We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real indian, lovely people”
Review of Deepam Restaurant - CLOSED

Deepam Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real indian, lovely people”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The restaurant Turmeric is sightly North of Melaka and therefore not easy to get to if you are staying near the old town. However, the owners are delightful people that would do whatever they can to make your experience enjoyable.
Food is very nice and traditional South of India. Kids liked it very much. We didn't try enough specialties but locals around us seemed to enjoy them very much.
Prices are very reasonable. In summary, a very safe address.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ORM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Like home made, value for money.”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Clean and efficient. If you want simple tasty and homemade Indian food head to turmeric. Was a bit hard to find the place but glad we did. No bells and whistles but real value for money.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best briyani's in melaka town”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

one should try their fish and prawn briyani... they are the best. in fact their chicken and mutton briyani also are nice...
prices are reasonable...
services are tip top...
like their environment... simple, good ambiance, and friendly crews.
always look forward to be there whenever i visit melaka.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny2856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Indian Food”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed in genting for a week. And barring the visit to KL where we tasted South India food at Saravana Bhavan and Sangeetha, the family was waiting for a good meal in Malaysia. The reason for this twofold. We are vegetarians and it was Ramadan time and the buffet had 69 dishes of which 66 were Non veg items, which we dont eat.
And then we visited Melaka for a day. Going by our experince in Genting, we were prepared for a Hungry day. After the morning sight seeing of the city, we were really hungry and visited the Turmeric Restaurant. There we were greeted with warm smile and ohhhh boy. What an authentic meal we had. It is an experince one has to feel. I personally dont like brinjal, but the Brinjal curry was simply outstanding. Hot rotis, yellow dal, ..........felt we were at home in India.
Would recommend a visit to anyone on a trip to Melaka or to others staying in Melaka and Malaysia.
Thanks to the management for their warm reception.
Ananth

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ananth52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malacca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We love all sorts of Indian food and had been to this restaurant once before but because their menu is extensive, we decided to go back for another visit.
We shared a starter of mushrooms which were the most delicious thing ever and I could have eaten twice as many. My husband then had the Chicken Thali and was impressed by the variety of flavours. I had the Prawn Bryani and the thing that I liked best was that the prawns were completely de-shelled, so no mucking about was necessary! They were also well-coated by their marinade and perfectly cooked. The whole dish had a really complex flavour and was the just the right-sized portion. As a side-dish, although it is a main dish in its ownright, we shared Veggie Manchurian because we enjoyed it so much the first time and we weren't disappointed. The only thing is how to describe the flavour but as it's just not possible, you'll have to try it for yourself!
The owners of this restaurant seem like very friendly people committed to producing good food, the surroundings are clean and pleasant and the value is outstanding.
If you're in two minds whether or not to go or just want a change, I don't think anyone who likes southern Indian food could be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank QPRfanMalacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deepam Restaurant also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing