We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look for another”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Backpacker's Freak Hostel
Ranked #78 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look for another”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is one of the worst place i have been in my whole travelling experience. I booked a private bed (with A/C) and was greeted with stained sheets, smelly pillow, and hairs all over. The blanket looks like it has not been washed for a week.
I don't recommend this one. Look for another place near the river.
Melaka is a nice place though. Well maintained historical landmarks and museums.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    8
    2
    13
See reviews for
Families
0
19
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Myself and two friends stayed here, and it was horrendous. Not only do you have 3 flights of nasty rotten carpeted stairs to battle to get to reception, when you get there, the "communal area" is one tatty sofa, and a table and chairs. We were greeted by a nice young man who checked us in, who was a working backpacker. The room was awful, the beds were uncomfortable and the walls were paper thin. The kitchen was old and looked like it needed a good scrub and the only shower was in one of the two toilets (which were asian style wee-soaked holes in the floor which stunk.) The manager turned up, sick as a dog, coughing and spluttering everywhere, all through the night and day. Very irritating. He was also rude and shouted at us when we accidentally slammed the door to our own room. He the proceeded to have a huge argument with the friendly receptionist about pay, saying that 5 MYR was acceptable as pay for a 9 hour day and shouted at him "you want a fight?!" The poor guy left, with hardly any money and late in the evening trying to find a place to stay. We were appalled with this hostel and would only say to stay there as a very last resort. Plus we got bitten to death and the traffic noise through the windowless box that was our room was horrendous also.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wunderlust_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Santander, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This Backpackers is really good, is clean, has a comfortable mattress, air conditioning, one of the few in the city that brings a breakfast, The typical: a tea or coffee with some toast, butter and jam. They have a fridge where you can keep your drink cold. Don't look for backpacker price and wanna have a hotel room. It's in the center, close to attractions visited in Malacca. They are about 5 min by walk. They provide help to continue your trip giving you information transport, accommodation and cities. I really liked and would recommend to my friends if they want somewhere cheap, clean and comfortable. And if you're looking for the same, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: cheap, clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hostel must be a joke! Why?

We booked a double with AC and got a lousy 6m² shoe box with fluorescent tubes, no windows and worn-out mattrasses right next to the "bathrooms" instead. In order to get to our beds we had to pile up our backpacks and stuff so that we decided to stay in there as little time as possible and enjoy the Malacca's night market instead. Don't make the same mistake as we did as its current review score is way too high!

Our advice: Look for something that's closer to the river. Spend a few more Ringgit and stay in a different hostel/hotel. If your next destination is KL we can recommend "Reggae Mansion". If you're headed the other way and look for something in Singapore try "Traveller@SG".

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We'd read the good reviews on here before booking so felt pretty confident it was worth a go.... BUT much to our horror, they couldn't have been further away from the truth! A taxi brought us to the building and when he pointed it out I thought he must have made a mistake. It looked more like a squat! We entered reluctanty and followed the scrappy pieces of paper on the walls directing us to the reception on the top floor. Flips flops sticking to the thin dirty carpets on the way, only to then be ignored by a girl who we assume was the receptionist on duty. Eventually another girl (who was actually quite nice and helpful) checked us in and brought us to our room. This was the point me and my bf looked at each other not quite sure whether to laugh, cry or shout at each other for simply being stupid enough to book into a place called FREAK!?! The room was like a portacabin with paper thin walls right next to the kitchen. Honestly, we may as well have plonked a bed in the social area and set up camp there... it was that noisy and UNprivate! Anyway, to cut a long story short we headed straight out to enjoy gorgeous Melaka and tried to avoid coming back in. By the time we did we decided... why stay if were not happy? We ran in, grabbed our stuff, made our excuses (in true british stylee - I felt too awkward to tell them how bad it was) and swiftly made our exit! Luckily, even at 11.30pm we were fortunate to find the most beautiful guesthouse overlooking the canal (which was the same price - unbelievable) and went on to have the most amazing time! So, lesson of the day... Dont ever make do AND try to avoid FREAK. We have been travelling around SE Asia on a budget for 3 months now and never again have we ever encountered anywhere with standards so low. I hope the owners take notice of these bad reviews because Im sure with a bit of effort they could do much better. Also... who are these people giving 4 star+ reviews? Baffled.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crystallilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Owner or "boss" Shaun was veryhelpfull with what to do and where to gowhat bus to get on leaving etc. He is def a bit of a character but he is very friendly and will help you if he can. Reading some bad review on here put me off a bit but in the end it was great. Seems a couple of people have arrived very late night or early morning and Shaun has had a few to many beers so might be best avoiding these times. But i wouldnt let it put you off. If you want he will also book you withhis sisters hostel in KL. We stayed there one night and the guy Jerry who ran is was just as friendly and prity much booked out next weeks trip to jungle for us free of charge. Saved us money from where we were trying to book online.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Me and my wife was looking for a cheap night stay.. juz a couple of hours of wink before continuing our journey from Singapore via night bus.. chancing upon this hostel.. and with all the good reviews.. decided to give it a try..
we will be arriving in malacca around 2am.. and we did our part in filling that out in the online reservation form....
To our dismay and horror... upon reaching with some delay at about 0250am.. nobody answer the door.. no one pick up the call. The phone numbers stated on the door belong to some guys who dont work there anymore..
After 20 mins we are finally let in.. climbing up to the 3rd floor reception area... to our horror.. we were met with a guy sitting on the sofa... sounding drunk... telling us... "me.. reception, me also boss... what you want..!" I explain that I have a reservation... n he cut in saying " I know you have a reservation... so what... look at time... its 3 o'clock.."
Upon hearing that.... I juz told him I will cancel the reservation.... n he replied "u want cancel... gd" all the while sounding drunk...

We juz head out the door and left....

Will never ever recommend
Don't wish for anyone else to be left in the lurch again...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHerry X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.8 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#54 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
1.0 mi away
Sunshine Inn Plus
Sunshine Inn Plus
#48 of 115 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Well Hotel Sdn Bhd
Marina Well Hotel Sdn Bhd
#99 of 208 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Freak Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Freak Hostel

Property: Backpacker's Freak Hostel
Address: 1-25 Jalan Pm 2 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpacker's Freak Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the latest backpacker's joint in Melaka. Located in the city center of all historical sites and just minutes away from Chinatown. This is the place where budget and comfy comes together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Backpacker's Freak Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Freak Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing