We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Though no room avail, helped immensely with Melaka advice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Ranked #10 of 208 Melaka B&B and Inns
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Though no room avail, helped immensely with Melaka advice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

It's a sign of a good place - though they are renovating for the 2 days we wanted to stay, the woman told me of another great place to stay and talked me through getting a bus from KL-LCCT. She was very generous with her time. Next time we will try to stay here!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wendofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    69
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
132
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed two day's in the RTGuesthouse. The room was spacious, had AC and was very clean. So was the shared showers and toilets. There is also a full kitchen to use and sometimes some cake on the table. Coffee and Tee is free. Upstairs there is the roof top with a front and back balcony, some tables and chairs and facilities to handwash & dry clothes. The location is great, just around the corner of famous Jonker Street and also in easy walkable distance for the whole heritage center including Tourist Office & (City) Busstation. Even the shopping malls can be reached by foot within 15min.

However we found nothing real special here. The staff is OK but not really pro-active and the wifi in 1st and 2nd floor didn't worked. So we changed after two days to another GH.

Room Tip: Our room was in 2nd floor with only a small window looking into to bathroom area, it was OK but we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSPhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

i stayed in this hostel almost 2 years ago. was in Melaka for 2 days and after seeing all the good reviews in hostel world, we called Mani directly.

The moment we stepped in, we were like... hmmm... this is quiet but really clean. the 4 bed dorm is the biggest dorm if stayed before, bunk bed?? No no, not in this hostel. bed had hotel standard and you have your own locker.

The location of this hostel is perfect, close to everything and in a quiet street at night. The busy street just one block away, you can find bars and street food with just 2 mins walk.
I had recommended it to some of my travel friends and they it. the GH should have more dorm to enable more people to stay. As a frequent backpacker, i think it would be great to make the common area more lively.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyTio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed at the Roof Top Guest house for 3 nights in January. Mani was quick to orientate the layout of the vicinity, where to go and which restaurants to go to, providing you with a map. The place is secure and clean. No shoes are allowed inside. I stayed in the 4bed mixed dorm. There was no problem asking for a second pillow. There were 2 combined toilet and shower stalls on the second floor. They have a rooftop terrace where you can handwash your clothes and hang them to dry.

Although breakfast is not included, Mani always bakes some goodies and offer them to the guests, sometimes there were even fruits for the guests. Cold and hot water are provided for making tea or coffee which are free. Reception is not manned 24 hours. However, there is a phone number that Mani could be reached at if needed.

Location of the guesthouse is walking distance to the night market at Jonker St. Open on Fridays to Sundays. Anybody going to Melaka should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelique218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed in the 4 beds dorm with our two daughters of 6 and 8 years old. The guesthouse is clean and well organised. As you can read, they provide cakes, cold water, warm water to make coffee or tea and fruits, complimenatry. They have bikes. The roof top terrace is nice. You can wash and hang your clothes there. The toilets and showers were allways very clean. Always had enough warm water. If you want them to clean the room every day, and have fresh towels, I think you'll have to ask for it.

It's a 5 minutes walk from Jonker street and the city centre. The street is very busy, lots of cars and trafic which causes a lot of noise. Not to under estimate. It isn't a problem for children but I used ear plugs to be able to have a good sleep.

We only saw the son of the owners. He was very helpfull and kind.

If would consider to come by car, there's a parking in front of the guesthouse. You need to buy tickets and pay per hour.

Room Tip: In room 1, the 4 beds dorm, bed number 2 is the best one. Room number 9 on the second floor is a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingwithtw0kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in Roof Top Guest House for 2 nights, during the Christmas Holidays. Our room (room 9) had private bath room. Room was clean, but quite dark. Room price is about 20 euro per night (excluding breakfast). Guesthouse has two roof top terraces, living room with tv, kitchen in which you can prepare your food. Location is excellent, only two blocks from Jonker street, which has a great street market on Friday evenings!! Definitely go there! Book via hostelworld.com. Guest house can be reached directly via rooftopguesthouse@yahoo.com.

Activities to do:
- Jonker Street Night market (Fridays)
- Rong Mao restaurant (dim sum breakfast, amazing!)
- Walking tour along Stadthuys, temples, etc.
- Geographer Cafe has good food and music

Room Tip: Room 9 has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay here in the dorm room in November.

From the friendly welcome, the lychee juice, the amazing map, the cakes, bread and helpfulness of the hosts I can't fault the place.

I stayed 4 nights here in Malacca and met some great people and ate some amazing food!

The guesthouse is tucked behind the main street, but only a 5 minute walk from Jonker St and 10 from where the bus dropped me off - couldn't have had a better location for me

Have recommended it to other travellers I've met with absolute confidence and they've not been disappointed either

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank murphyshiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.0 mi away
River One Residence
River One Residence
#13 of 208 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof Top Guest House Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof Top Guest House Melaka

Property: Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Address: 39 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Roof Top Guest House Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roof Top Guest House Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing