We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Ranked #10 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was one of our best stays at a hostel yet - warm and welcoming hosts, yummy cakes and bread freshly baked each day, fresh fruits for the guests, and a clean, quiet and relaxing atmosphere in a great location!

Would definitely come back here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    69
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
134
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oelsnitz
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is amazing. The Dorm is great...four beds, no bunks. The private rooms are great as well. As far as I am aware they all have AC. The only small downside for me was, that one of the rooms I stayed in didn't have a window...but saying that, it's just me prefering a room with a window.
Everything is amazingly clean. There is a comfy common area downstairs and a GREEN rooftop. You can feel that the owners, especially the landlady set it up with love.
Breakfast is not included but saying that, the best breakfast I ever had was there...the owner bakes breads and cakes every night and they are delicious! There are also fruits on the table every day. She is so lovely!
Coffee&tea are available all day long.
I stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms without a window...ask ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InaEg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This has to be by far the best Guesthouse around, the best one I stayed in so far for sure.

Drinks and some Information on Melaka as a welcome, freshly baked Cakes and Bread in the Morning aswell as Fruits, Raymond and Mani just make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: The 4share "Dorm" for 25$ is the best Value for Money I came across in the Year ive been a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eikest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

But this is actually the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Warm welcome with a drink, a map, and a sit down with either Mani or Raymond who will recommend places to see and eat and introduce you to the city; 4 bed dorm with some great folk; daily morning treats baked by Mani (lemon meringue and English muffins one morning, carrot cake and fruit bread the next!!); a roof top area to relax in; and this is the first place I've ever stayed in that has a sink set aside especially for washing clothes, along with a clothes drying area on the roof! Melaka itself is lovely, but this place made it special. Thanks Mani and Raymond!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivecobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place made Melaka for us. The perfect place to relax. A great mix of options for all budgets and tastes. We had a standard double for 3 nights, clean, spacious and brand new aircon! The shared bathrooms are good with hot showers and a great garden bathroom on the topfloor terrace.Then an en suite for 2 nights great room with a great, modern bathroom. The kitchen downstairs allows for some basic self cooking. If your lucky some food maybe provided in the form of bread, cake and fruit but only if the hosts have the time. The lounge has a tv and good dvd selection for rainy nihts in. The hosts are both lovely people and always happy to help. This is a must visit homestay style guesthouse that deserves its back to back trip advisor awards!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Your greeted by Raymond , who takes the time to welcome you to not only the guest house, but also Melaka .
The map and information he provided made our stay in this charming historical place memorable .
And the home made cakes provided put icing on the cake!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
299 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We been here for 2 nights and we have no regret to stay here. I wish all the guesthouses were like these!

As mentioned in other reviews, it is very popular, so book in advance! We had gladly the last room.

Assets: cakes, guesthouse owners, location, roofterrance, gardenshower!, good bed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 166 in Melaka
1,180 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 166 in Melaka
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof Top Guest House Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof Top Guest House Melaka

Property: Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Address: 39 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Roof Top Guest House Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roof Top Guest House Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing