We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Ranked #10 of 211 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tanah Rata, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

It is wonderful thing when you just stumble across a place that has everything, clean, quiet, great owners, Mani and Raymond make you feel at home.
Mani cooks the most wonderful cakes and fresh fruit is available when you like.
Showers and rooms are wonderful, as is the rooftop garden.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street maybe a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    69
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
136
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I rate this place as average because, to be honest, I expected a place that would be far better based on the rave reviews here.

I had a single room that I stayed in for two nights and it was basic but clean and very quiet, despite it being next to reception/near the front. The problem with this room was that it was pretty much the furthest from any bathroom and slightly inconvenient as I needed to walk past guests/reception to and from the bathroom.

There wasn't anything special in the room to make it feel cosy (no wardrobe or TV), though there was a desk and aircon/a fan.

The location is excellent, and very close to everything that Melaka has to offer.

Although I had a reasonably pleasant stay (and the staff is friendly), I did expect this place to be absolutely amazing as it's listed as number one on TripAdvisor in its category. I have stayed in hostels around the world, and this wasn't any better than some of them.

Not a bad option, but I'd say for slightly more money, you would be able to get better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

After a month travelling, nobody has welcomed us like Mani did. Everything was planned to make our stay easy: a useful map full of delicious restaurants and services we needed, the city tours we could do according to the lenght of our stay and all the information we asked for. They were always willing to help and with a smile in their faces.

Plus, rooms are big, clean, comfy, and with air conditioning. Shower at the roof top is something I miss in the morning.

We weren't looking for party, but for rest and good food. The city and the accommodation fulfilled our expectations and more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTWBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Checked in after midnight. Greeted by the friendly owner. Simple check in process done in less than 5 minutes. Payment for room rate paid in cash. My single room is RM55 for bath room sharing and my friend's double room with bath room attached is RM75. Both rooms with air condition and ceiling fan too. Friendly owner gave simple introduction to the place and brief tour to the kitchen area and mentioned about free flow food for anything placed on the dining table.

Located roughly 5-10 minutes walking distance from the famous Jonker walk and few more attraction places and less than 50 meters from Melaka river. Lot of parking places infront of the guesthouse.

Very quiet and clean place, worth to be considered as 'home sweet home'. Most interesting, the roof top open shower and rest area. Reasonable room space with double beds. Nice decoration for walkway and guest area.

Worth the value and definately will visit this place again next time. Thanks to Mani & Raymond (based to the name card on the reception table)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielJBMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic spot - very welcoming. Great location just couple of streets from Jonker where all the action is. The best part is the homemade cookies - they were amazing :) what ever you want to do the guest house will help you organise it, tell you what to see and the good spots to eat.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank missghughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed in the rooftop with our 3 kids. It was really a nice stay. The rooms are clean and the beds were the best we had in maleisie. There are no private bathrooms, but as everything is spotless clean, this is no disadventage at all.
There is free tea and water available the whole day and the cookies that mani bakes are delicious. The rooftop terraces are a lovely place to sit. We loved this place and the owners.
We can also recommend the local malaka swimming pool, which is a great place to escape the heat. It is walking distance from the guesthouse, as is everything in the old town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meijr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Lovely guest house with great staff especially the owner who went the extra mile to help us,.rooms were spacious and the whole guest house had a lovely character. We had a lovely time and dont have a single bad thing to say about this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.0 mi away
River One Residence
River One Residence
#14 of 211 in Melaka
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jalan-Jalan
Jalan-Jalan
#12 of 211 in Melaka
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof Top Guest House Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof Top Guest House Melaka

Property: Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Address: 39 Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Roof Top Guest House Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roof Top Guest House Melaka Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing