We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally rad place that feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Backpacker's Freak Hostel
Ranked #86 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Totally rad place that feels like home”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Backpacker's Freak is an absolutely wonderful time that is actually more like a little home than a hostel. Sean is more than friendly and makes a great friend as well. He really cares about your well-being and ensures that you have a good time in the process, as he really seems to know everything about Melaka and what to do there. Ask him any question about what to do in Malaysia or where to go and he doesn't answer like its a chore for him, but as one friend to another. In terms of the hostel, it really is a great place. The rooms are a bit more spacious than other hostels I have stayed at and the place is fairly clean. Sure a bathroom or two smells terrible, but that's life - bathrooms stink, and although they may stink a bit the staff at Backpacker's Freak is up bright and early cleaning away. The floors are nice, the food is good, the coffee is nice, and the people there are great. Nobody is really shy in spreading a word or two so if your a fan of good conversation, whether it is with Sean or the other staff - this is the place to go as well. I really loved my stay there and any time I am in Malaysia in the future I will make sure that I stop by there, I won't forget it. Oh, and it is nice and cheap too and close to all the rad things in that part of the city - including heritage town, jonker street, the light show (a big recommendation!) and many other cool things. It's not too far from the bus station as well (about 20RM) taxi or about an hour long walk, so if your going from Singapore to KL, Melaka is a must stopping point. Stop into Backpacker's Freak and say Hi to Sean and you will suddenly feel like your at home :) Totally rad.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit noisy on weekend nights due to the place being so close to the heritage city and suc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel_Newcomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    8
    2
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
21
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Room was very clean and so was bathroom. Hostel is in a great location near to all major attractions.

Sean is full of information. He organised a bus ticket for me and taxi.Found him good craic and very helpful.

Think the hostel is fantastic value for money. Breakfast is included. Hostel is very secure.

Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend the place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desire4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

After staying in matahari In KL I was more than happy to visit this branch in Melaka. Sean was the perfect host making everyone feel that they were at home, he gave excellent advice about traveling around the city:) It was one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in. I will definitely return in the future and highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katinthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Easily the best place to stay in Malaysia, great atmosphere, great location, great host. Sean (the owner) is an very welcoming character that made my stay here an excellent one. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who wants an authentic and interesting place to stay.

Would come back here if I return to Asia.

Room Tip: Dorms are clean, cheap and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

To put it quite simply; this hostel feels like home. Sean, the owner instantly made us feel welcome and gave us a great guide of where to go around Melaka.

The hostel itself is made up of 4 bed dorms (yes, four beds, basically a hotel room!) and a couple of doubles/singles, a kitchen (you can pop down to the supermarket and cook your own meals, so cheap and a nice reminder of home!) and a living room/lounge area, complete with television and extensive DVD collection.

Oh, and, there are hamsters and bunny rabbits. Which you can play with. pretty much sealed the deal for me.

Sean's sister Ashley made a visit while we there also, and she is very friendly and was running a hostel in KL so we ended up staying there to, ask Sean for a business card!!

Brilliant hostel, we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and although it was cheap and cheerful I probably wouldn't go back.

Our room although clean enough, was a little shabby. It had a couple of holes in the carpet floor and the A/C unit started leaking (although was fixed quickly). Like I said though, it was cheap and clean so that was fine with us.

What made is not so great was the noise. Our room had a window which looked out onto the main street. All night we could hear traffic, singing from the Karaoke club up the road and the street lights were so bright that it felt like daytime even in the middle of the night.

The shared showers / toilets were okay and cleaned constantly. The only bad thing was the squat toilet beside the shower which sometimes gave off an aroma of urine as we showered.

The owner was really nice though and very welcoming. He gave us lots of tips visiting Melaka and seemed upset that we hadn't ben around in the comunal area at all. (We were only there for 2 nights so we were out most of the time seeing the city).

To be fair, he does everything himself, so I was surprised that it was as clean as it was. He seems meticulous about keeping the shared areas really pristine.

Location wise, it's great. 5 minutes walk to Chinatown and the main shopping centres. Tourist info is right across the street.

PROS:
Lovely, friendly owner
Free toast & spreads, tea and coffee for breakfast
Cheap
Great location

CONS:
Smokers in the comunal area
Squat toilets in the shared showers
Rooms a bit shabby
Noisy as hell

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My hosteling experience here was great. Sean, the host of the hostel, was a complete joy. He was funny and informative, and my friends and I met great people while spending time in his up stairs common room. The location was optimal and the hostel was clean and cheap. Definitely a good time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mastiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Sunshine Inn Plus
Sunshine Inn Plus
#54 of 126 in Melaka
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
0.5 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olive Flashpackers
Olive Flashpackers
#16 of 126 in Melaka
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 126 in Melaka
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raymonds Boutique Traveller's Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker's Freak Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker's Freak Hostel

Property: Backpacker's Freak Hostel
Address: 1-25 Jalan Pm 2 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpacker's Freak Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the latest backpacker's joint in Melaka. Located in the city center of all historical sites and just minutes away from Chinatown. This is the place where budget and comfy comes together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Backpacker's Freak Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker`s Freak Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing