We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“payed for bedbugs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheng Ho Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cheng Ho Guest House
Ranked #48 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“payed for bedbugs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

it was a horrible night, we found some bedbugs at the wall ready to get at us -.-
it was to late to go out and look for another stay so we put on our long pants and shirts and kept the lights on.
allover the room and house is very rundown but I won't blame it on somebody since this local chinese family runs it and also lives in the same house like it is supposed to be in a guesthouse.
But ofc we left this place as fast as possible.
The shared bathroom wasn't clean at all, it was just nasty!
Btw the mosque on the opposite of the street will wake u up at 5 am.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lupus243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
4
6
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Might be the best dorm I've ever stayed at. For 15rm you get a massive dorm with 12 beds (actual beds, none of them shaking, nervous-making bunkbeds!) including free internet and breakfast. Clean sheets, blanket, towel, pillow case, soap. Good fans on the seiling. Only minus is that there's no door, but the hostel is so clean and safe it doesn't bother me. Free lockers available for a little deposit. Warm showers, a balcony, just really really sweet. Highly recommend. The private rooms seem to be really nice, too. May not be luxurious for everyone, but it really was for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eeamhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

The place is located at harmony street. Great but at 6 am you will be greeted by loud sound from the mosque and hindu temple across the street. The room itself was OK albeit at bit small. Most of the rooms have no window hence it is strongly recommended to get aircond one. Wifi is a bit hit and miss. The bathrooms are very small with shower located on top of the toilet seat. Can be very dirty especially when the place was full as they do not regularly clean it up and many people dumped their toilet papers into the bowl. There are few locals got drunk across the road harassing people passed by but can be easily ignored.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikola_BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klang,Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

I know this place when im followed some my members group to do some trip that related with our course.I found that this place is cosy,nice clean and I dont mind sharing a bathroom.The uncle was very nice to us.But in early morning you can hear a noisy sound which comes from the temple.The temple was infront of the guesthouse.You can visit many places there by walking or rent a bicycle.Nevertheless,it create a sweet memories for me.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsReZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have come back from spending 1 night at the Cheng Ho guest House and found the people who run it lovely I had made my booking over the internet and they were expecting me when I arrived.

The room that I was given was room 1 which is the first room off the reception and lounge area and I really wish I had asked to change the room as music was played all night long and I could hear everyone walking past the room in and out of the guest house. The window in the room faced out onto the corridor and so it felt a little like a prision cell.

The room was en suite and the bathroom was filthy, soap scum on the shower and the wash basin had a thick layer of dust on the top of it. I know its a budget hotel but I was surprised at how dirty it was in there.

The beds were very firm which I like and the air con worked well and didn't take long to cool the room down and there was also a fan in the room. Breakfast was included in the room rate and you are given a voucher to spend at the Cheng Ho cafe down the road. The cafe was lovely there was a good choice of breakfasts local food or western food and a good variety of newspapers and magazines to read definatly a place to linger and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: Dont have room 1 as its the first room and very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Bear_also_Clayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Highly recommended! They have very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are not to big but very clean, with air con and fan as well. We didn't book in advance, just walk in from the street and we could choose the room as they had quite a few available. There is also computer with an internet access in the reception hall for the guest (free of charge).

Room Tip: Don't take room by the staircase or balcony - to noisy! Twin rooms are bigger then double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnaPap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in a double room with a shared bathroom. The room was very small, but that wasn't a problem for us. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathrooms were clean. We payed 41 ringgit per night for a double room and within that price, we even recieved two coupons for 5 ringgit each to have breakfast at the Cheng Ho Cafe. The breakfast was good. The staff at the guest house was very friendly and you could also make use of the internet for free. We highly recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ingeclarijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Cheng Ho Residence
Cheng Ho Residence
#68 of 202 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Discovery Malacca Hostel
Discovery Malacca Hostel
#57 of 105 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jiong House
Jiong House
#47 of 202 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
0.1 mi away
Voyage Cottage Lodge
Voyage Cottage Lodge
#24 of 105 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#2 of 105 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheng Ho Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheng Ho Guest House

Property: Cheng Ho Guest House
Address: 14 Jalan Tukang Emas (Harmony Street), Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cheng Ho Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the UNESCO gazette World Heritage Malacca by staying at Cheng Ho Guest House, which is the latest guesthouse located at Jalan Tukang Emas, Hamony Street. The center of Ming Dynasty activities dating back to the 15th century, and Cheng Ho Guest House is located within walking distance to all the historical sites. Accommodation: We provide modern facilities with fan and air conditioning and free broadband services. Our rooms start from RM40 and breakfast at RM5 per head. Our hostel is located on Harmony street - the center of Ming Dynasty activities near the famous Cheng Hun Teng Chinese Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Cheng Ho Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing