We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your garden-variety backpacker accommodation..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Backpacker's Freak Hostel
Ranked #87 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Reviewed February 12, 2013

In terms of memorable stays, they don't get much more memorable than this place - mainly due to the loose guy running the joint, Sean. We arrived at the hostel without a booking and without any knowledge of what the place was like. Sean was very helpful in sorting us out with a room for a couple of nights and providing information on what to do in the city, and he was only partially drunk at the time. While this place may not be everybody's cup of tea, with somewhat thin bedroom walls, his dog getting groomed on the kitchen table, and Sean's tenancy to hit the bottle/darts and nap during the afternoon, you're unlikely to find a more genuine place to stay. Sean will go out of his way to show you where to eat and drink, tell you what to and what not to do around the town, but most of all, provide the most entertaining of stays. The rooms are clean, as are the amenities, and the location and value are as good as you'll get.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Backpacker's Freak Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 66 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

the host is very friendly and knowledgeable in a ""freaky" kind of way about the workings of the city.maybe that's the reason for naming the place "Backpackers Freak's".my trip there was made easy and all the attractions are a stone's throw away from the hostel.the nights here in Malacca are vibrant during the weekends.night markets, street performers, deliciously affordable food everywhere 24/7 and friendly people around.for the budget traveller, this is a place i'd recommend because of it's location, access and value for money.have a memorable time in Malacca.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy7266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have booked this place from hostel world in the day of arrival. The photos of the rooms and the description seemed appealing. We reached the place late at night ( around 12 ) and we received the last available room - just because we booked in the last minute. But the room looked nothing like the pictures. The rooms had no outside windows, just one facing the interior hallway. We were told there is no room with outside window. The air was barely breathable, the walls white with a hint of dirt but the bed sheets and towels looked clean. The shared bathroom and shower on the first floor are not well maintained, or not maintained at all. The walls were very very thin that you could hear your neighbor sneezing.

For the second night, Sean - the owner - gave us another room. This one was on 3rd floor, the same floor where Sean is staying and it was a huge improvement. Windowless still, but bigger room, cleaner -at least it gave us this feeling - and friendlier. The showers and toilets clean, much cleaner compared to 1st floor. All in one - much better.

The breakfast is included but there's not much really - toasted bread, with jam and tea/instant coffee.

The best thing about this place is it's owner who's very resourceful and can give you all information needed about Melaka and Malaysia altogether.

I would not go there for another sleep night but would stop by to say Hi anytime.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raluca_abuletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed in this hostel for 1 night, When I arrived the owner, Sean, said the dorms were all full but he had a private room available. This was more then i wanted to pay and was about to go else where as i knew there were other hostels for the same price despite Sean trying to tell me otherwise. Eventually Sean was nice enough to allow me to stay in the private room for the same price as the dorm.

I later discovered the rooms were separated by extremely thin plaster boards so everything could be heard at night and there was no peace what so ever! The attached rooms and rooms above might as well not had any walls! There is a very nice communal lounge area upstairs which is the only place you get the free wifi. However Sean owns a small dog which is not toilet trained and free to go anywhere it wishes. This was cleaned up very quickly but its still not very nice. The hostel was generally clean including the rooms and kitchen.

The biggest problem was Sean is ALCOHOLIC! He was drinking from 8am til about 2am in the communal lounge while playing his music extremely loud making it impossible to sit in the room and talk to others. Although Sean was very nice and tried to be helpful his drinking problem made me feel very uncomfortable and i therefore would not stay again. Good Location to sights.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and sleeping tablets!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gizzigog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

as soon as i came into this hostel i felt at home, sean is wonderful : ) not only during my stay of two nights was he completely welcoming, but let me hang out in the hostel for a further 10 hours while i waited for my bus...and gave me fruit (and a sneaky beer) for the journey! some hostels are completely void of any homeliness and just churn customers in and out, but here is something very different and special! if i hadnt already booked my flight i'd probably stay in melacca longer just for this hostel : ) cant speak highly enough of it!!! <3

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

shawn was a great host the place was clean tidy, shawn seemed to be able to answer every question we had about the local area and most of malaysia :) shawn was also more then happy to move us to a private room with a double bed as i stupidaly booked a private with 2 singles. there are no other pernament staff in the guest house, so i was very impressed with how clean it was. the only things i did not like was the commen room was also used as a smoking room, but thats just my only problem, thanks shawn James and Katie

Room Tip: bring ear pugs as upstairs rooms are noisy
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne-maree88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Backpacker's Freak is an absolutely wonderful time that is actually more like a little home than a hostel. Sean is more than friendly and makes a great friend as well. He really cares about your well-being and ensures that you have a good time in the process, as he really seems to know everything about Melaka and what to do there. Ask him any question about what to do in Malaysia or where to go and he doesn't answer like its a chore for him, but as one friend to another. In terms of the hostel, it really is a great place. The rooms are a bit more spacious than other hostels I have stayed at and the place is fairly clean. Sure a bathroom or two smells terrible, but that's life - bathrooms stink, and although they may stink a bit the staff at Backpacker's Freak is up bright and early cleaning away. The floors are nice, the food is good, the coffee is nice, and the people there are great. Nobody is really shy in spreading a word or two so if your a fan of good conversation, whether it is with Sean or the other staff - this is the place to go as well. I really loved my stay there and any time I am in Malaysia in the future I will make sure that I stop by there, I won't forget it. Oh, and it is nice and cheap too and close to all the rad things in that part of the city - including heritage town, jonker street, the light show (a big recommendation!) and many other cool things. It's not too far from the bus station as well (about 20RM) taxi or about an hour long walk, so if your going from Singapore to KL, Melaka is a must stopping point. Stop into Backpacker's Freak and say Hi to Sean and you will suddenly feel like your at home :) Totally rad.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit noisy on weekend nights due to the place being so close to the heritage city and suc...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel_Newcomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
AL33 Leisure Hotel
AL33 Leisure Hotel
#78 of 167 in Melaka
68 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunshine Inn Plus
Sunshine Inn Plus
#55 of 135 in Melaka
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
0.4 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.3 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 135 in Melaka
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Freak Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Freak Hostel

Address: 1-25 Jalan Pm 2 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range: $10 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpacker's Freak Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the latest backpacker's joint in Melaka. Located in the city center of all historical sites and just minutes away from Chinatown. This is the place where budget and comfy comes together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Backpacker's Freak Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Freak Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing