We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Ranked #9 of 220 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Roof Top is a nice guest house: simple, basic and necessary facilities, clean, well located and friendly owners. It is easy to find if you follow the online instruction given by the owner. It is well managed and safe. In the price, you get a basic breakfast (jam, toast, some fruits) and delicious home baked cakes.
If you look for a budget accommodation, you can definitely go for this one. The only little remark we could suggest it is about the use of slippers/flip flops in the house (not allowed - only barefoot). We think it would better and more hygienic if the guests can use their own slippers in the showers.
We stayed 3 nights and we were pretty much satisfied. We really enjoyed the shower on the roof top!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingisliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 308 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Rooftop guest house lived up to all my expectations. It is a fabulous place to stay, and totally merits all the good reviews I read before I went there. My room was comfortable, with aircon, and the whole house is kept impeccably clean. There is free WIFI throughout the house. I didn’t have an ensuite bathroom, but there is a rooftop shower room that I virtually had to myself. There are two open-air rooftop terraces where you can sit and relax. Mani and Raymond are the best hosts. When I arrived, Mani brought me a fruit drink, gave me a map of Melaka, and explained where all the best restaurants were. She bakes wonderful cakes every day that you can tuck into whenever you like and there is free fruit, tea, and coffee. The place is fabulous value for money and is super central. There is a great Indian restaurant with lunch for four ringgits or less a very short walk away, and then the full choice of restaurants in central Melaka an equally short walk in the other direction. The guest house is very close to Melaka’s famous Jonker Street. I would highly recommend the Rooftop guesthouse and am looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netpoette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Very good stay in Melaka : beautiful city, good food and very nice Guest house. Mani and Raymond are really helpful and provide very good advices. Delicious home made cakes are waiting Every morning. Everything is perfect !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Mani and Raymond were very helpful, they inform us there to go and place to eat with local taste.......

They provide us with cake, fruit everyday.....

Nice location too, near tourist spot and Jonker street........

Room are clean........

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia_Salman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was one of our best stays at a hostel yet - warm and welcoming hosts, yummy cakes and bread freshly baked each day, fresh fruits for the guests, and a clean, quiet and relaxing atmosphere in a great location!

Would definitely come back here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is amazing. The Dorm is great...four beds, no bunks. The private rooms are great as well. As far as I am aware they all have AC. The only small downside for me was, that one of the rooms I stayed in didn't have a window...but saying that, it's just me prefering a room with a window.
Everything is amazingly clean. There is a comfy common area downstairs and a GREEN rooftop. You can feel that the owners, especially the landlady set it up with love.
Breakfast is not included but saying that, the best breakfast I ever had was there...the owner bakes breads and cakes every night and they are delicious! There are also fruits on the table every day. She is so lovely!
Coffee&tea are available all day long.
I stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms without a window...ask ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InaEg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This has to be by far the best Guesthouse around, the best one I stayed in so far for sure.

Drinks and some Information on Melaka as a welcome, freshly baked Cakes and Bread in the Morning aswell as Fruits, Raymond and Mani just make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: The 4share "Dorm" for 25$ is the best Value for Money I came across in the Year ive been a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eikest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#12 of 167 in Melaka
1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof Top Guest House Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof Top Guest House Melaka

Address: 39 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $12 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Roof Top Guest House Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roof Top Guest House Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing