about everywhere. Arsi and Ling Ling are awesome hosts... very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, WiFi was available in our room on the second floor and have no complaints would definitely recommend a stay here. Melaka is definitely a place you should not miss out visiting. Debra and Barry (New Zealand)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twodeezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I loved this guest house and Asri and his wife could not have been more friendly or helpful. The location was great and the canalside setting was very pretty. Chatting to other guests and/or Asri while watching the boats go by and listening to the birds at sundown was great.

I had a single room on the top floor with the bathroom on the floor below. I didn't like the lack of outside window but other than that I had no complaints. It did get a bit hot (I choose a fan room, not a/c) so if you find it difficult to sleep in a hot room then maybe a/c would be better for you. I was told the wi-fi might not work well up there but I found it fine. The place was kept very clean.

All in all I had a great stay and very much recommend this place to stay in delightul Melaka.

Room Tip: Go for a/c if you find it difficult to sleep in a hot room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kali737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.1 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#38 of 169 in Melaka
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 169 in Melaka
1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hong
Hotel Hong
#3 of 227 in Melaka
252 reviews
0 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
0.7 mi away
Emily Travellers' Home
Emily Travellers' Home
#5 of 227 in Melaka
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House

Address: 78 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $13 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Residence is a charming riverside guesthouse overlooking Melaka River set in an elegantly restored pre-war building built in 1933. Situated at the core of the "UNESCO World Heritage Zone" on the bustling narrow streets of Old Chinatown by the river, with tourist attractions, art galleries, antique shops, craftsmen and traders at its doorstep, it allows its guest to be close to the community yet manages to maintain and atmosphere of Peace and Tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing