We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for a start but too sweet at the end....”
Review of San Shu Gong

San Shu Gong
Ranked #39 of 669 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Takeout
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not bad for a start but too sweet at the end....”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Tried their normal chendol. Taste was quite good at the start but was too sweet half way through.
Lots of syrup at the bottom. Need to dilute it with some water.
But I think it tasted better than Jonker 88.
My verdict : Not the best, I will try other chendol stall in my next trip to Malacca.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tohlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    79
    50
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Buy tidbits here but can skip the durian cendol”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

You cant miss this place as it is right next to Hard Rock cafe. I was here because my friend suggested that I try the durian cendol and I was intrigued by other reviews about how the place always has long queue. Thank god there was no queue when I went there (Saturday around 2pm) but I was a little bit disappointed with the taste of the durian cendol. I reckoned the cendol was too sweet and lack the durian flavor. Didn't even finish it. I also thought the paper cup that they used was very fast-food like, spoiling the whole cendol-tasting experience for me. But the outdoor seats on the first floor is a good place to hang and watch people go by. The place is also a good place to buy tidbits to bring home, although the stuff there are a bit pricey.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FranklySpeaking123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
308 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“One-stop local snacks shop”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Located just right at the entrance of Jonker Street, you can easily spot this shop as it is always crowded with people. However, if you are planning to buy lotsa of items and are staying near to Holiday Inn/Hatten/Mahkota side, you can patronise their new outlet at Pahlawan Megamall. The shop's entrance is facing the busy road, Jalan Merdeka.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pearlypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice cendul”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Ice cendul is worth trying!A Place to buy snacks as souvenirs with reasonable price. Located right in jonker walk

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carynkuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bought lots of local delicacies”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Bought many many many things, basically for my family and colleagues, and of course my future-mother-in-law. The durian chendol is just ok, as we were expecting some real durians in the chendol, rather than durian flavoring essence.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yuki1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Shu Gong also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to San Shu Gong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing